Author Topic: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare  (Read 4830 times)

CharlieMopps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« on: August 16, 2007, 01:00:21 am »
Ok, I thought that they had finally created a version of linux that would be easy to install... HAHAHAHAHA wow... lol

Anyway... So LinuxMCE doesnt detect any of my media, anywhere on my network. It has abouta dozen buttons that I dont need and can't seem to get rid of (Lighting, security, Telecom, etc...) and every time I try to change the config of the thing it breaks the orbiter and I have to go through the hour long install all over again. It didn't detect my joysticks, my windows remotes, and it likes to jump from analog to DVI output randomly during setup so I have to have 2 monitors plugged in just to keep up.

How, on earth, are you guys using this at all? It just seems hopelessly broken to me.

CharlieMopps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 05:10:00 am »
So its magically detected my Remote now... sweet

It still wouldn't detect my windows shares. So I mounted them as drives under /mnt/ But of course, LinuxMCE doesnt look there?!?
Then I stumbled accrossed the fact that Linux MCE wants to be my networks DHCP server? Why!?!?!?!
Anyways, so I shut off my routers DHCP, let LMCE take over and it started to detect my folders... over and over and over
It detected the same folders over and over again. I kept accepting and it kept detecting. Finally it finished but there was still no media.
I rebooted (manually, there is no reboot option, lol) and when it came back up it again detected the same folders over and over again. Then it started to detect itself, over and over.... Meanwhile my wife was trying to surf the internet... but couldn't because the LMCE box pegged my 100MB/Sec router. Every light to every computer was blinking so fast they looked solid. After about 20min of this I pulled the LMCE CAT5 so she could get on the net.



cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2007, 06:53:48 pm »
You are funny!

But actually I have learned a bit after experiensing most of what you are saying myself...

YES LinuxMCE WANTS/NEEDS to be your DHCP server to find your shares... Instead of using that shitty router, trow in a Gigabit network card in your LinuxMCE Core. Connect the old network card to your modem and use the Gigabit card for LAN. Get yourself a Gigabit switch for your lan. The Core is a Firewall/Router/DHCP server, and if you use it like this, everything will be a lot easyer...

For your network shares, it's a lot easyer to let LinuxMCE use it's own structure... This sounds bad, but actually work a lot better. It creates a public folder and a folder for each person. Within those folders it creates subfolders for picture, docs, movie, video, audio and so on. Move whatever files you want to show inside LinuxMCE in those folders. Everyone can use the files in public and what you dont want your wife to see put in you own user... Files you dont need inside LinuxMCE you can use whatever structure you want.

jsl61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2007, 03:43:12 pm »
I´ve tried Mythdora , knoppmyth , ubuntu with mythtv.
MY GOOD,I did my best to make it work  but it wasn´t enough. I´m more or less an expert with Windows but thats 10 times more user friendly and most things makes sense. It seems that Linux people , they spend most time with their finger up in the arse , instead of on the pulse .
I tried with three different dvb-t capture cards and none of the programmes found one single one !!!!!!!! Then I started to google the problems  and found out that I should download different files and compile them and then install the hole shitload.
Install Ubuntu in 20 minutes !!!!!!!!      Ha..................
Thats when you have no hardware besides what it takes to run a basic pc.
20 minutes became all weekend . All weekend became all week !!!!!!!!!
All week became " FUCK LINUX  " and long live Windows . I put an install cd in my pc and 2minutes later all my newly bought hardware is running .
 
All the Linux distributes are light years behind  Apple and windows when it comes to the use of it for normal people , who actually have a life doing other things than sitting in front of a Monitor .
Sudo fuck Linux .
Jorgen

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2007, 04:24:01 pm »
HAHAHA....he cut and pasted that into 2 different posts.....LOL....man....what a turd. He's light years behind the rest of the world...
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

DeadPenguin

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2007, 06:02:40 pm »
@jsl61
What the hell is an expert windows user?
Does that mean you are smart enough to set XP up so it doesn't get owned within its first 8 seconds on the net? or you only get BSOD < once a month?
Why blame Linux for hardware makers not providing linux/open source drivers for their hardware?
Last time I checked LinuxMCE was free. So your out how much other than your time? (what would a comparable M$ solution cost you?) 
I am/would be prepared to spend at least a month to get linuxmce configured to my liking.
Quote
"All the Linux distributes are light years behind  Apple and windows when it comes to the use of it for normal people , who actually have a life doing other things than sitting in front of a Monitor ."
I actually use all three and Linux is not that far behind.
I think Linuxmce is a very worthwhile project still in its infancy. Try back later maybe somebody might have taken the time get "your" hardware working for you.

Blair

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2007, 06:25:23 pm »
What's funny is he never mentioned trying to use LinuxMCE. Yet he's posting in here. LOL
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2007, 06:28:56 pm »
I'm biased obviously.  But the fact is that when I use my pc (hardware is shown in the video wiki), everything comes up and LinuxMCE is running and playing in less than 25 minutes.  All the hardware is found and drivers are loaded.

I've also used XP MCE on the same box.  It doesn't come with drivers for the network card, video card, or sound card.  Getting the network card drivers is a problem because without networking I can't download them.  So I have to use a separate pc to get them online, then put them on a flash drive.  I tried running Vista on that same box, but it doesn't work.

So Linux has an advantage in that all the foss drivers come as part of the distro, so if you're stuff is supported, and you have a recent distro, it's all detected and works without hunting for drivers.

However you are right that there are is a lot of hardware that's not supported under Linux, because many manufacturers don't make Linux drivers, and it's often hard for the foss community to reverse engineer them without proper documentation.  So Windows has the advantage in terms of breadth of driver support.

But this is disclosed right in the install process.  That's why there's a list of known-Linux compatible hardware.  And the bottom line is that when you do have Linux-compatible hardware, Linux is *MUCH* more stable than Windows.  I've left my main LinuxMCE box running in a stress test loop for over a week starting and stopping media every couple seconds and randomly choosing menu options a couple times a second.  One week later it's still running.  On the other hand, as any Windows user will tell you, after 1 day of using Windows heavily you pretty much always need to reboot, or you have some crash.

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2007, 03:39:55 am »

1. Linux is Not Windows
2. Internet Trolls

'nuff said, no need to waste time on any of this sponge's whining.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


clarky2o2o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2007, 04:04:39 am »
Internet trolls generally use windows.


I have recently changed from windows to linux and with a little bit of reading have decided to keep using a linux os

jsl61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2007, 11:01:56 am »
"Light years behind" When it comes to making a final easy working product that most people is able to use.
Ubuntu has actually started a serius project and its pretty good but besides having a PC people usually also have printers , scanners , webcam , ipcams , tv cards  ect. and that´s  often the headache . When I click on an exe file in windows, the Software installs . It doesn´t get easier. For many year the visual part "Desktop" in Linux distributes has been a nigtmare . When my mother calls me and says the internet is down I ask her to clic on an icon and tell me what she sees. In Linux , for many years you could write sudo ............ ect. and a black screen comes up with lots of numbers and funny things and that scares the shit out of many people and they freeze. After all , not everyone is born within the last 20 years and have a pc as their  pet.
  When it comes to ideas , then, no doubt Linux is ahead . It´s not that hard to see where the Windows people get ideas and inspiration from . The money men just have the brain to make it work easy and worth buying. That why they are "winners"
The Linux consept is for a small group of people with the  " I know better than you" mentality and if you you can´t make it work , then your are stupid !
Yes.......... I pasted it different places  ,to make sure that more people would see it and maybe give some answers to my dvb-t problems .  Copy and paste is not a Linux patent  , I guees .
I did get some  answers to my "Nighmare" as this post originally started up and a discount on A.
Asperins in the local supermarked.
My english is not too good but I´ve haven´t lost my sense of humor during working with Linux distributes . I did it one year ago and gave up . Tried now and I´m thinking that next year  could be the big break between me and Microsoft  , but I have been disapointed before and probably will again.
Jorgen.
Ups..... My LinuxMce is downloaded ............ Back to work !
 

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2007, 06:22:10 pm »
My english is not too good but I´ve haven´t lost my sense of humor during working with Linux distributes. I did it one year ago and gave up . Tried now and I´m thinking that next year  could be the big break between me and Microsoft  , but I have been disapointed before and probably will again.

You cannot lose what you never had. 

Big break with microsoft??  And you're just telling us how great and much better it is for "induhviduals" like yourself.  Please explain why you would like to get away form microsoft, I'm very curious.

You're the big disappointment here, life must be difficult indeed for mouthbreathers like yourself.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


delta_9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #12 on: August 19, 2007, 09:25:01 am »
" I know better than you" mentality and if you you can´t make it work , then your are stupid !
um that just the zarec's attitude. he is a very helpful sod he just flames people for asking questions it's just a pity he is like one of the most active people on the forum. i'm sure if he spent his time being helpful and not RUDE this form would have more people participating

jsl61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #13 on: August 19, 2007, 12:54:28 pm »
I downloaded the two Linuxmce cd´s .  I  still had the XP on the machine when I rebooted with cd 1 and found out this is not a boot cd with ubuntu . Then I tried cd 2 . perhaps they were changed by mistake, but nothing happend . Then I started windows up just to check what was on the cd´s and found out that both of them were for the LinuxMCE . Well , I did read the install intro and it didn´t really say what was on the cd´s but no problem I all ready had the Ubuntu from last week , though I had to dig it up from the garbish can. It had not been among old pizza slices so I guess it was still ok .
 I Installed the 7.04 very quick and then the mce 1 . It told me that there had been some installation since I installed the Ubuntu 7.04 and the mce should be installed on a clean 7.04 . I continued because nothing was installed after. My Nvidia card was installed correctly and I rebooted . Then I got the message that vorbis tools was missing but continued anyway because I was not supposed to install anything  ( clean Ubuntu you know ). When I had to change the cd it was  locked . The button didnt work but after a while found the cd icon under places and right clicked to get the cd out . Next time that function was not working but now there was a new icon on the desktop where I could do the trick .
After 3 hours  20 minutes and 20 cigarets I get the depressing message  ,that the installation failed .
Then I tried to reinstall cd1 an 2 on top of what I all ready had done ,but thats not a good idea . Didnt work at all, screw up the  network so back to clean install again .
3 hours 20 minutes and 20 cigarets later. the the same again.........
I dont give up that easy, so I did some reading, but didnt find the answers. I´m allready told that some dvb-t hardware I have is a bit tricky and  more or less impossible at the moment (drivers) but then remembered my two old analog cards . They would be perfect for trying making this work . I have noticed that when I have been looking at Linux software then when it comes to Hardware requirement they allways make a big issue out of that any pc you can find at the nearest dump will run this software perfectlly  . I dont think its the case here but my spare   Hp Presario with K7T266 pro2 motherboard ,1800 GHz , Geforce4 440 should be okay !
The dvd solution has to be the one for a "dude" like me . I started downloading again with bittorrent . 2 kb/
sec .  Three weeks was the calculation for the final download . I went down to the beach for a while and then came back 3 hours later , just to find out that the downloading was down to 1.5 kb/sec . Thats 5 weeks ! and I have a 1.5 mb/sec connection which doesnt do me any good in this case . Hm......................
I did not panic because I saw there was something called Pando with the option to download  the dvd version.
I installed Pando and it began showing commercials and downloading 12 mb (I do know what) It never started the dvd download . Unavailable at the moment was the message.
I will have to take a break and a lot of reading before I do my next try .
I wonder how many people who normally use Microsoft´s  home or xp , ended up at the funnyfarm escorted  by an ambulance after their experience with the "LinuxWorld" 

Ps.   Forums make software better and from time to time even that good that its able to sell very well . I have no problem with that . So................ what did I do wrong when the install failed after the ubuntu cd was doing the final work.
I will post an english  install log the next time I give it a try.
Jorgen


delta_9

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE = a Nightmare
« Reply #14 on: August 19, 2007, 03:00:25 pm »
Jorgen get firefox if you do not have it install it http://en.www.mozilla.com/en/firefox/all.html

get a download manager firefox has a good plug in called  DownThemAll! https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/201

download this select one that is close to where you are in the world...

http://www.kubuntu.org/download.php#latest

now install kubuntu like this
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/InstallingKDE
it is easy just boot from the cd and that is it.
now just lnstall the 2 Linux MCE CD'S over the top and your done. (you may need to install disply drivers for you video card )

« Last Edit: August 19, 2007, 03:06:06 pm by delta_9 »