Author Topic: thin client minimum requirements?  (Read 12277 times)

clarky2o2o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
thin client minimum requirements?
« on: August 14, 2007, 11:09:30 pm »
are there any special requirements for the thin client or will any do?

Luke122

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 09:55:26 pm »
I'd like to know this also.. I've got a Compaq presario 710ca laptop that is stripped right down to a board, cpu, ram, and power supply that I will be using as my first thin client.

It's an AMD Duron 1.2ghz proc with 256mb ram.  Onboard audio and tv out, pxe bootable nic (I checked already), and a usb bluetooth dongle ready to go.

Anyone have any thoughts on this as a suitable thin client config? I'll be testing as soon as the download is complete, but I figured I'd ask first. :)

Thanks for any info that anyone is able to give. :D

Luke122

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2007, 06:37:14 am »
I've managed to use the laptop successfully as a thin client with ZERO configuration. There is some tweaking to do, but it works perfectly well, even streaming a DVD from the Core.

Core system is a Dell Precision 370 with 2gb ram, 80gb hdd, dvd drive, and dual gigabit nics. Also, zero configuration.

The quick release DVD was a quick and painless install, and the thin clients are beyond simple. Set it to PXE boot, and that's it. Core will automatically detect the "orbiter", and ask a few quick and easy questions (what room is this device in? What do you want it to do?).

I'll be continuing to experiment with this setup, building a whole home solution for under $1000. :D

-Luke122

clarky2o2o

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #3 on: August 19, 2007, 05:54:34 pm »
Ill give it a try using my laptop soon I just feel kinda of gutted that i missed out on paying £20 for 5 thin clients that had the flash drives removed but everything else intact.

anyway good luck on the sub $1000 home system I have been considering doing the same (but money is way to tight now)

Luke122

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2007, 07:19:05 pm »
I just picked up a 500gb sata hdd for $179, and that's the first purchase I've made for this system. All the rest of the stuff was already mine, so I still have $821 left to build the rest.  Next, TV tuner and a gyro mouse. :D

-Luke

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2007, 12:29:28 pm »
are there any special requirements for the thin client or will any do?

See my other posts on this... but we are testing a number of fanless Via based clients using the C7/CN700 or CX700M chipsets at 1Ghz to 1.5Ghz. We just add a stick of memory, and optical drive if needed and thats it. Out of the box currently Kubuntu 7.04 and lmce-0704 do not have the Via driver support so you would need to build the Unichrome or Openchrome drivers to get the best graphics performance. These are low cost, energy efficient (as low as 9W) motherboards with excellent graphics.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

enrique.lopez

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #6 on: November 29, 2007, 11:09:35 pm »
It's necesarry in core and thin client the software http://www.2xsoftware.es?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2007, 10:24:06 am »
It's necesarry in core and thin client the software http://www.2xsoftware.es?

No you certainly don't need those ;-)
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

lkash

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: thin client minimum requirements?
« Reply #8 on: June 30, 2010, 06:43:38 am »
Try GrapeTC Lite. This is the OS for thin client with minimum requirements.