Author Topic: Asterisk PBX  (Read 2407 times)

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Asterisk PBX
« on: August 14, 2007, 03:03:34 am »
I want to set up a PBX that would have 3 analog phones. Does anyone have any hardware suggestions for FXO or FXS cards that aren't expensive but are still decent. I have looked at Digium cards but was hoping for some alternatives. Has anyone set up a PBX with LinuxMCE?
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

DeadPenguin

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2007, 06:53:31 am »
PREFACE: I am still putting together all the pieces for my first stab at LinuxMCE.

I have read a lot about Asterisk over the last couple years.
Digium makes good cards. The only problem is the good ones cost $200+.  The wildcard/digium clones are only suitable for testing and are prone to echoes/bad sound quality.

I am looking at one on these for my setup. http://cgi.ebay.com/Linksys-SPA-3102-ATA-VOIP-Adapter-FXS-FXO-Sipura-3000_W0QQitemZ120134710553QQcmdZViewItem

I have a AT&T 5.8 w/ three handsets I don't want to part with. I was thinking on buying a couple Snom 200 off Ebay. I really like the Cisco 7960 that is shown in the 704 video.


Regards,
Blair

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 890
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2007, 11:13:07 am »
Hi,

analog phone interfaces can sometimes be a big pain... I'd also vote for external spa interfaces - it doesn't take any place in server, you can use it also in other situations, etc...

Otherwise for setting up Asterisk under LMCE, try to use first LMCE web pages and then AMP pages that you can find under telephony group. And then experiment....

HTH,

regards,

Rob.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

pixelator

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2007, 03:20:18 am »
I use a card from x100p.com (about $30 US) for a single incoming POTS line connecting to my internal voip network and it works great. Initially I got it to test a set up, but it seems to work fine for my needs.

But if you want connect more than one POTS line to asterisk, your best bet is to go with the digium cards.

To service 3 internal analog phones, you'd need a digium card (4 port) with 1 FXO and 3 FXS modules on it.

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2007, 03:50:33 am »
Yeah that's what i was thinking of doing. I was hoping for something cheaper but the Digium cards will be what I go with. I am contemplating going with an 8 instead of 4 so i can use 1 FXO and 7 analog phones or maybe 2 FXOs and 6 phones. From what i can tell they make the best cards and the knock offs of it aren't quite the quality (most knock offs arent). So I will have to bite the bullet and stop being such a cheap bastard.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2007, 08:05:50 am »
I use a card from x100p.com (about $30 US) for a single incoming POTS line connecting to my internal voip network and it works great. Initially I got it to test a set up, but it seems to work fine for my needs.

But if you want connect more than one POTS line to asterisk, your best bet is to go with the digium cards.

To service 3 internal analog phones, you'd need a digium card (4 port) with 1 FXO and 3 FXS modules on it.

May I ask if you could be so kind to add a few words to the wiki on setting it up?  (Even if it's just like: "Plug it in, connect the wires and it works without any setup")
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


marrandy

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 162
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2007, 06:49:34 pm »
"I am contemplating going with an 8 instead of 4 so i can use 1 FXO and 7 analog phones or maybe 2 FXOs and 6 phones."

You had better know exactly what you need now, and what your maximum capacity in the future or you going to waste money.

The TDM400 accepts 4 single modules of either FXO (analog telephone lines POTS) or FXS (terminate an analog telephone), for a total of 4.

The TDM800 will accept only 2 modules, either single or quad modules. (which means 2 singles, 1 single 1 quad, or 2 quads

In your case, that means having a single FXO and a quad FXS to 4 single line phones, which isn't what you want.  A second pci card would be needed.

You may want to add  IP phones instead. 

On my system, I have the TDM400 with single FXO,  3 FXS and 3 aastra 9133i phones

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2007, 06:56:58 pm »
Yeah i noticed that last night when i was looking. That it only took quad cards i mean....I will probably stick with the 1FXO/3FXS for now and add more FXS or FXO later if i really need em. I dont imagine ill be needing any more FXO lines though....and 3 phones can be split off some if i decide i need another one somewhere else that bad. My house is small...1750 SF so more than 3 phones would really just be me being too friggin lazy to walk to a phone in another room. Thanks for the advice though....I am still thinking about VOIP but i still have a lot mre to look into it all.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

ardist

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2007, 03:49:38 am »
Another thing you can do is put in pap boxes, analog to digital converters.  They cost about 50 dollars and work great.

pixelator

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2007, 04:45:29 am »
May I ask, Why analog on the internal side?

If you are only receiving a single POTS from the PSTN, You could get away with an x100p or a single module digium FXO card and use SIP/IP phones internally.


GoManutd

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2007, 05:28:56 am »
Take a look at the trixbox.org site...  They have other asterisk compatible cards that might be cheaper

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #11 on: August 18, 2007, 05:58:49 am »
I already have plenty of analog phones and didn't want to waste money buying new SIP phones....and the ones i see seem more expensive...am i wrong in that? i haven't looked at them very hard. I would consider it, i just sorta figured i'd stick with analog.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: Asterisk PBX
« Reply #12 on: August 18, 2007, 07:14:37 am »
I'm using a relatively cheap Grandstream HandyTone 488 to connect internal analog lines to Asterisk. I have had few issues with it. The big trick is to connect its "wan" connection to the internal network. Then LMCE will recognize it as a Grandstream Budgtone phone and configure it automatically. if you want more advanced features like individual extensions the cards make more sense. I don't need that at home. In fact I use the cell phone almost exclusively. The upside is that I have integrated my cell phone (Nokia e70) with an internal SIP stack into the system as another extension.  (Directions here: http://voxilla.com/voxilla-stories/voxilla-how-to-guides/using-the-nokia-e-series-phones-with-asterisk-865.html  )