Author Topic: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??  (Read 2314 times)

schaferj

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
    • View Profile
lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« on: August 10, 2007, 09:35:47 am »
Hello,
on reboot, my core hangs after the kubuntu blue scroll bar completes.

Console displays:

Ubuntu 0704 dcerouter tty1
dcerouter login:                   /etc/samba/smb.com...      ----

And then it hangs there (for hours).  As I recall, when it booted correctly, several more msgs scrolled by and then x started and the lmce launcher.

Any ideas / plans / 'things to check' appreciated.

much thanks, joseph



pessimist

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2007, 05:36:45 pm »
yup, i'm having the same issue.

altho i dont know how to 'fix' it, i hit the enter key and the login prompt appeared.
i logged in and did a 'sudo kdm start' and it started the setup wizard, altho it seemed to fix itself at 640x480. so i edited the '/etc/X11/xorg.conf'  file with a more appropriate resolution. it still hangs at the same point after a reboot, but doing the same as above (minus xorg.conf edit) starts it up to a usable point.

hope someone can shed some light.

thanks
more of a realist than a pessimist

kir

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2007, 07:45:30 pm »
When you booting, do you hear 'beep'? If yes, try to press shift when it boots  - the A/V-Wizard should start. Here is mentioned case when AVWizard by default starts with the wrong video output - you can switch it with 1,2,3,4,5 buttons:
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/AVWizard_running_steps

elspic

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2007, 08:38:55 pm »
pessimist: I was in a similar situation with the a/v wizard being the wrong resolution and having really bad color gradients, but I gave it the benefit of a doubt and when it restarted after finishing, everything was exactly as it should be (a/v-wise). -Ruben

pessimist

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2007, 09:54:26 pm »
@kir
yeah, tried that, and its a no go (no change).

@elspic
it's the setup wizard, as mentioned that was the wrong res. have not seen the AV wizard during this install.

previously used pluto for near 2 years, been running lmce since mid may. had no issues till now, and still using the same hardware.

i'll try a reinstall tomorrow morning and see if it turns out the same :(
more of a realist than a pessimist

pessimist

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: lmce 0704 hang after reboot??
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2007, 09:36:43 am »
ended up going back to beta1. 0704 version runs my cpu 100%, and altho top shows about 25%-35% load, kde system monitor and other monitors show 100% and the cpu is damn hot. back in beta1 its all normal again.
more of a realist than a pessimist