Author Topic: LinuxMCE outside USA  (Read 2459 times)

rIGO

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
LinuxMCE outside USA
« on: August 10, 2007, 09:09:37 am »
Hi there,

Just have a quick question. Would LinuxMCE work with any cable/tv/satellite provider, even if outside the US or the cable box must be compatible.

I am currently availing of the following services:
- Melita Cable [http://www.melitadigital.com/packages_overview.aspx]
- Go Watch [http://www.go.com.mt/Default.aspx?ID=33]

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2007, 08:25:49 pm »
I'm not sure about those providers. LinuxMCE uses MythTV - http://mythtv.org (more o less stable) or VDR - http://www.cadsoft.de/vdr/ (just base integration). So, if they are support your provider you can use LinuxMCE. Definitely you can watch Satellite or cable TV  with LinuxMCE.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

sharlee_angelo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2007, 09:01:29 am »
it must work (i've tested it in Europe). i suppose that you will not be able to use an epg system but in rest it will be ok. but you must have a tv card compatible with linux.
Read the F****** Logs!!!

rIGO

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #3 on: December 04, 2007, 01:06:43 am »
I guess the option would be to connect their Setup boxes to LinuxMCE and not use the EPG system as LinuxMCE would have no control over it. Am I correct?

Thanks for all your answers.

Peq

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2007, 09:24:40 am »
Well I'm just starting up with LinuxMCE - and tryin to build this to work. Don't have gone that far yet - Caurse I'll just move to own house instead of apartment.

Before that I've run MythTV for a couple of years - and here in Denmark I have well succes with XMLTV - And somehow i guess you can make this work. As long as the TVpart is running MythTV - you should be able to get the EPG in using xmltv - which by the way was working just great for me.
I allthough build my MythTV upon ArchLinux - and build the packages on my own from AUR - so you cannot equalize that to LinuxMCE, but I guess you could change the input to the EPG somewhere ???
greetings
/\/o place like 127.0.0.1

Per Jørgensen

tom_evered

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #5 on: December 07, 2007, 10:20:49 pm »
Anyone have anyt pointers regarding the use of LMCE with DVB (-T) or more specifically the UK Freeview service?  Whenever I have tried Windows-based MCE this has ended in tears...

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4360
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2007, 12:19:29 pm »
Anyone have anyt pointers regarding the use of LMCE with DVB (-T) or more specifically the UK Freeview service?  Whenever I have tried Windows-based MCE this has ended in tears...

LMCE-0704 has MythTV integrated and that does work with DVB-T/Freeview. But in the the next release, LMCE-0710, VDR will also be integrated and VDR is designed from the ground up to work with all DVB compliant services - DVB-C, DVT-S and DVB-T (aka Freeview).
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

rIGO

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2008, 02:37:23 pm »
I guess idea of having everything controlled by LinuxMCE will not happen in Malta, since it seems that convertor is not supported. Am I correct?

Below find the specifications:
newbielink:http://www.circle.com.mt/converterspecs.asp?m=1&mid=1&s=3&pos=18 [nonactive]

gazzzman

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2008, 04:38:14 pm »
Anyone have anyt pointers regarding the use of LMCE with DVB (-T) or more specifically the UK Freeview service?  Whenever I have tried Windows-based MCE this has ended in tears...

both Myth and VDR work on freeview here in the UK :)
I have had some problems setting up the epg in myth (xml grabber) but using just iet seems to be fine :)
VDR appears to be less well intergrated at the moment..
but aparently this is being worked on as we speak :)
if you decide to use VDR check out the wiki first as scanning for channels is not as streight forward as you may imagine :)
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version 3.1
GCC@GE@GIT@GO dpu S-: a+ C+++ L++ E-- W+++ N+ o+++ w-- O M+ PS+++ PE-- Y++
PGP+ t++ 5 X++ R- tv b+ DI++ D---- G e++* h*++ r+++ Y++++
-----END GEEK CODE BLOCK-----

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 472
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE outside USA
« Reply #9 on: April 30, 2008, 05:00:34 pm »
The spec you quote for your cable company indicates dvb-c and lists frequencies of channels available in the clear.
You should be able to at least receive these, equipped with a dvb-c card supported by LMCE http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/DVB-C

-Coley.