Author Topic: Fiire remote shown in demo  (Read 6353 times)

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Fiire remote shown in demo
« on: August 08, 2007, 11:56:23 am »
Just wondering if the Fiire remote used in the demo video is exactly the same, with same 3 button functionality etc.. as the gyration go remote as pictured here:

http://www.gyration.com/en-US/ProductDetail.html?modelnum=GYR3101US&accshow=3

This remote is more available, and cheaper.

I want to get it, but only if it is the same as the fiire equivalent (plug and play with same ir codes etc..)
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4464
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2007, 01:39:02 pm »
Just wondering if the Fiire remote used in the demo video is exactly the same, with same 3 button functionality etc.. as the gyration go remote as pictured here:

http://www.gyration.com/en-US/ProductDetail.html?modelnum=GYR3101US&accshow=3

This remote is more available, and cheaper.

I want to get it, but only if it is the same as the fiire equivalent (plug and play with same ir codes etc..)


As far as I know they are not compatible as the Fiire remotes/usb dongles have special firmware that is non-standard.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2007, 03:34:02 pm »
Paul (webpaul1) mentioned the WinMCE controller looks identical because it uses the same molds. But the inside is different.
thread
« Last Edit: December 02, 2007, 12:21:11 pm by Hagen »

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4464
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2007, 06:14:45 pm »
Paul (webpaul1) mentioned the WinMCE controller looks identical because it uses the same molds. But the inside is different.
thread

Its only the firmware that is different... and of course the brownish plastics chosen :-(
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 06:43:33 am »
The Fiire Chief has the "follow-me" function, I don't think this one has that.

I wish they would just use bluetooth tho (maybe they are I'm not sure), that would eliminate the need for (extra) dongles altogether.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2007, 08:12:05 am »
Bluetooth wouldn't work so well for stuff like follow-me.  With these remote when you hit 'follow-me' I know they start with a low-power signal and increase it until it finds the first 'hit', then locks on with it at full power.  Fiire said this was part of the stuff they did custom for their remote to let you carry it around the house.  You can't do that kind of low-level signal control with Bluetooth, so you'ld have no way of reliably pairing to the closest device.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4464
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2007, 11:51:54 am »
Bluetooth wouldn't work so well for stuff like follow-me.  With these remote when you hit 'follow-me' I know they start with a low-power signal and increase it until it finds the first 'hit', then locks on with it at full power.  Fiire said this was part of the stuff they did custom for their remote to let you carry it around the house.  You can't do that kind of low-level signal control with Bluetooth, so you'ld have no way of reliably pairing to the closest device.

I can confirm that bluetooth is a no-go as far as follw-me is concerned. As long standing Pluto users we have never found a bluetooth dongle with a range limited enough to work properly for follw-me.... it one of those weird situations where manufacturers really are delivering far more range than they say the devices will deliver. And in this situation less range is preferable!!!
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gazlang

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2007, 12:17:57 pm »
Ok, well is the gyration remote at all compatable with linux mce? (aside from the follow me bit) It acts just like a mouse right?
Is it listed as a remote on the LMCE admin page?

I assumed that a gyration remote would work ok if the gyration air mouse was so good.
AMD Athlon 5800+ X2
Asus M2N-SLI-Deluxe
2x Corsair XMS6400 DDR2 512mb
Samsung 400GB SATA + 500GB SATA
nVidia GeForce 7300GT
Hauppauge Nova-T 500
Hauppauge PVR-500
Thermaltake low-noise 450w PSU
Thermaltake Bach Case w/ imon vfd
Fiire Remote
UIRT

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4464
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2007, 12:31:23 am »
Ok, well is the gyration remote at all compatable with linux mce? (aside from the follow me bit) It acts just like a mouse right?
Is it listed as a remote on the LMCE admin page?

I assumed that a gyration remote would work ok if the gyration air mouse was so good.

From what I understand the Gyration remote will work ok... but it lacks the 'Follow-me' feature of the Fiire remote.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2007, 01:23:25 am »
I haven't used the gyration windows remote.  But afaik it's just a mouse.  So you probably won't have the gyro navigation of media.  But, if you find a store that has it with a return policy, maybe you could try it out and let us know so we have the definitive answer.

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2007, 08:44:39 am »
The Fiire Cheaf looks great but they made a huge mistake... I already have bluetooth dongles on the core and all my MD's... Why use it's own dongle :(
On small MD's with only 2 USB ports on top of eachother there is no space for 2 dongles. An extension USB cable or a USB Hub works, but I want it small!

I hope a future version is made using bluetooth, even if that would make it a lot more expensive I would prefer that option.

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2007, 08:53:07 am »
The reason Bluetooth was not used is because the range is too good to work reliably with the "follow me" feature.
If you walk into the next room with an MD it is not certain that you will lose connection to the previous room, and then the system really doesn't know that you have moved.
Or if you are on the first floor, you might access the MD on ground floor.
That was the reason for the Fiire remote not using Bluetooth.

chrisbirkinshaw

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2007, 01:54:56 pm »
Is there not enough granularity in the reported signal strength to compare? Are you saying that follow me doesn't work in any way on LMCE? This was one of the things I was most interested in!

teedge77

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2007, 03:28:09 pm »
chrisbirkinshaw where in any of those posts does it say follow me doesnt work??? they said ithe fiire remote doesnt use bluetooth.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2007, 04:10:04 pm by teedge77 »
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus M2V Via AM2 ATX
Lite-On LH-20A1S SATA DVD Burner
80GB  SATA-150
EVGA GeForce 7300 GT 512MB DDR2 PCI Express
Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Kingston 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz
Ultra X-Finity 800-Watt
ZCU000
Cisco 7970
TDM400P

Hagen

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 437
  • LMCE wannabe user
    • View Profile
Re: Fiire remote shown in demo
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2007, 03:53:31 pm »
It doesn't work on bluetooth devices because the range of bluetooth is too good to realy differenciate between two bluetooth dongles in neighbouring rooms.
That is why the fiire remote does not use bluetooth.

Follow me most definitely works with the right equipment, but that is not bluetooth.