Author Topic: TV Serial Port  (Read 1516 times)

CharlieMopps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
TV Serial Port
« on: August 06, 2007, 11:08:54 am »
I'm thinking of building a LMCE box out of spare parts I have... one of the primary reasons I want to is that I have a VERY weird Insignia HDTV that I can not control with any universal remote (I've tried them all)

One thing I was wondering about: My TV doesn't have an RS232 port, but it does have something labeled "Serial Port" but it's a white connector with several in-line pins almost like what you'd find on a motherboard. Anyone know what this is? Or if I just need an adapter?

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: TV Serial Port
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2007, 04:05:35 pm »
What is model of your TV? What TV specification says? Possible if you see the specification you'll find the answer :)
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

CharlieMopps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: TV Serial Port
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2007, 04:43:31 pm »
Well, that's the problem. It's such an Odd-ball TV that I have a hard time finding any info on it at all.

It's an Insignia NS-27HD Flat-tube High Def TV with a 4:3 Aspect ration (when displaying High-def 16x9 it puts black bars at the top and bottom)

The manual shows the port but it says "For technician use"

Possibly I could get an IR Blaster? Do they make a "Learning" IR Blaster? So I could possibly just record by TV's origional remote?

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: TV Serial Port
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2007, 05:36:55 pm »
Sure, you can use one of the following IR blasters - http://smart-home-blog.com/archives/718. Sure IR blaster allows to you lean IR codes from your remote.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

CharlieMopps

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: TV Serial Port
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2007, 06:42:15 pm »
Sure, you can use one of the following IR blasters - http://smart-home-blog.com/archives/718. Sure IR blaster allows to you lean IR codes from your remote.

Are any of those powerfull enough that the transmitter wouldn't have to be pointed at the TV? I plan on having the LMCE box under the TV so the IR wouldnt be pointed directly at it.

1audio

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 552
    • View Profile
Re: TV Serial Port
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2007, 04:58:33 pm »
The USBUIRT can learn your remote and work with LMCE. It has a port for an external IR emmitter that can be attached to the IR sensor on the IT. They have good range if you want to try without the emmiter.
The Insignia TV you have is a house brand from Best Buy I think. I doubt the serial port can be used for anything useful on it. Those are not targeted at customers that even know what a serial port is (barely aware of computers actually).