Author Topic: What Hardware are you using?  (Read 1666 times)

{NmE}

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
What Hardware are you using?
« on: July 14, 2007, 10:58:16 pm »
Hello All!

I am going to be building a Media Center box for my parents. (and if it goes well, for me too :D )

I am wondering what everyones configurations are.

What hardware are you using?

What issues have you come across with this hardware?

How do you have everything else set up?

What would you suggest I do differently then you?

Any and all replies are welcome :D

Zaerc

  • Alumni
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *
  • Posts: 2256
  • Department of Redundancy Department.
    • View Profile
Re: What Hardware are you using?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2007, 05:40:14 pm »
Please have a look at http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/Category:Hardware it's not much yet, but it is growing.
"Change is inevitable. Progress is optional."
-- Anonymous


{NmE}

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: What Hardware are you using?
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2007, 12:26:40 am »
Well, thanks for the info!

So far I am going to go for these...

ASUS M2NPV-VM
Athlon 64 X2 4000+
A-DATA 1GB

One of the things that I really like about LMCE is the blue tooth interaction with phones. My parents and little sister  all have razors, will a razor work for a remote?

PeteK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
    • View Profile
Re: What Hardware are you using?
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2007, 01:15:48 am »
Unfortunately not right now.  It only works with certain symbian series (nokia) and Windows Mobile phones.

{NmE}

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: What Hardware are you using?
« Reply #4 on: July 18, 2007, 05:16:42 am »
Rats, well... Ill be back when all that gets ironed out, or my rents get a phone that will work with it..

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: What Hardware are you using?
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2007, 09:52:07 am »
I'm not sure about LinuxMCE but for Plutohome UI2 and HDTV only nVidia 6XXX works well (not sure about S3 UniChrome card. It also should work).
If you're going to build HTPC by yourself the best noiseless processor coolers (CNPS8000 for AMD, for example) and power supplies are from Zalman, case - Silverstone LC16M or LC20M - I managed to configure VFD display to work with MythTV, remote control also works fine. UI2 can be used comfortable with wireless mouse and keyboard (actually is not needed) from Gyration.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru