Author Topic: Is this computer capable of running Linux MCE/MD properly?  (Read 7316 times)

ariznaf

• View Profile
Is this computer capable of running Linux MCE/MD properly?
« on: June 29, 2007, 11:04:51 pm »
Hi, I am new to this amazing software. I am trying to install it and get up and running properly.
I have a Pentium 4 3.2GHZ with 1GB of 400MHZ DDR2 RAM and a Gigabyte GA-8I915G-MF with an integrated intel i915G and integrated 5.1 audio.

Is this configuration capable of running 1.1B2 Core and MD?
I would like to have it as my Core system in the main room and add a better graphics card and TV TDT tuner and device input and Home automation (may be z-wave?) later, and more disk with a RAID 0 or RAID 5 configuration. But that will be in the near future.
But I would like to know if it is a capable enough to run the system fluidly...
It should be able to encode and decode two video streams simultaneously -with an appropiate graphics card and TV tuner, of course-. But I am not sure if the motherboard and processor are good enough to do that.

Thank you for your opinions.

MasterC

• Regular Poster
    • View Profile
Re: Is this computer capable of running Linux MCE/MD properly?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2007, 02:31:28 am »
Generically speaking, yes that should be fine.  In fact, using the intel driver should allow some decent graphics with that chipset:
http://intellinuxgraphics.com/