Author Topic: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1  (Read 7739 times)

fountainkiller

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2007, 08:50:54 pm »
I have the same problem as Erik, fluffy and jester.  My vid card is a nvida 6500.

Fluffy, could you tell me how you edited /etc/X11/xorg.pluto.conf?  I am a bit of a linux newbie (though not a comptuer newb) so any help you might give would be appreciated.

Thanks!

y2k98

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2007, 11:53:41 pm »
I Get the same issue as Eirik above, my graphics card is a Nvidia 6200

Snippet from /var/log/pluto/19_LaunchOrbiter.sh.log

01      05/17/07 23:29:05.840           Thread -- GL.InitVideoMode FAILED Width: 640 Height: 480 Full Screen: 0 Composite: 1 <0xb6407b90>


Any thoughts?

After a bit more fiddling, if i edit /etc/X11/xorg.pluto.conf and comment out

Load    "int10"

The display then loads correctly :-)



i have the same problem however my 01 is not the same

Fri May 18 01:01:46 EDT 2007 died
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       05/18/07 01:01:56       19 (spawning-device)    Starting... 49
1       05/18/07 01:01:56       19 (spawning-device)    Found ./LaunchOrbiter.sh
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.257            OrbiterLinux::InitializeAfterSetVideoMode() START <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            OrbiterLinux::InitializeAfterSetVideoMode() <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            env : X11_NO_ERRORHANDLER==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            env : X11_XSYNCHRONIZE_ALL==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            env : X11_XSYNCHRONIZE_EACH==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            env : X11_XAFTERFUNCTION==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            env : X11_NO_XLOCK==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.258            will overwrite wm window id // void X11wrapper::Assign_WmWindow(Window) <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.259            OrbiterLinux::HideOtherWindows: Hidding other windows... <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.261            WinListManager::GetWindows1b id 8388622 desktop 0 class Orbiter.Orbiter title  <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.261            WinListManager::GetWindows2 8388622/Orbiter.Orbiter <0xb669fba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.288            OrbiterLinux::Initialize() <0xb6f1aa00>
05      05/18/07 1:02:09.534            CMD_Goto_Screen message id 68 params: message 0x89f2de0 <0xb6f1aa00>
01      05/18/07 1:02:09.534            Could not find design object matching this specification: 3221 <0xb6f1aa00>
Return code: 139
3       05/18/07 01:02:10       19 (spawning-device)    Device died... count=49/50 dev=19
Fri May 18 01:02:10 EDT 2007 died
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       05/18/07 01:02:20       19 (spawning-device)    Starting... 50
1       05/18/07 01:02:20       19 (spawning-device)    Found ./LaunchOrbiter.sh
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            OrbiterLinux::InitializeAfterSetVideoMode() START <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            OrbiterLinux::InitializeAfterSetVideoMode() <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            env : X11_NO_ERRORHANDLER==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            env : X11_XSYNCHRONIZE_ALL==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            env : X11_XSYNCHRONIZE_EACH==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            env : X11_XAFTERFUNCTION==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            env : X11_NO_XLOCK==0 // X11wrapper::X11wrapper(Display*) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.575            will overwrite wm window id // void X11wrapper::Assign_WmWindow(Window) <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.576            OrbiterLinux::HideOtherWindows: Hidding other windows... <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.578            WinListManager::GetWindows1b id 8388622 desktop 0 class Orbiter.Orbiter title  <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.578            WinListManager::GetWindows2 8388622/Orbiter.Orbiter <0xb6697ba0>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.606            OrbiterLinux::Initialize() <0xb6f12a00>
05      05/18/07 1:02:32.850            CMD_Goto_Screen message id 68 params: message 0x89f2de0 <0xb6f12a00>
01      05/18/07 1:02:32.850            Could not find design object matching this specification: 3221 <0xb6f12a00>
Return code: 139
3       05/18/07 01:02:33       19 (spawning-device)    Device died... count=50/50 dev=19
Fri May 18 01:02:33 EDT 2007 died
3       05/18/07 01:02:43       19 (spawning-device)    Aborting restart of device 19...


i have a onbaord nvidia geforce 6100 according to ubuntu

any other ideas?

y2k98

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2007, 12:04:07 am »
I have the same problem as Erik, fluffy and jester.  My vid card is a nvida 6500.

Fluffy, could you tell me how you edited /etc/X11/xorg.pluto.conf?  I am a bit of a linux newbie (though not a comptuer newb) so any help you might give would be appreciated.

Thanks!

you can modify it by doing:
cd /etc/X11 (it is a capital X)
sudo pico xorg.conf.pluto  (this will open the file in pico as root)
put a # infront of what you want to comment out
the press control + o to save
then press control + x to exit

Eirik

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2007, 09:09:28 am »
Commenting out the int10 line helped, but now I have a new issue again. :/ It looks like X loads, I can see the Nvidia logo even, I get a mouse pointer, but then X dies right after. I thought it might have been my resolution, but even playing with those settings I can't find anything that will just get X to stay up. I can go into the admin panel, select 720p, test the resolution however, and it displays just fine. Even has a picture showing the 720p graph.

/var/log/pluto/19_LaunchOrbiter.sh.log:
Code: [Select]
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       05/19/07 02:32:32       19 (spawning-device)    Starting... 1
1       05/19/07 02:32:32       19 (spawning-device)    Found ./LaunchOrbiter.sh
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.141            Device: 19 starting <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.142            IRReceiverBase::IRReceiverBase r1 0 r2 0 cond 0x82a6cbc <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.143            Orbiter 0x82a67e0 constructor <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.143            WMControllerImpl: primary desktop -2 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.143            WMControllerImpl: secondary desktop -1 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:33:43.150            MaintThread empty <0xb6bbdb90>
10      05/19/07 2:33:55.242            WMControllerImpl: user's current desktop: 0 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:34:07.335            WMControllerImpl: switching to primary desktop -2 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:34:19.433            WMControllerImpl::SetLayer() : window: kicker, aLayer: 1
 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:34:43.628            WMControllerImpl: user's current desktop: 0 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:34:55.726            WMControllerImpl: switching to primary desktop -2 <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:34:55.726            lock(0x82aa180) (>2) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:324  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:34:55.726            acquired(0x82aa180) #0 (>2) Windows List Mutex Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:324  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:34:55.726            lock(0x82aa180) (>3) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:256  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:34:55.726            acquired(0x82aa180) #1 (>3) Windows List Mutex Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:256  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.823            unlock(0x82aa180) #1 (>3) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:256  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.824            removed from map (0x82aa180) #1 (>3) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:256  was: 3 size, now 2 Rel: Y Got: Y <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.824            WinListManager::ApplyContext m_bExternalChange 0 <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.824            unlock(0x82aa180) #0 (>2) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:324  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.824            removed from map (0x82aa180) #0 (>2) Windows List Mutex: Linux/win_list_manager.cpp:324  was: 2 size, now 1 Rel: Y Got: Y <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.826            Setting timeout for socket 4 to 20 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.910            Setting timeout for socket 4 to 15 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.910            Setting timeout for socket 5 to 15 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.911            Socket::SendMessage type 5 id 169 from 19 to -1000 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.950            Socket::SendMessage type 5 id 100 from 19 to -1000 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.951            Socket::SendMessage type 5 id 101 from 19 to -1000 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.953            InternalSendCommand id 688 out parm conf -1 resp 0x82ca848 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.953            Socket::SendMessage type 1 id 688 from 19 to -2000 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.955            InternalSendCommand out done id 0 conf -1 resp 0x82ca848 0x82b6b08 0 type 1 id 688 to -2000 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.955            InternalSendCommand out id 0 parm exiting conf -1 resp 0x82ca848 <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            Variable: 14 set to 0 <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            lock(0x82a6e14) (>183) variable: Orbiter.cpp:5771  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            acquired(0x82a6e14) #0 (>183) variable Orbiter.cpp:5771  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            unlock(0x82a6e14) #0 (>183) variable: Orbiter.cpp:5771  <0xb6c21910>
21      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            removed from map (0x82a6e14) #0 (>183) variable: Orbiter.cpp:5771  was: 2 size, now 1 Rel: Y Got: Y <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.958            WizardLogic::Setup using host localhost (0xbf838e8d) <0xb6c21910>
10      05/19/07 2:35:07.964            Query returned 13 rows: SELECT PK_RoomType,Description FROM RoomType ORDER BY Description <0xb6c21910>
01      05/19/07 2:35:32.183            X is not running! Starting X and the window manager: /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh <0xb6c21910>
Return code: 1
3       05/19/07 02:35:36       19 (spawning-device)    Device died... count=1/50 dev=19
Sat May 19 02:35:36 EDT 2007 died
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       05/19/07 02:35:46       19 (spawning-device)    Starting... 2

jester

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2007, 10:33:02 am »
I've got that same issue. My monitor displays a 'signal out of range' message, but when testing the resolution from the admin panel it also displays nicely.

Eirik

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2007, 11:19:59 am »
Found a neat trick to kinda get LinuxMCE working. If you go into the admin panel to select the resolution, you may have to play with it a bit, but I got 1024x768 @ 100hz. The key was to click the 'force resolution', then apply the settings. If you got it right, the orbiter will re-load and you'll see the desktop.

Once you find a setting that X is stable at, go into the Orbiter setting via admin panel again, and do a full regen if the desktop doesn't match the resolution.

If you reboot, or reload, or anything you'll have to do the 'force resolution' trick over again. (note: everytime you do this, there's an extra:

Load   "Load"

line in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.pluto)

I've got as far as the desktop, gone though the setup. Had to force again, got to the desktop clicked on MythTV, got a message about it adding me to the 'mythtv' group, forced me to reload again... and it didn't add me to the mythtv group. :(

elsenator

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #21 on: May 19, 2007, 08:40:16 pm »
I have the same problem as Eirik and the others. I've tried commenting out int10 line, but it didn't make any difference. I have no idea what Eirik is talking about in his most recent post. :) Admin panel? where? In Kubuntu?

I have a Geforce 7900GS

Eirik

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #22 on: May 19, 2007, 09:11:04 pm »
http://wiki.linuxmce.com/index.php/LinuxMCE_Admin_Website

Point your web browser to: http://192.168.80.1/pluto-admin/index.php

Devices -> Media Directors -> Resolution & Refresh
« Last Edit: May 19, 2007, 09:19:24 pm by Eirik »

elsenator

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #23 on: May 20, 2007, 10:50:27 am »
Thanks man, but i actually got it to work using a different method. All i did was adding the HorizSync and VertRefresh values to my xorg.conf and run LinuxMCE from within KDE. Everything seems to load just fine, but it's extreeeemely laggy. I'm thinking that maybe i haven't gotten UDMA enabled on the harddrive.

Anyways, it seems that my problem was related to a resolution not working somehow.

sharlee_angelo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2007, 12:58:12 pm »
i had the same issue on my computer, with the booting process stopped at rc.local scripts. it seems that X can't be loaded. i've solved the problem renaming kdm.saved script from /etc/init.d to kdm.
Read the F****** Logs!!!

mojoJOJO

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #25 on: May 22, 2007, 08:06:29 pm »
I have the same problems.....................It starts to load but then chokes on this text..................

* Starting OpenBSD Secure Shell server            [fail]
......................a whole bunch more line that say [OK]......................
......................finally ending with............................
* Running local boot scripts (etc/rc.local)          [OK]

I tried commenting out [Load    "int10"] from [/etc/X11/xorg.pluto.conf] but it still does the same thing after rebooting.

I'm still new to Linux so could somebody please tell me exactly how to go about trying this suggestion?

i had the same issue on my computer, with the booting process stopped at rc.local scripts. it seems that X can't be loaded. i've solved the problem renaming kdm.saved script from /etc/init.d to kdm.

I'm guessing that I need to rename the file [/etc/init.d]......do I need to rename it to [/etc/kdm]? If so how would I go about doing that?
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 08:08:26 pm by mojoJOJO »

dafrog

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2007, 12:42:09 am »
Same Problem...

- tried commenting out int10 line -> no difference
- tried to set resolutution 20 times -> i only get the nvidia logo for a second and then a mouse cursor on a black screen
- renamed the kde.saved to kde -> after rebooting X Server is starting kde (F9)... the "black screen"-MediaCenter is available under F7

i am using a nvidia geforce 4 mx440 with the "nvidia" driver

any ideas?

« Last Edit: May 23, 2007, 12:46:18 am by dafrog »

rwilson131

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2007, 02:42:32 am »
nvidia geforce 4 mx440 is not supported in the last NVidia driver release which is installed with LinuxMCE. You need to have the legacy driver install which is 1.0-9631 but LinuxMCE is try to install 1.0-9755.  Look at http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html
This was mentioned on another thread.  I do not know the correct solution at this time.  I had a more recent video card and just switched, so I can not give you any more pointers. 

It would be nice if there was some detection so that it did not automatically try and install the most recent nvidia drivers when you select that option. 

Thanks
Rob

dafrog

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Installing LinuxMCE 1.1
« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2007, 02:29:23 pm »
Now I am confused. I used the "nvidia-glx" driver package from the ubuntu source which includes the gf4 drivers. Does the mce reject this driver during the installation? When I change the resolution via web-admin i can see the nvidia logo for a second, doesn´t that mean that the system is using the correct driver?

In the "Known Issue" wiki the is also a information I don´t understand:
Quote
During installation of LinuxMCE, the installer will ask if you want to switch to the nVidia proprietary driver, which does work.
I was never asked if i want to change the driver.