Author Topic: Hi I am a noob at Linux so if you will be so kind to place me in right direction  (Read 3198 times)

karl01

• Making baby steps
    • View Profile
Hi I am a noob at Linux so if you will be so kind to place me in right direction

Questions:

minimal system requirements for Linux MCE?
And witch graphic card do you use to make it running smooth?

I be grateful for a complete hardware requirements list. Its probably out there on googel butt you are the expert in this forum.     

Has anyone run Linux MCE under 32 BIT Microsoft Virtual Server? And if so whit any success?

If this post doesn’t fit here be so kind to move it ells veer. As I was weighting earlier I am a noob from Sweden whit limited English skills.

Best regards Karl               

ddamron

• Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Welcome Karl!

System requirements are hard to determine.. it depends on what you're doing,.

Linuxmce is a mesh of a bunch of programs, Pluto (www.plutohome.com), Asterisk, MythTV etc.

First, you need to determine what you want it to do:
Obviously, you need some form of tuner or capture card if you want to record TV..
you can have multiple cards as well, but then, the requirements go up.

in a nutshell, linuxmce requires a Backend computer.  This computer may or may not have a front end on it.
(a dedicated backend sits in the closet and grinds away)

Front ends are PC's (or other hardware) that interface to the back end.
They are called Media Directors, and you can have as many of those as you need.

Then there are the Orbiters, (fancy name for remote control).  Normally, all Media directors have orbiters built into them.. but you can also have a Pocket PC as an orbiter.. etc.

Video cards are the tricky part... Newer Nvidia seems to work best..

so, to start out with, get your biggest machine, and set that up as the back end server....
then go to a smaller machine and set it up as a media director... etc...