Author Topic: Which TV Card?  (Read 8432 times)

DrACoNuS

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2007, 06:07:25 pm »
The exact cards I am using are WinTV-NOVA-T-DVB-T 90003 LF (Rev C2B0)

If the dual 500 works I might invest in one of these, but it would be nice to see it working with these Nova-T's

Interested to hear about your setup DrACoNus - is that in the UK?  What High Def source are you using?

Mike

Hi Mike,

I live in Canada and I am running Gentoo Linux on my MythTV backend (portage developers do an excellent job keeping up with MythTV CVS and all dependent libraries) It's primary tuner is the Firewire capture hooked up to a Motorolla DCT6200 my cable provider does not encrypt any channels so I can grab the raw mpeg-2 stream for any channel I subscribe to the quality is amazing. My additional tuner's are provided by the Hauppauge WinTV-PVR-500 MCE this cards two tuner's only come into play when the DCT6200 Firewire setup is occupied.

I have LMCE 1.1 on Kubuntu installed on three frontends around the house (one of the frontends also hosts the LMCE core) and they only run MythTV as a frontend to stream TV off of the gentoo box. This setup works great for me I can keep all my content and recording on the stable gentoo platform and not have to worry about playing around with the settings on my orbiters/core.


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #16 on: May 26, 2007, 03:00:04 am »
The exact cards I am using are WinTV-NOVA-T-DVB-T 90003 LF (Rev C2B0)

If the dual 500 works I might invest in one of these, but it would be nice to see it working with these Nova-T's

Interested to hear about your setup DrACoNus - is that in the UK?  What High Def source are you using?

Mike

I own a wintv-nova-t-500 (the european dual turner) and there is a problem in the kernel with its drivers, that makes the kernel ops, and it might crash the system or it might make you quit the video aplication you are using. So right now and before a update is released is a no-way. Its a shame because its a good card, but not even the newest kernel solve this. Well have to wait a bit to use this card.

Hugo

Hi,

Nova T500 is working fine here... we have a number of them installed in various Core's. We also have a single Core with 3 x T500's installed.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Hugolp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2007, 12:16:27 pm »
The exact cards I am using are WinTV-NOVA-T-DVB-T 90003 LF (Rev C2B0)

If the dual 500 works I might invest in one of these, but it would be nice to see it working with these Nova-T's

Interested to hear about your setup DrACoNus - is that in the UK?  What High Def source are you using?

Mike

I own a wintv-nova-t-500 (the european dual turner) and there is a problem in the kernel with its drivers, that makes the kernel ops, and it might crash the system or it might make you quit the video aplication you are using. So right now and before a update is released is a no-way. Its a shame because its a good card, but not even the newest kernel solve this. Well have to wait a bit to use this card.

Hugo

Hi,

Nova T500 is working fine here... we have a number of them installed in various Core's. We also have a single Core with 3 x T500's installed.

Check this page: http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/WinTV-NOVA-T-500_PCI

Seems like rev 61/63 is fine, but rev 62/65 has the problem. I guess I had bad luck and picked the bad one. My advice: If you pick the bad one, you wont be able to watch tv properly for more than an hour.

Hugo

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4541
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2007, 04:44:24 pm »
The exact cards I am using are WinTV-NOVA-T-DVB-T 90003 LF (Rev C2B0)

If the dual 500 works I might invest in one of these, but it would be nice to see it working with these Nova-T's

Interested to hear about your setup DrACoNus - is that in the UK?  What High Def source are you using?

Mike

I own a wintv-nova-t-500 (the european dual turner) and there is a problem in the kernel with its drivers, that makes the kernel ops, and it might crash the system or it might make you quit the video aplication you are using. So right now and before a update is released is a no-way. Its a shame because its a good card, but not even the newest kernel solve this. Well have to wait a bit to use this card.

Hugo

We're using T500's without any problems & we have several Core's some with multiple T500 cards installed.
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Mike_Izisys

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #19 on: May 30, 2007, 01:01:27 pm »
TotallyMaxed are you a UK (European) user?

Mike_Izisys

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #20 on: May 31, 2007, 12:36:09 pm »
Hi,

I just installed my new Nova-T 500 (I've switched to Kubuntu now)  I get this message in the dmesg:

[   15.140000] dvb-usb: found a 'Hauppauge Nova-T 500 Dual DVB-T' in cold state, will try to load a firmware
[   15.156000] dvb-usb: did not find the firmware file. (dvb-usb-dib0700-01.fw) Please see linux/Documentation/dvb/ for more details on firmware-problems. (-2)

I don't think this looks good?  What is cold state?

Mike

Hugolp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #21 on: May 31, 2007, 01:28:52 pm »
Mike_Izisys go to www.linuxtv.org, look for dvb-t hardware and download the file dvd-usb-dib0700-01.fw and place it into /lib/firmware/ (or if there is a directory there with the kernel number place the file in there /lib/firmware/kernelnumber/) then reboot and it should work.

Keep in mind that some version of these cards dont work with the actual linux driver, so good luck, cause mine doesnt work and it just keeps on hanging mythtv back end every hour or so.

Hugo

Mike_Izisys

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #22 on: May 31, 2007, 03:46:56 pm »
Thanks Hugo - that seems to have done the job.

I can't get MythTV working - it says that I am using all the inputs at the moment.

I thought I would start with a simpler product - Kaffeine.  When I try and Auto scan for channels I only pick up BBC1 HD (I'm in the test area).

I can hear BBC1 HD, but it just shows a Kaffeine holding page for the video - I guess this is a codec issue with it being HD.

Anyway I have tested the TV signal and it is fine with my Microsoft MCE.  Any ideas how to tune in for the UK?

Mike

Hugolp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Which TV Card?
« Reply #23 on: May 31, 2007, 11:38:56 pm »
I have found the mythtv scan poor. It just doesnt pick channels that other programs do. And as well, doing several scans one after another makes more channels apear, wich is weird because signal doesnt change so much over 2 or 3 minutes that takes to scan 3 times.

Again in www.linuxtv.org you can find several utilities to scan and get channels. You should save it in a file named channels.conf and then load that in mythtv back end configuration. Watch out because to me the channels loaded this way are configured to not use eit, and you have to go one by one and configure them to get the programation info from eit. The method I use to scan is explained in this page: http://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/Scan

Hugo