Author Topic: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...  (Read 8100 times)

sharlee_angelo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2007, 04:26:35 pm »
what packages did you install to make dvd working? because linuxmce makes this kind of things to work.
Read the F****** Logs!!!

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2007, 08:10:25 pm »
Ok, this install did NOT work for me either, I'd like to restart it again.. lol

More key points I've found:  do not install any updates, let linuxmce do that for you...
install automatix after, worked great for me..

The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2007, 09:41:29 pm »
what packages did you install to make dvd working? because linuxmce makes this kind of things to work.

Did you ask me or ddamron? I have not gotten DVD to work yet...

And since I can not add software I belive there is still a lot wrong with my installation...
I'm now trying to install on Ubuntu 7.04 but it is not working either... The install fails after downloading packages I thing.

This is from the errorlog:
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  pluto-dcerouter: Depends: pluto-confirm-dependencies (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-confirm-dependencies (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-createdevice (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-createdevice (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-install-scripts (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-install-scripts (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-local-database (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-local-database (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-orbitergen (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-orbitergen (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-std-plugins (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-std-plugins (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-system-database (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-system-database (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-website-admin (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-website-admin (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-boot-scripts (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: pluto-boot-scripts (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: mce-diskless-tools (>= 1.0) but it is not going to be installed
                   Depends: mce-diskless-tools (< 1.1) but it is not going to be installed
                   PreDepends: ssh
                   PreDepends: vim but it is not going to be installed
                   PreDepends: samba but it is not going to be installed
                   PreDepends: bind9 but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages

ERROR : Failed to install and configure the base software

cirion

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2007, 11:00:35 pm »
More key points I've found:  do not install any updates, let linuxmce do that for you...
install automatix after, worked great for me..

Trying that approach now... Gave up on 7.04.

rmwlaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2007, 04:29:39 am »
After many installs I was finally able to get the networking straight and with BOTH network cards:

- Clean Ubuntu install
- Ubuntu Updates
- Set Networks

1. Static (Internet - ADSL Gateway and WLAN Router)
2. DHCP Server (Linux MCE)

- Install MCE (i worked out for 2 hours during this time)
- Reboot
- Start MCE (went shopping and came back 2 hours later)

And you know what? I got the WIZARD....sniff, sniff...so happy.

- Set the Wizard preferences
- Grey Screen (oh noooo!)

Change the User Interface, reboot, start MCE, eat dinner

What's next?

Out of curiosity, what hardware do you have? Did you configure as a core or hybrid?

Do you have any wireless network adapters/routers or wired only? If wireless, how did you configure wireless during installation, or after?

I did not see your prior post in this thread, and would love to know what you did, what equipment you had used, and what configuration options you chose.

Thanks in advance for your anticipated response.

sharlee_angelo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 316
    • View Profile
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2007, 01:09:28 pm »
After many installs I was finally able to get the networking straight and with BOTH network cards:

- Clean Ubuntu install
- Ubuntu Updates
- Set Networks

1. Static (Internet - ADSL Gateway and WLAN Router)
2. DHCP Server (Linux MCE)

- Install MCE (i worked out for 2 hours during this time)
- Reboot
- Start MCE (went shopping and came back 2 hours later)

And you know what? I got the WIZARD....sniff, sniff...so happy.

- Set the Wizard preferences
- Grey Screen (oh noooo!)

Change the User Interface, reboot, start MCE, eat dinner

What's next?

the best way to see what is happening is to watch the DCERouter.log. i will appreciate if you can post the log.
Read the F****** Logs!!!

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Here's my how-to for everyone out there...
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2007, 06:27:14 am »
K guys, This is REALLY old.. and even worse, it was based on 1.0..
I'l locking the topic.

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.