Author Topic: Trouble with A/V wizard and video resolution  (Read 3105 times)

NumberSix

• First post!
    • View Profile
Trouble with A/V wizard and video resolution
« on: April 17, 2007, 09:20:00 pm »
Howdy!

I'm a linux newbie, so please be patient.

I have my PC hooked up to a 4 year old Philips rear projection TV that is capable of 480p and 1080i. I've tried setting the resolutions to both as well as the refresh rates to 50, 60 and 65.

Nothing seems to work, everything ends with the screen being out of sync.

I even tried 720p.. even though i knew it wasn't compatible just because I had tried everything else.

The only thing is that when i try 480p with a 50 refresh rate, the A/V wizard goes into a endless loop, retrying the setting over and over again and I have to unplug the computer to get it to stop.

I'm using a DVI cable from a Nvidia 6600 GT card.
The TV is a Philips 60pp 9502

Thanks so much for any help anyone can provide!

cckrobinson

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble with A/V wizard and video resolution
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2007, 03:31:10 am »
Here are a few things to try:

1. Open the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.pluto file.  Under the section "Device" there should be an option called "UseEDID".  Change it from False to True.  If your TV reports the correct timing information over DVI then that should help.  If that works then you will also need to edit the /usr/pluto/bin/Xconfigure.sh file and add the line "exit;" at the top of the file.  Each time you start LMCE it tries to regenerate the xorg.conf.pluto file so you will loose your changes.

2.  If that doesn't work then try googling for "modeline + model of your TV".  Chances are that someone else has figured out a Linux modeline for your TV.  You can add your custom modeline to the /usr/pluto/bin/Xconfigure.sh file along with the other modelines.  I haven't tried this myself, but I believe LMCE will attempt to use your modeline when it tries to configure your display.