Author Topic: Need help getting front end going!  (Read 1242 times)

SkySpeedr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Need help getting front end going!
« on: April 15, 2007, 03:10:30 am »
I lost the front end somehow.  It was working but I did something in Pluto and now when it starts I just get the back end!  Help!

This is on a clean install and seemed to finish succfully but I was getting the gray/black screen problem mentioned on other posts.  I went into Plato and I think somehow I deleted the front end (Orbiter/Media Director?).  Anyway, I tried adding Media Directors and Orbiters back in but nothing shows up in the list of devices after I close the window. Now all I get on the screen are a couple of messages about completed disk checks. I can't figure out how to get the Orbiter/Media Directoe back!  I did start X and fire up mythfrontend and that works, but nothing happens in MCE.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
« Last Edit: April 15, 2007, 05:49:19 am by SkySpeedr »

SkySpeedr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting front end going!
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2007, 04:54:45 am »
OK. I was able to add my A/V equipment, but when I add a Media Director or Orbiter they never show up in the list and when I reload or reboot all I get is what appears to be the backend reporting that it successfully checked both my disks.

Anyone have any idea what's going on here???  Why can't I add a Media Director???


SkySpeedr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting front end going!
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2007, 05:11:11 am »
I guess nobody here knows how to get me up and running...

SkySpeedr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Need help getting front end going!
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2007, 07:04:58 am »
Problem solved!  It's simple really.  Just reformat the hard drive and reinstall everything!  I love brute force... so much simpler than trying to figure out the problem! LOL