Author Topic: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation) [solved]  (Read 4439 times)

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #30 on: May 16, 2018, 02:36:44 pm »
these are the results of my yesterdays attempt:
(i have to admit that i installed it in an kvm/qemu virtualmachine which worked very good)
(following that route, i hope i can work on this without cutting everybody else from the network and getting mad at me :) )

i installed kubuntu14.04.5 64bit.

After upgrading and rebooting, i installed linuxmce with the internet method.

it got into the loop, trying to start AVWizard. i rebooted using the safe mode and changed autostartmedia to 0.

after rebooting i could register a user in webadmin and added a room.

i installed the raspberry like the wiki said. the system wanted me to choose between MD,qMD or SqueezeOnly.

As i had no orbiter i tried to install a weborbiter2. it would not regenerate and register.
i found somewhere in the logs, that it complained about not finding the font arial.ttf.
I reinstalled ttf-mscorefonts-installer and it started to regenerate the orbiter.

Then i could restart the raspberry and choose MD.

Some things got installed but after the first reboot i could only see the "rainbow" screen.
i tried restarting raspberry and the core but without luck.

it reminds me of this thread:
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14408.0

this is the output i have got from tcpdump -i eth1 -vv | grep "tftp":
https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/y9KCDJjnp3/

this is my dhcpcd.conf (after executing DHCP_config.sh):
https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/QCy7WqCgpJ/

this is what i also experienced on my other partition with the "old" installation not in a virtual machine.
i thought it woul be a good idea to try a fresh start because my raspberry failed as an md
after updating the core/image.

the other parts of the system seem to work headless like You suggested Posde, thanks!
(i.e. network configuration)
even the usb-passthrough seems to work with kvm/qemu.


i can try it again with a new raspberry as i need another one anyway.

or maybe i should use the 32bit image?

thanks for all the help!



posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3662
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #31 on: May 16, 2018, 02:50:31 pm »
What version Raspberry do you use, and what raspberry install method did you choose?

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #32 on: May 16, 2018, 07:00:05 pm »
its an raspberry Pi B 3, and i followed the RPiB Diskless mediadirector install method.
everything besides the usb-boot OTP activation, because i already did that in the past for the other installation.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3662
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #33 on: May 16, 2018, 08:42:21 pm »
Did you do the rpi install after or before the truetype font install?

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #34 on: May 16, 2018, 10:39:50 pm »
hmm i think it has been before... so i should rebuild the image, should`t i?
didn`t think of that.
will try that, thanks!

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3662
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #35 on: May 16, 2018, 11:14:48 pm »
Rebuilding the image is one thing. The other thing what I quite often do, when a media director acts up strange is, I change one character in the hardware address of the MDs device data, quick reload the router, and reboot the MD in question. It gets redetected, and it has another chance at being created correctly. And always follow rule #1 :-)

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #36 on: May 17, 2018, 02:28:48 pm »
working on my patience skills ;)

i will check these things on the weekend with a new rasp, maybe it is just another hardware problem....

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3662
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #37 on: May 17, 2018, 03:02:05 pm »
Awaiting the results patiently :-)