Author Topic: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)  (Read 2498 times)

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #15 on: November 28, 2017, 08:55:48 pm »
As I told golgoj4 yesterday in IRC, make sure that if you do have a specific version of the nVidia driver you use, change it in *both* scripts. nvidia-install.sh AND Utils.sh. Please report back if it helps.
Hmmm. Didn't know about Utils.sh...but I never had to modify it to resolve my install issues.

Thanks for the info.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 666
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2017, 06:50:10 pm »
weekly i try to install.... no chance... it loops when trying the nvidia.

Any solution in sight?

With best regards,

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 308
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2017, 11:00:34 pm »
weekly i try to install.... no chance... it loops when trying the nvidia.

Any solution in sight?

With best regards,
Can you verify that the nvidia driver is loading?

lsmod | grep nvidia

If "nvidia" is not listed from the command, you must look into dmesg to see what is going on with the driver not loading

dmesg | grep -i nvidia

The above command should list several lines of information.  One line should indicate what driver is trying to load  (304.xx, 340.xx, 352.xx, or 361.xx where xx is a number)   if the driver is failing to load, you should see a message stating that your card is not supported by the driver or some other reason for failure to load.

If the driver is loading as indicated by lsmod comnand, try forcing a re-execute of AVWIZARD by running the command

/usr/pluto/bin/RebootWithAVWizard.sh

OR

modify /etc/pluto.conf as indicated in this thread, delete any xorg.conf file in /etc/X11. Then reboot

If this still does not work, then you have to look in system logs and look for errors that you can provide in this thread

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2017, 10:33:57 am »
i tried to mess a little bit with Utils.sh but i don`t know what to change there for loading a specific driver.

is this the right part?

Code: [Select]
InstallVideoDriver() {
local prop_driver="$1"

case "$prop_driver" in

# nVidia cards
nvidia)
if ! PackageIsInstalled nvidia-173 && ! PackageIsInstalled nvidia-304 && ! PackageIsInstalled nvidia-340 && ! PackageIsInstalled nvidia-352 && ! PackageIsInstalled nvidia-375 ; then
VerifyExitCode "Install Pluto nVidia Driver"
. /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh
installCorrectNvidiaDriver
ConfSet "AVWizardOverride" "1"

i added my "favorite" driver nvidia-375.

ähemm is this okay? i am actually sure that is not enough.

sorry for my poor cracking skills....
 


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3635
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2017, 01:40:55 pm »
Do not add your favourite, but replace your the automatically chosen one with your favourite in Utils.sh and nvidia-install.sh - ie. if your computer wants to install 352 and you want 375, replace 352 with 375 in both files.

Let me know if it helps.

Kramden

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2017, 01:55:46 am »
I had a bit of free time today. I attempted a net-install on equipment I know supports nvidia-340. I edited nvidia-install.sh and Utils.sh and changed all nvidia-xxx greater than 340 to nvidia-340. I have an nvidia 9500 card that requires nvidia 304. I have had driver issues in the past with that card. The issues are not the same. With driver issue AVWizard runs but video is garbled. This issue X starts and displays a mouse cursor then quits. It doesn't display anything but the cursor.
As a backcheck, I net-installed in VirtualBox. The behavior is the same and VB uses a different driver.

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2018, 12:58:51 pm »
hello,

i tried a few things, but nothing really seems to work:
tried both 32bit/64bit kubuntu installations.
tried to set the different nvidia-driver versions in nvidia-installs.sh and Utils.sh.

what i did found in the kern.log after every installation is:

Code: [Select]
Apr 17 12:21:46 dcerouter kernel: [   66.010184] AVWizard[17376]: segfault at 0 ip 00007ff6db0a8e9a sp 00007fff882098a0 error 4 in libSDL_ttf-2.0.so.0.10.1[7ff6db0a6000+6000]

so this seems to be the end of my "debugging" skills, sorry.  :)
And i don`t know if this is the cause or just a result ...

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3635
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2018, 03:14:03 pm »
IME segfaults have very often pointed to faulty hardware.

G.I.R.

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2018, 04:32:04 pm »
hmm, okay maybe that is a good reason to "invest" i a new graphic card. :)

i know You cannot give recommendations, but i made a quick search and found this one to be good enough for a hplc:

Gigabyte GeForce GT 1030 Low Profile (Silent)

it should be supported by nvidia-384.



posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3635
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: AVWizard Problem (Fresh Installation)
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2018, 10:48:40 pm »
The days that nVidia gfx cards where the goto cards, are imho, long gone. See if you can get something with an Intel chip, or if it is a MD only, go and get a Raspberry Pi.