Author Topic: Some Issues with my LMCE14.04media playback, orbiter resolution and Motion wrapp  (Read 2396 times)

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Hey guys,,

I am experiencing some issues with my system and unable to resolve despite my efforts. The purpose of the thread is not to complain but to report.
I would try my level best to explain as much as I can.

1.) I have Nvidia 6200 card and as we know it is not supported by latest driver. Therefore I went ahead and installed nvidia-304-131. The system is successfully running however, here are the related issue.
First of all, I was never able to see clearly AVWizard except step 1. as soon as I pick DVI, Resolution, and refresh rates. all rest steps were completely unreadable. I finished AVwizard blindly used my experience for it. having said. I have UI on my screen that is completely off tract. I am attaching the pic.

I may be able to solve the problem with 1.) manually edit xorg.conf 2.) re run AV wizard which I have already tried unsuccessfully. On the same system I sometimes boot into separate desktop (debian KDE) where I use same nvidia driver for same card and the resolution looks perfect on that while for LMCE even on KDE desktop, the card is not at its best.
Third,, I sometimes get error during boot saying "fixing recursive fault but reboot needed" and it hangs up. two third attempt and its boots normally for me.

I believe these all are related to my Nvidia card. and the way driver has installed and also the kernel issue. I would post xorg.conf for both system here so someone can help.

2.) When I play any video file on the LMCE , the picture not at all sync with my monitors resolution. I do not know ,, weather its nvidia again or something with xine player issue.

3.) I have installed a logitech 9000 security camera according to wiki page and it works perfect. however, other day I noticed that my /etc/pluto/bin directory was flooded with .jpg files and I noticed those images were from my camera whenever I accessed security webcam from the orbiter. "is that normal ?" I never seen that happening before unless design has been changed.

Please see the following command outputs, hope that helps.
Quote
lspci -vnn | grep VGA -A 12
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: NVIDIA Corporation NV44 [GeForce 6200 LE] [10de:0163] (rev a1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
        Subsystem: eVga.com. Corp. Device [3842:c297]
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
        Memory at fd000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
        Memory at fc000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
        [virtual] Expansion ROM at fe8e0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
        Capabilities: <access denied>
        Kernel driver in use: nvidia

dpkg -l | grep nvidia
ii  nvidia-304                                 304.131-0ubuntu0.14.04.1                                         i386         NVIDIA legacy binary driver - version 304.131

uname -a
Linux dcerouter 3.13.0-24-generic #47-Ubuntu SMP Fri May 2 23:31:42 UTC 2014 i686 i686 i686 GNU/Linux


xorg.conf on LMCE  http://paste.ubuntu.com/15747713/
Kern.log  on LMCE  http://paste.ubuntu.com/15747736/


 

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
These are the info from other system where,, Nvidia card runs very smoothly.

Quote
uname -a
Linux debian 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt25-1 (2016-03-06) x86_64 GNU/Linux

dpkg -l | grep nvidia
ii  glx-alternative-nvidia                 0.5.1                                amd64        allows the selection of NVIDIA as GLX provider
ii  libgl1-nvidia-legacy-304xx-glx:amd64   304.131-1                            amd64        NVIDIA binary OpenGL libraries (304xx legacy version)
ii  nvidia-installer-cleanup               20141201+1                           amd64        cleanup after driver installation with the nvidia-installer
ii  nvidia-kernel-common                   20141201+1                           amd64        NVIDIA binary kernel module support files
ii  nvidia-legacy-304xx-alternative        304.131-1                            amd64        allows the selection of NVIDIA as GLX provider
ii  nvidia-legacy-304xx-driver             304.131-1                            amd64        NVIDIA metapackage (304xx legacy version)
ii  nvidia-legacy-304xx-kernel-dkms        304.131-1                            amd64        NVIDIA binary kernel module DKMS source (304xx legacy version)
ii  nvidia-settings-legacy-304xx           304.123-2                            amd64        tool for configuring the NVIDIA graphics driver (304xx legacy version)
ii  nvidia-support                         20141201+1                           amd64        NVIDIA binary graphics driver support files
ii  nvidia-xconfig                         340.46-1                             amd64        X configuration tool for non-free NVIDIA drivers
ii  xserver-xorg-video-nvidia-legacy-304xx 304.131-1                            amd64        NVIDIA binary Xorg driver (304xx legacy version)


xorg.conf from that system. http://paste.debian.net/432046/

These information might be irrelevant since other system is 64 bit and LMCE is 32 bit. I don;t know,, hope someone can help here.

Thanks again for looking into this.

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3673
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Did you modify the setup scripts that you had been asked to modify in IRC?

The security pics should not end up in /usr/pluto/bin but end up in /home/securitypics

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Hi Podse...

Did you modify the setup scripts that you had been asked to modify in IRC?

Yes, that is how I was able to install the desire driver. here..

cat /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh  =  http://paste.ubuntu.com/15751654/

Quote
The security pics should not end up in /usr/pluto/bin but end up in /home/securitypics

That must be system's fault. I know I added camera exactly how it says on wiki. What can I check to confirm?

Thanks.

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
I now remember that I had to blacklist "nouveau" module in order to have nvidia install. I followed a post and blacklist following modules. Perhaps one of those are responsible why I do not have proper AV wizard. Is it possible?

here are the list of blacklist.conf modules.

blacklist amd76x_edac
blacklist vga16fb
blacklist nouveau
blacklist rivafb
blacklist rivatv
blacklist nvidiafb

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
My Resolution issue is solved for now. I have done extensive modification to my xorg.conf..

Added bunch of modeline under Section "Monitor" and "Screen" in /etc/X11/xorg.conf file
I used following command to get all modelines that I needed.

Quote
gtf 1920 1080 60

here is my xorg.conf looks now and all video playbacks are normal. resolution issue is gone.

Quote
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 304.131  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-07)  Sun Nov  8 22:50:24 PST 2015

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "SyncMaster"
    VendorName     "Samsung"
    ModelName      "2333SW"
    Option         "DPMS"
        Modeline "1920x1080_60.00"  172.80  1920 2040 2248 2576  1080 1081 1084 1118  -HSync +Vsync
        Modeline "1680x1050_60.00"  147.14  1680 1784 1968 2256  1050 1051 1054 1087  -HSync +Vsync
        Modeline "1600x1024_60.00"  136.36  1600 1704 1872 2144  1024 1025 1028 1060  -HSync +Vsync
        Modeline "1440x900_60.00"  106.47  1440 1520 1672 1904  900 901 904 932  -HSync +Vsync
        Modeline "1024x768_60.00"  64.11  1024 1080 1184 1344  768 769 772 795  -HSync +Vsync
        Option   "PreferredMode" "1920x1080_60.00"
        HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
        VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "DFP"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "SyncMaster"
    DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           24
                Modes           "1920x1080" "1680x1050" "1600x1024" "1440x900" "1024x768"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Depth           32
                Modes           "1920x1080" "1680x1050" "1600x1024" "1440x900" "1024x768"
        EndSubSection

        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option  "TVStandard"    "1080p"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option "Composite" "true"
        Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load "glx"
EndSection

« Last Edit: April 11, 2016, 11:40:10 pm by theteju »