Author Topic: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi  (Read 2764 times)

maverick0815

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« on: September 26, 2015, 02:19:37 pm »
This is the strangest thing.....from my pc or the md I can resolve dcerouter just fine and access the webadmin. From my wife, which is attached to the inside network, I suddenly can't anymore. Access is only possible via IP address.
Any ideas, how I can fix this?

maverick0815

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 08:39:28 pm »
Ok, I got one step forward. On my tablet I have to use dcerouter.linuxmce in order to access the anything on the core

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1751
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2015, 02:18:00 pm »
Mav, file a ticket for that maybe one of our net guys can pinpoint the issue.

J.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2015, 04:58:18 pm »
try 'dcerouter.local' that seems to work for me.
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.

maverick0815

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2015, 07:09:38 pm »
Right now when typing linuxmce i get to the webadmin. While this is all nice, the question remains for me, what caused this. According to the wiki, you should just use dcerouter. On my lan, I can still do this, just not on Wi-Fi....

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1751
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2015, 07:14:33 pm »
That would be an issue in the wireless access point.  LinuxMCE can in no way discern between the two.

J.

maverick0815

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2015, 07:51:26 pm »
I thought so too, but the accesspoint is just forwarding everything to dcerouter....all the more I am puzzled

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1751
    • View Profile
Re: Can't resolve dcerouter via wifi
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2015, 09:19:19 pm »
:(  So... I can reach my core with 'dcerouter' or with 'linuxmce'.  Pinging responds with address 'DCERouter.LinuxMCE'

I wonder if the AP is only passing the primary domain portion of the hostname?

J.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2015, 11:54:51 pm by phenigma »