Author Topic: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations  (Read 2047 times)

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« on: April 02, 2007, 05:07:13 pm »
Hi all.. Love this project!  I will be building a new box asap.  Currently, I'm running x86_64 ubuntu :(

a couple quick questions:

I have 2 DVB-S cards in the basement
1 HD DVR (Starchoice) in the living room with a 67" DLP
1 HD Receiver (starchoice) in the bedroom) with a 36" LCD TV

Is there any way to run multiple servers? or can an MD stream to a server while viewing another video?

I also have a DigiMatrix waiting to be set up
Other equipment possibilities I would like to integrate:
Blackberry Pearl (remote?)
Motorola Razor (Wife's remote?)
My Laptop (Dell Inspiron 9100)
My Wife's Laptop (macbook)
Pocket PC HP4150
Sony HDR-HC1 HD Camcorder
Sony TRV-510 DV Camcorder
3xGadspot IP daynight security Cameras
1x Gadspot PT IP Camera
sprinkler system
x10 (throughout whole house)

(I'm a gadget kinda guy :))

Once I get started, I'll keep you posted on my success

Dan
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2007, 06:32:25 am »
you don't need multiple servers, md's can stream.  However the pvr questions are better answered by myth.

x10 should work.  ip cams will work if there's a url to retrieve the current frame.  no support for blackberry or razor.  The dell should work as a diskless md.  Don't know about the mac.  The pocket pc will work, although the pda skin in lmce is broken in a few places.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2007, 11:27:56 am »
Hi,

I'm curious to know where you sourced your DVB-S cards?

I am in the uk and it seems that more or less the only stuff I can find is DVB-T and often USB as well!!

I have no aerial at the moment, just an (old) cable feed and a satellite feed. I want to go LMCE (or pluto, haven't decided which yet) but the initial setup cost is looking prohibative at the moment!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2007, 11:33:34 am by wierdbeard65 »
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2007, 04:19:21 pm »
I live in Canada, and the cards I have are Twinhan 1022's.  They work pretty well, qpsk, unfortunately, not 8psk yet :(
My antennae set up is as follows:

Starchoice receivers to quad lnb on starchoice disk (as normal)

2 more eliptical dishes both with 2 dual universal LNB's (8 lines from 2 dishes)
goes into a 8x4 Diseqc, then feeds from there..

The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2007, 10:48:51 pm »
Errr, thanks :-S

I'm going to have to look up some of that on Google for a translation! <lol>

I don't follow your comment about quad lnb (as normal). In the uk, single lnb is the norm. I will (obviously) have to upgrade eventually, but I don't know how many are needed (in fact a darned good tutorial on the way it all works would be VERY helpful!)

Some time ago, there was some discussion over on the Myth forums about grabbing ALL the channels on a single transponder with a single lnb feed / card simultaneously. Has anyone managed to do this yet? ALso, has anyone got a satellite smart-card reader that works with Myth / Pluto / LMCE? I'd really prefer to have a card in my core to having a receiver connected to a capture card (especially if I end up with multiple satellite feeds) Ideally, I'd like to share a card between the feeds, but I suspect that this would not be within the terms of my contract with Sky TV!!

Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Linux MCE on Ubuntu 7.04 BETA
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2007, 03:01:26 am »
Well, just installed 7.04 Beta and did the upgrades (4 hours)
Of course, the installer for Linux MCE (ubuntu 6.10) wouldn't work on 7.04...
in the process of recompiling from source.. will keep you posted..

had MCE and 6.10, but got the GSOD (Grey Screen of death) unable to contact router....

decided to try out 7.04.  see if I can get it working...
BTW, I'm a linux semi-newbie, been on ubuntu x64 for about 2 months, loved every minute.
still struggling to get the "MS" out of me...

BTW, Ubuntu 7.04 is nice!
will keep you posted..

Dan

The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
New Equipment
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2007, 03:22:21 am »
BTW, I have dual systems running, both almost same hardware..
Motherboards: EVGA nForce 680I SLI (x 2)
SATA 320GB HD on both
SATA DVD ROM on 7.04, SATA DVD-RW on 6.10
GeForce 7600Gt on 7.04, 7600Gs on 6.10
1GB RAM on 7.04, 2GB ram on 6.10

just installing 6.10 (again!) on alternate machine
will keep you posted.

Dan

The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.

ddamron

  • Alumni
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *
  • Posts: 962
    • View Profile
    • My LinuxMCE User Page
Re: Multiple Sources from Multiple Locations
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2007, 04:06:18 am »
Ok, Recompile on 7.04 failed... :(
crap

back to 6.10 on other system...
The only intuitive interface is the nipple.  After that it's all learned.
My other computer is your windows box.
I'm out of my mind.  Back in 5 minutes.
Q:  What's Red and smells like blue paint?

A:  Red Paint.