Author Topic: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5  (Read 1580 times)

ahelenpo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« on: August 11, 2015, 08:46:46 am »
Hello

anybody know if this device is supported ? I know Z-stick 2 is supported, but the new Gen 5 is out now and that's what I purchased thinking it was the same.

Using Dianemo by the way. The device didn't get created automatically and I can't seem to get the device to register (it's visible in lsusb, and the drivers are loaded automatically). I did try and add the device codes to the device profile to see if that would make a difference but no luck so far.

Alex

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2015, 05:12:26 pm »
I would be interested in changing to the Gen5-stick, too, because the Z-Stick2 is hanging from time to time and there is no fix for this issue (plugging out and in again is no fix for me).
As you can read on the OZW-page Gen5 devices do not play well ATM because of Security CC.

Maybe it is worth testing it. I am considering it, but it is really time consuming to migrate all my devices to a new stick...

With Gen5 you get the ability to use door locks and you will get a more responsive mesh network.


Greets!
bernd

ahelenpo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2015, 08:27:55 pm »
Looks like OpenZWave just added support for it in version 1.3 :-)

https://github.com/OpenZWave/open-zwave/blob/master/ChangeLog

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2015, 03:49:37 pm »
lmce is using 1.3.1025, right?
This Gen5-Stick is available in Germany now, so I just ordered the stick myself. I will test it and give feedback...

Greets!

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1747
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2015, 09:56:43 pm »
Yes, that is our current version of openzwave.

J.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2015, 01:23:00 am »
My Gen5 stick arrived today. It is working for me.

observations:

- make sure stick is recognized by system (lsusb) => if not: try another USB port
- no auto detection => I had to create ZWave device manually (maybe I did not wait long enough)
- I updated xml files in /etc/openzwave with recent ones of openzwave project => don't know if this was necessary
- reboot core after plugging in => router reload is not sufficient
- reboot core after adding zwave devices  => router reload is not sufficient / lmce loses device connection
- mesh network is more responsive
- so far no big differences to old Aeon Stick2

important: When changing to new stick you MUST remove devices from old network!


Dap-P

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
    • View Profile
Re: Aeotec Z-stick Gen5
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2015, 07:43:42 pm »
Thanks rebelkiller,

My stick also came today, and thank to you i have it working.