Author Topic: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?  (Read 9305 times)

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« on: January 22, 2015, 09:09:12 am »
Hello there,

I bought the adaptor mentioned above.
I need help understanding ports and pipes in LMCE.

My MD ist connected to an AVR input, as well as my PS3.
The output of the AVR is connected to the TV (all via HDMI).

My actual channel setup in webadmin is as follows:

0000 TV
2000 AVR
2100 HDMI adaptor
2200 PS3

- Does the HDMI adaptor need an address setting?
- what about address setting Nr. 5 (instead 0) as mentioned in the the libcec documentation, when HTPC is connected to an Avr.

Thanks!

Bernd


phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2015, 02:03:27 pm »
I bought the adaptor mentioned above.
I need help understanding ports and pipes in LMCE.

The pipes in lmce and ports/channel values in CEC are mutually exclusive and not specifically related, but all are required for proper operation.

My MD ist connected to an AVR input, as well as my PS3.
The output of the AVR is connected to the TV (all via HDMI).

My actual channel setup in webadmin is as follows:

0000 TV
2000 AVR
2100 HDMI adaptor
2200 PS3

- Does the HDMI adaptor need an address setting?
- what about address setting Nr. 5 (instead 0) as mentioned in the the libcec documentation, when HTPC is connected to an Avr.

Good question.  The values you are entering into webadmin are 'Physical Addresses' on the CEC bus.  The number '5' you are referring to is a 'Logical Address' within the CEC bus and is automatically assigned by the television to the AVR on the CEC bus.

If you have the above values in your webadmin settings for the CEC devices then you now need to connect the AV pipes for the devices in the Connections screen of the AV Devices setup.  I'd be more specific but I'm not at a system atm.

I'm assuming your MD is connected to the HDMI Adaptor (pulse eight).  The adaptor can be given the address of your MD/Adaptor.  I don't recall if this is required off the top of my head, I'll double check when I'm at my systems later on.

hth.

J.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2015, 05:12:25 pm »
I need help to get this working. I followed the instructions in the wiki.

I plugged in the HDMI-CEC-adaptor (in my diskless MD) and manually created "CEC-Adaptor" under my MD. "CEC Embedded Transmit" and "HDMI-CEC Remote" have been created by LMCE after that.

Then after a reload I created "Generic HDMI-CEC TV", "Generic HDMI-CEC Audio (AVR)" and "PS3/4 (HDMI-CEC)" manually.

MD is connected to AVR (input), PS3 is connected to AVR (input) and TV is connected to AVR (output).
The channel configuration is as shown in post #1.

Problem:
- MD is not shown in Viera link menu on the TV
- Remote (Panasonic) does not do anything


What I did:
- changed HDMI cables
- connected PulseEight directly between TV and MD (without AVR).
- tried different channels/ports in web admin
- checked, that "CEC-Adaptor" has the correct COM-Port in web-admin

How can I debug this?
Any hints?

B.

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #3 on: February 02, 2015, 05:43:34 pm »
Problem:
- MD is not shown in Viera link menu on the TV
- Remote (Panasonic) does not do anything

My MD is not shown in my Viera link menu either, and my panasonic remote does nothing.  I *do* have control of everything (tv/avr/ps4) from my MD, even though it doesn't show on the tv.  At some point an update to libcec may fix this but they are still dealing with a lot of fringe cases.

My VIZIO tv works perfectly and shows the MD and the remote does work. 

How can I debug this?

You can disable the cec adaptor and then run the cec-client command line tool provided by pulse-eight and pastebin some output of trying some commands.  If you catch me in irc I can help guide you with the client tool a little.

J.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4660
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2015, 12:14:01 pm »
Hello there,

I bought the adaptor mentioned above.
I need help understanding ports and pipes in LMCE.

My MD ist connected to an AVR input, as well as my PS3.
The output of the AVR is connected to the TV (all via HDMI).

My actual channel setup in webadmin is as follows:

0000 TV
2000 AVR
2100 HDMI adaptor
2200 PS3

- Does the HDMI adaptor need an address setting?
- what about address setting Nr. 5 (instead 0) as mentioned in the the libcec documentation, when HTPC is connected to an Avr.

Thanks!

Bernd

Hi Bernd,

We've found the following in our experience with lib-cec & CEC control in general;

- Not all TV's respond or work with HDMI-CEC. Its possible that your Panasonic is one of these.
- Do as Phenigma suggests and use lib-sec's terminal based tools to see if your TV's responds.
- Use lib-sec's terminal tools with another HDMI equipped TV and see if that responds.

If you get no response from either TV based on above tests then it cold be that your Pulse-8 is 'dead' - return it for a replacement (we've had two die on us - but it is pretty rare I have to say).

All the best


Andy
Andy Herron,
CHT Ltd

For Dianemo/LinuxMCE consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+inquiries@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get Dianemo-Rpi2 ARM Licenses http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=14026.0

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2015, 09:43:18 pm »
Before we go to far here, the simplest thing is to check the existing logs.

Code: [Select]
pastebinit /var/log/pluto/XX_CEC_Adaptor.log

That'll tell us what LMCE thinks it sees or not and will provide a fair amount of data.

J.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 06:19:01 pm »
I had to pause my investigation for a while.  ;)

cec-client -l says

ERROR:   [            3533]     error opening serial port '/dev/ttyACM0': Couldn't lock the serial port
ERROR:   [            3533]     could not open a connection (try 1)

four times.

In the pulse eight forums I found something about permissions and groups for "/var/lock", "/run/lock" and "/dev/ttyACM0" which I checked already.

The port /dev/ttyACM0 cannot be locked whether by root nor by normal user.

Still no solution.

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2015, 06:44:57 pm »
Make sure the LinuxMCE device for the HDMI port isn't running, nor other apps, that might lock the dongle.

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2015, 11:03:32 pm »
If the LMCE CEC_Adaptor is running it will lock the port and cec-client cannot communicate.  If you want to pastebin the linuxmce logs from the CEC_Adaptor device (/var/logs/pluto/) then I may be able to decipher something of what is going on.

J.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2015, 06:33:16 pm »
Code: [Select]
== ATTEMPT FRESH START ==
1 03/09/15 17:39:40 /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 266 (spawning-device) 8140 Dev: 266; Already Running list: 100,101,103,110,210,216,259,102,
== FRESH START ==
1 03/09/15 17:39:41 /usr/pluto/bin/Spawn_Device.sh 266 (spawning-device) device: 266 ip: dcerouter cmd_line: CEC_Adaptor
0 03/09/15 17:39:41 266 (spawning-device) Entering 266
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1 03/09/15 17:39:41 266 (spawning-device) Starting... 1
1 03/09/15 17:39:41 266 (spawning-device) Found /usr/pluto/bin/CEC_Adaptor
01 03/09/15 17:39:41.376 TranslateSerialUSB pci0000:00/0000:00:1d.1+2 result /dev/ttyACM0 <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.165 Creating child 267 <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2303 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2303 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Creating child 270 <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2304 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2304 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Creating child 271 <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2306 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb775f700>
05 03/09/15 17:39:45.166 Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2306 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb775f700>
01 03/09/15 17:52:45.996 libCEC: failed to ping the adapter 3 times in a row. closing the connection. <0xb5dfeb40>
01 03/09/15 17:52:46.005 CEC_ALERT_CONNECTION_LOST! <0xb5dfeb40>
01 03/09/15 17:52:46.006 CEC_ALERT! <0xb5dfeb40>

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1758
    • View Profile
Re: Pulse Eight HDMI CEC - Port?
« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2015, 11:08:06 pm »
Looks like the CEC adaptor is not communicating with libcec.  You can try to disable the CEC_Adaptor device in lmce, reload router and try connecting with cec-client.  If that doesn't work I'd look into it being a bad adaptor.

J.