Author Topic: 12.04 install report  (Read 2285 times)

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
12.04 install report
« on: November 16, 2014, 08:00:34 pm »
So I finally took the plunge.
at first I tried the DVD install, but that didn't seem to work out for me. In order to boot my computer with 12.04 I needed to run with bootoption
Quote
nomodeset
. It looks to me that the installer does not care much for that.
Next I installed kubuntu 12.04 and went with the internet- install. The avwizard  came up, but it was enlarged over the whole screen. I edited xorg.conf and changed "Nvidia" to "nv" in the driver section. Another reboot and the wizard went through.
however my clients didn't get their IPs.
I found the following:
Networksettings in webadmin were correct
Ifconfig showed for eth0 192.168.80.0 , which was not correct
Pushing update in the webadmin, without any changes, updated the IP of the nic.
dhcp still not running, showing showed "cannot access /etc/bind/rndc.key permission denied"
Adding "/etc/bind r, " as well as "/etc/bind/ ** r," did the trick

Next thing was tv-card (Hauppauge nova hd-s2)
firmware did not get installed (linux-firmware-nonfree)
had to manually mal videoconnections in order to get tv playback, otherwise mythic would claim that all tuners were busy.

Md creation was straightforward

That's it so far, tomorrow I will check telecom and report back
Cheers
Ok, one more thing
I've scanned for tv stations probably 10 times already and every time rtl television is missing...I don't get it...anyone from Germany, who could help?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 09:02:54 pm by maverick0815 »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3610
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 09:08:42 pm »
Ok, one more thing
I've scanned for tv stations probably 10 times already and every time rtl television is missing...I don't get it...

Quality control. RTL TV just doesn't broadcast stuff worth watching :)

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2014, 10:27:02 pm »
While that is true, I'm afraid I still need it. :P

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3610
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 10:17:19 am »
If you *need* RTL, I am very sorry to inform you, that you have more problems than just MythTV not being able to tune in to it :P

:D

Apart from that, I am sorry, but MythTV and I do not like each other. I can tell you, that VDR does see the RTL.

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2014, 11:54:20 am »
I knew you were gonna say that....I guess I will have to try a bit more

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2014, 07:25:37 pm »
well..I found at least one more station thats missing...sixx...so that makes two.

you wouldn't have a channel.conf for sharing with me? I believe I could import it to mythtv

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3610
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #6 on: November 17, 2014, 07:43:40 pm »
This channels conf works for me (with the exception of CNN sound it seems).

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #7 on: November 17, 2014, 07:55:30 pm »
thanks a bunch...I will try this out tomorrow.

Other than that, those are my findings today:
startup of Linuxmce, or reload reports External_Media_Identifier has trouble starting up.
Asterisk throws an error connecting to mysql ( failed to connect database server asterisk on localhost (error 2002) )
My voip phones- template 1734- don't register so far

I forgot to mention..mythtv still needs 192.168.80.1 in the configuration for the backend
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 10:52:00 pm by maverick0815 »

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1720
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #8 on: November 17, 2014, 11:12:21 pm »
Ifconfig showed for eth0 192.168.80.0 , which was not correct

:(

Mav, could you file a trac ticket about this with some details about your nic setup?  I'm not sure what I can do with it yet, but I'd appreciate it.  Thanks!

J.

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2014, 05:34:02 pm »
I will, but I need to create an account for Trac first

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2014, 05:27:22 pm »
While I'm still trying to figure out, why my phones won't register, I noticed something in the webadmin. Both phones use the same template 1734, yet only one has an additional field PK_Users.

maverick0815

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 843
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2014, 07:00:05 pm »
I deleted the sip-phones and recreated them again. Unfortunately they still don't register. Anyone got an idea?

theteju

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 179
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #12 on: March 03, 2015, 06:06:35 pm »
Going to try 12.04 snapshot 2015022022163006.  Should  I connect display with VGA; HDMI or DVI? What is recommended?

Also to Maverick,, what did you change in xorg.conf to get your resolution back? Just in case if I need that info!

Thanks.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3610
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #13 on: March 03, 2015, 08:07:06 pm »
* posde would connect whatever should be used in the future.

If that doesn't work, reboot with another connection.

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1720
    • View Profile
Re: 12.04 install report
« Reply #14 on: March 03, 2015, 08:30:54 pm »
AVWizard will first attempt to setup a 720p resolution screen on a detected HDMI output.  If that fails it will try 640x480 on a VGA output.

You can change outputs using the 1,2,3,4,q,w keys...  See this page: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AV_Wizard_Step_by_Step 'Section II'.

J.