Author Topic: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers  (Read 2102 times)

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
[solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« on: October 21, 2014, 11:40:30 am »
Hello there!  :)

I'm using LMCE 12.04 with VDR 2.0.6 with a (non-graphic) Core and 2 diskless MDs. VDR is working properly, except remotetimers.

I want to use central recordings and timers on the core. How do I configure remotetimers-plugin to do that? Which directories are getting used and where do I put them?

e.g.
- /var/lib/video.00
- /home/public/data/pvr


Thanks for some hints!

Bernd
« Last Edit: October 30, 2014, 05:38:12 pm by rebelkiller »

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2014, 12:51:25 am »
remotetimers per se has nothing to do with where to put the directory for VDR to record to. Whatever you choose, just make sure the moons can access it at the same place.

I have my VDR recordings happen on a designated disk device,i.e. my /etc/vdr/default has a line like this on every moon and the core:

VIDEO_DIR="/home/public/data/pvr/Another\ Internal\ 4TB\ \[898\]/"

The relevant stuff for remote timers should already be setup in vdr setup.conf.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2014, 12:13:49 pm »

@posde:
ok, thank you. This works for me. But when I start VDR as user "VDR" the user has no access to this directory and so the VDR daemon quits at startup. When I start VDR as user "ROOT" this works.


1. Do you start VDR as "ROOT"? (set in /etc/default/vdr)
2. How is your remotetimer-plugin configured? Timers, Recordings, Timeshift  "server" or "local"?

All the best!

bernd

(wir k├Ânnten doch auch in Deutsch schreiben  ;) )

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2014, 01:16:26 pm »
My vdr runs as root.

My remote timer is configured like the pluto-vdr package configures the setup.conf. Can't remember what exactly the settings.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2014, 05:37:57 pm »

My solution:

- I set VIDEO_DIR as  "/var/lib/video.00/". My "video.00" is a link to "/home/public/data/pvr/whatever" on all MDs.
- In runvdr I set "user=root". Setting it to user "vdr" results in not starting vdr-daemon because of missing the right permissions of the mentioned directory.

Now I can see my recordings in VDR under "Recordings" on every MD.


It works. Problem solved. Thanks for your hints!

Greets!

Bernd


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2014, 05:42:03 pm »
Glad that you sorted stuff out. What is the output of dpkg -l vdr on your systems. I might have a small plugin, that does wonders to your Orbiter display...

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2014, 10:57:48 pm »
 vdr 2.0.6-6yavdr1

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2014, 11:11:06 pm »
get http://deb.linuxmce.org/possy/vdr-status-plugin.tgz and move the .so's into /usr/lib/vdr/plugins, move the .conf file into /etc/vdr/plugins and amend according to your setup, and see if your Orbiter will be able to give you back information about what's currently playing.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2014, 05:34:29 pm »
Plugin is running but i can't see any differences. What does parameter "-d 306" do?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #9 on: November 09, 2014, 07:33:06 pm »
-d xxxx defines the device of your VDR player.

vdr --help

is quite helpful to tell you about all the commandline parameters that exist.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #10 on: November 09, 2014, 08:49:04 pm »
### = device-id of "VDR" device in webadmin (in the "OnScreen Orbiter" tree of the specific MD)?

installation on MD, on core or on both machines?

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #11 on: November 09, 2014, 09:17:20 pm »
Did you even run vdr --help? Among other information it would have given you this:

Code: [Select]
status (0.4.0) - Status monitor test

  -r dcerouter,   --RouterAddress=dcerouter      IP address or DNS name of DCERouter (defaults to dcerouter)
  -d device-id,       --DeviceID=xxx       Device ID of local VDR Player device

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #12 on: November 09, 2014, 10:22:47 pm »
Yes I did.

But I am asking again:
### = device-id of "VDR" device in webadmin (in the "OnScreen Orbiter" tree of the specific MD)?

There is another VDR entry unter DCERouter so would you please simply answer my question?
I put in the # of my VDR entry unter "OnScreen Orbiter" but it did not do anything.

The second question you did not answer either.

Thanks.



posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [solved] Configuration of VDR remotetimers
« Reply #13 on: November 09, 2014, 10:28:45 pm »
What is so hard to understand from "local VDR player device"?