Author Topic: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor  (Read 5313 times)

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« on: September 12, 2014, 10:25:45 pm »
I am playing around with a couple of these and I have gotten them working well as a motion sensor.

I have not been able to get the temperature, light-level, humidity sensors to provide any information. 

From this post it seems that temperature and motion work, but not light level

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=11674.0

I placed the temperature sensor on my floor plan and I see the thermometer on my floor plan.  I can select it and it displays the name "temperature sensor", but it does not show what the current temperature is.

If I open the climate section of the web admin, and open the advanced page of the temperature sensor, "state" and "status" are blank...

In the advanced zwave page the device usually appears as a yellow dot, status = "ok" , awake = "No"

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 02:47:11 pm »
Hi mikeybs,

Any progress with this?.  I just installed one last night.  And can see 4 sensors detected.  Light sensor and temperature, the other two are detected as generic.  did you manage to get at least one working?

Cheers,

T

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2015, 05:33:49 am »
Please contact sambuca on irc about the status of zwave items.  He has been quite busy lately.  :)

J.

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2015, 02:03:24 pm »
Thanks Phenigma!!....  .. how do i do that (IRC)?  :o  ;D

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #4 on: April 30, 2015, 07:06:33 pm »
Initially use the web client: https://webchat.freenode.net/

Join #linuxmce as the users channel, and type in sambuca'a nick name and a description of what you are trying to do.  Stay connected to irc as users are all over the world and will respond when they are around.

J.

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2015, 07:48:05 pm »
hi tompin2,

Are you using 1004 or 1204 ?

In 1204 the zwave has changed a lot so I would think the device mostly works out of the box.

br,
sambuca

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2015, 10:22:18 pm »
I have one of them. As a battery powered device it is not very reliable. Try using USB-power cable. then it is much more responsive.

I'm using two Fibaro motion sensors. They work as expected (except tamper detection which is not used by LMCE atm). With the latest lmce-updates brightness level can be used in the state field. I'm testing this right now.

Getting them to work was a bit time consuming. I had to wake them up several times manually to let my Aeon stick get all the needed device info over the mesh network.

In my OZW setup I disabled polling completely. There were too many messages flying around and RTT were very high.

Using 10.04 and ZWave is not a good decision. 12.04 and Zwave is much better.

My hints:

- wake up device (3 button presses) 2-3 times
- be patient, battery powered devices are not so responsive
- check Advanced Zwave page, if device has been fully configured
- check Advanced Zwave page, if device has "values".
- check ZWave.log if the device reports values (especially brightness and temperature) to the correspondend LMCE-devices
- check node instances, e.g. temperature ist instance 1 ("12/1"), brightness is instance 2 "12/2",  motion has no instance ("12").





« Last Edit: July 29, 2015, 10:25:06 pm by rebelkiller »

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3671
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2015, 12:05:00 am »
I'd like to receive feedback as to how the brightness detection is working for others. It was created as part of a LinuxMCE installation on Cypress for one of our sponsors.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2015, 05:46:09 pm »
My observation of brightness detection with zwave sensor until now:

- brightness value is appearing correctly in web admin in "state" field -> so ok
- I created some events: if device's (brightness sensor) state field contains values lower than 150 (e.g.) AND motion is detected then turn on light
- basically light turns on, when movement is detected in the dark. But in more than 70% of all occurings light does not turn although movement is detected and it is dark.

ATM I try to find out, why it is not turning on. Unfortunately I did not have the time to look a little more into the logs to find out what is going on exactly.



tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #9 on: October 06, 2015, 05:35:45 am »
hi tompin2,

Are you using 1004 or 1204 ?

In 1204 the zwave has changed a lot so I would think the device mostly works out of the box.

br,
sambuca

Hi Sambuca,

Im using 1204... so far it seems to be detected but I get no values, there must be something Im missing.
Follow log of main zwave controller (zstick), are here.

05   10/05/15 22:22:24.968       * Device id = 22, dt = 1813 (Generic Sensor), main label = Sensor, pk_parent = 182 <0xb6e23700>
05   10/05/15 22:22:24.968        -> Already mapped to device, PK_Device=206 <0xb6e23700>
05   10/05/15 22:22:24.968       * Device id = 22/1, dt = 1744 (Temperature Sensor), main label = Temperature, pk_parent = 181 <0xb6e23700>
05   10/05/15 22:22:24.968       * Device id = 22/2, dt = 1745 (Brightness Sensor), main label = Luminance, pk_parent = 181 <0xb6e23700>
05   10/05/15 22:22:24.968       * Device id = 22/3, dt = 1813 (Generic Sensor), main label = , pk_parent = 0 <0xb6e23700>

Values under advance zwave

Values
Index   Label   Value   Units   Genre   PK_Device   Polled
0   Sensor   False      user   206   
0   Battery Level   100   %   user   206   
1   Minimum Wake-up Interval   0   Seconds   system   206   
2   Maximum Wake-up Interval   0   Seconds   system   206   
3   Default Wake-up Interval   0   Seconds   system   206   
4   Wake-up Interval Step   0   Seconds   system   206   
0   Wake-up Interval          0   Seconds   system   206   
0   Library Version   Unknown                      system   206   
1   Protocol Version   Unknown                      system   206   
2   Application Version   Unknown              system   206   
1   Temperature                    0.0           user   207   
3   Luminance                            0.0             user   208   
5   Relative Humidity             0.0              user   209   

Any hints?
« Last Edit: October 08, 2015, 02:37:34 pm by tompin2 »

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2015, 06:21:35 am »
Hello to all,

Ok I have finally reach to a better test.  I deleted the sensor from using the remote.  Reload the sensor again. 
lmce detected:
Temperature as instance 1 (23/1)
Brightness (23/2)
 and two generic sensor
Generic 23 (suppose is motion)
Generic 23/3 Could this be humidity?

I had to press the button at the sensor in order to make it alive, before that, it was posting no values.
So at the zwave advance, under values it started posting values as the picture attached.
This sensor has motion, temp, luminescence and humidity.  Temp is totally off is there a way to calibrate or to shift values.
How can I let LMCE battery values?
Ill continue testing and keep all posted

T

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #11 on: October 13, 2015, 10:32:28 pm »
I finally removed the Aeon device completely from my home.

My observations:
- temperate is measured in F not C
- temperature values are far away from "reality" (x/1)
- luminance level is ok (x/2)
- motion detection is ok (x)
- humidity values shown in log, but not in lmce (x/3)
- device fires brightness level changes (1 lux!) too frequently what leads to unresponsive mesh network
- in battery mode it is nearly unusable
- use of usb power makes it more responsive

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #12 on: October 14, 2015, 04:38:25 am »
Guys, what sensor is this exactly?  Can you be more specific than 'multisensor'?  :)

J.

rebelkiller

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 77
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #13 on: October 14, 2015, 09:44:22 am »
Aeon Labs 4in1 Multisensor ( The old one!)

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Aeon_Labs_Z-Wave_Multisensor

phenigma

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 1749
    • View Profile
Re: Aeon Labs Z-Wave Multisensor
« Reply #14 on: October 15, 2015, 02:49:57 am »
Thanks!  :)

J.