Author Topic: Entertainment Areas without an MD  (Read 621 times)

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Entertainment Areas without an MD
« on: August 25, 2014, 04:25:37 am »
This issue came up in another post I had

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=13430.45

The inability to get media scenarios for entertainment areas that have not been configured with an MD. 

If anyone is interested in helping me get this to work properly I'd be happy to assist in any way I can. 

I have a fresh install of the latest 1404 dvd image with an entertainment area set up that has a TV, receiver, a cable box, and a dvd player.  No scenarios are generated, so it seems the issue still persists in 1404.  This exact setup worked perfectly with a 1204 install when I set it up using an MD, and then after setup removing the MD. 

I can provide any logs, and perform any experiments anyone would like on this setup.  I can also provide remote access to this set up if anyone wants to help me investigate the issue and fix it.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2014, 11:34:08 am »
The 1404 builds are purely academic. Even 1204 is not even in beta. Just as something to think about :)

We are happy if people do give 1404 a test drive, and appreciate whatever feedback people can provide.

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2014, 09:05:36 pm »
This behavior also exists on 1004.  I just did a fresh 1004 install and replicated the setup and no media scenarios were generated.

I was just curious to see if anyone was interested in trying to make this functional.  I would be happy to provide feedback on any LMCE release, whichever one is most attractive for others to collaborate on.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2014, 09:25:59 pm »
See what happens, when you add a Squeezebox to that room.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2014, 10:09:28 am »
This issue came up in another post I had

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=13430.45

The inability to get media scenarios for entertainment areas that have not been configured with an MD. 

If anyone is interested in helping me get this to work properly I'd be happy to assist in any way I can. 

I have a fresh install of the latest 1404 dvd image with an entertainment area set up that has a TV, receiver, a cable box, and a dvd player.  No scenarios are generated, so it seems the issue still persists in 1404.  This exact setup worked perfectly with a 1204 install when I set it up using an MD, and then after setup removing the MD. 

I can provide any logs, and perform any experiments anyone would like on this setup.  I can also provide remote access to this set up if anyone wants to help me investigate the issue and fix it.

If the room/entertainment area has no MD then no auto-generated scenarios are created. You need to set the zone to manually managed in Web Admin. If you add an MD, then later remove it from the room/entertainment area you are essentially doing the same thing as setting it to manual.

All the best

Andy
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2014, 06:30:38 pm »
Run /usr/pluto/bin/UpdateEntArea -e XX where XX is the entertainment area where you have your stuff associated with. That should generate the media scenarios. At least, it just did do that after I added a Squeezebox to one of my rooms.

mysql pluto_main -e "SELECT PK_EntertainmentArea, Description FROM EntertainmentArea"

will give you a list of all EA IDs.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4463
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2014, 06:45:43 pm »
Run /usr/pluto/bin/UpdateEntArea -e XX where XX is the entertainment area where you have your stuff associated with. That should generate the media scenarios. At least, it just did do that after I added a Squeezebox to one of my rooms.

mysql pluto_main -e "SELECT PK_EntertainmentArea, Description FROM EntertainmentArea"

will give you a list of all EA IDs.

If you go to Web Admin;

Wizards->Basic Info->Room

The numbers with a '#' in front of them are the EA ID for the room listed above.

All the best

Andy
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-7C

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2014, 07:24:37 pm »
That information is true, as long as you have as many Rooms as Entertainment Areas. If the number differs, you have to use the sql statement above.

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
Re: Entertainment Areas without an MD
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2014, 08:34:08 am »
I used  /usr/pluto/bin/UpdateEntArea -e XX

I did not add a squeezebox or any MD.

media scenarios were indeed created, but none of them work.  None of my media devices respond in any way.  I have both IR controlled devices as well as an RS232 receiver.  None of them respond in any way...

After clicking on one of the media scenarios, the orbiter locks up for a couple seconds, then returns back to the same screen and does not show any different status on the screen.  I do not get transferred to the remote control interface on the orbiter as occurs when things are working as they should.  Also, the selected device does not appear in the leftmost box as occurs when things function normally.

Is adding a squeezebox or a MD the only way to get this working?

Is there any useful feedback I can provide?