Author Topic: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia  (Read 745 times)

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« on: June 07, 2014, 11:14:41 pm »
Hi,

Just a heads up.

if you want things to go a little smoother, (save yourself a bunch of PITA, grrr, grrr, you dumb a$$), do your editing for  /etc/samba/smb.conf to include "client lanman auth = yes" and "service smbd restart", before you power up your NAS for auto-detection.

Follow your install notes.  If you don't have any - write some, and follow them.

Cheers.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2014, 07:25:07 am »
Thanks, have you filed a bug in trac? We'll fix this. :)

-Thom

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2014, 06:43:45 am »
Has this been filed in trac yet?

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2014, 03:31:06 pm »
Hi,

I have not filed a trac ticket (yet).  I've tried auto-detection a couple of times on re-installs without adding client lanman in smb.conf.

I have yet to find a way to get around "the mistake" and have the system function properly.

My "dev" box is totally messed up right now with 12.04 and 14.04 (I've been trying things and screwed the loads up real good).

What I will try again and make some comprehensive (I hope) notes and add them to this topic.

Sorry for forgetting about this thread.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2974
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2014, 04:05:52 pm »
This fix is in svn

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2014, 04:21:50 pm »
OK, thanks for that.

Cheers. :)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2014, 06:26:17 pm »
I got a NAS, which I used in a previous install with once-restructure (8.10). Now running 10.04 I wanted to reactivate the NAS, unchanged configuration, but it doesn't get detected. I modified smb.conf, restarted everything, but no change.

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #7 on: July 14, 2014, 02:11:35 pm »
Hi,

On 12.04 if you don't have client lanman setup in global parameters with username/password you can end up with symbolic link errors.

System security has been beefed up on 12.04

On 10.04 you can still be open on your NAS - no username/password required.

What type/make of NAS are you using?

Cheers

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2014, 05:17:51 pm »
I have a Seagate blackarmor 220 NAS.

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2014, 01:56:46 pm »
Hi,

What software are you running on it, windows discovery, Mac or Lenny?

Just to verify, you are using LMCE directory structure?

Are you presently using username/password for NAS login?

Is your NAS on the LMCE network connected via a switching hub via ethernet or another method?

Cheers

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #10 on: July 15, 2014, 04:00:58 pm »
The NAS is connected via a gigabit Ethernet switch together with all the rest. It is configured for public access, no username, no password needed. It also uses lmce-filestructure.
Software is the standard firmware from Seagate...no modifications. In theory, on would assume, that everything should be working, unfortunately once disagrees.

One other question comes to mind: when does updatemedia actually run? I'm asking, because so far I always have to manually add new files to the database or hit synchronize. I checked the status of updatemedia and it was stopped.when I start it, it will run for a while and stops again...so is there a fixed intervals, or a trigger?

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #11 on: July 15, 2014, 08:08:15 pm »
Hi,

UpdateMedia runs automatically.

Have you tried using top from a terminal window [  <ctrl/alt> F1  ] just to see if UpdateMedia is running?

Cheers.

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #12 on: July 15, 2014, 08:34:04 pm »
Hi,

I'm installing another HDD into my "play" system.

I'm going to install 10.04 and change my NAS to no username/password.

We'll see what happens.

Cheers.

pigdog

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 999
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #13 on: July 15, 2014, 11:09:26 pm »
Hi,

I have a 2 bay NAS.  One drive was setup without a password and one with.

At this point I am curious.  Was your NAS detected at all?  Mine was, no problem.

UpdateMedia ran immediately and discovered my videos.

If your NAS wasn't discovered at all, try cabling, I've had some weird issues happen with my ethernet cables.

Does ifconfig show eth assignments correctly?  Can you get to the weather channel via Advanced>Computing>Weather?

I have setup my NAS with my LMCE username, not 'public' as a username.

I hope that there's something in there that can help.

Please advise.

Cheers.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 543
    • View Profile
Re: NAS Detection/UpdateMedia
« Reply #14 on: July 16, 2014, 11:40:52 am »
The NAS simply does not get discovered. It gets an IP address from echo and I can access it from my Windows box...lmce..no go so far. However I checked for unknown devices. I will just unblock them all and hope that will kick it into gear.
----------------------
Update: I changed the cable on the NAS, rebooted it, threw out all unknown devices and waited. The only thing that showed up was this bogus dlink530 device...
« Last Edit: July 16, 2014, 12:44:12 pm by maverick0815 »