Author Topic: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?  (Read 1105 times)

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« on: March 24, 2014, 09:51:58 am »
I added a squeezeslave device on 'Wizard | A/V Equipment', put it in a room, set the 'Alsa Output Device', gave it a MAC, updated it and reloaded the router. It added as device 105. The process does not appear to be running. I get no loggin in the file:
Code: [Select]
# ls -lia /var/log/pluto/105*
ls: cannot access /var/log/pluto/105*: No such file or directory

I tried adding some extra logging as described in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Logging_levels to /etc/pluto.conf (currently am on LogLevels = 1,5,7,8,10,13,22,29,30,34 ) and reloaded the router but I am not sure which ones are appropriate. Slim log (/var/log/pluto/58_Slim_Server_Streamer.log) saids it is creating the device and it is an unknown type. Any suggestions?

Code: [Select]
========== NEW LOG SECTION ==========
1       03/24/14 09:39:03       58 (spawning-device)    Starting... 1
1       03/24/14 09:39:03       58 (spawning-device)    Found /usr/pluto/bin/Slim_Server_Streamer
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.165            Device: 58 starting.  Connecting to: localhost <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.177            Setting timeout for socket 4 to 20 <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.222            Requesthandler 0x85b1800 (device: 58) runThread now running <0xb65ffb40>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            App_Server started <0xb6ff2700>
05      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Trying to connect to SlimServer at address: 127.0.0.1:9090 <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            We have made a successful connection to the slim server on 127.0.0.1:9090. Life is good. <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Connect OK <0xb6ff2700>
05      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Creating child 105 <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Got CreateEvent for unknown type 2148. <0xb6ff2700>
05      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2148 that this has no custom event handler for.  It will not fire events. <0xb6ff2700>
10      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Got CreateCommand for unknown type 2148. <0xb6ff2700>
05      03/24/14 9:39:03.260            Note: Device manager has attached a device of type 2148 that this has no custom handler for.  This is normal for IR. <0xb6ff2700>

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 01:48:48 pm »
Have you verified that squeezeslave can actually start with the parameters you've supplied in your device?
What happens when you start an instance in a terminal with the same parameters?

-Coley.

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 02:10:47 pm »
I tried that and that seems to work:

Code: [Select]
~# /usr/pluto/bin/LaunchSqueezeslave.sh -d 105
Device  server
Device 105 server dcerouter
Starting squeezeslave: /usr/bin/squeezeslave  -o7 -m00:00:00:00:70:07 dcerouter
^C~#

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2014, 01:14:47 pm »
It seems to be an issue - I don't see them autostart on my 12.04 core.
I had to start them via rc.local on 10.04 as per the wiki - or at least I set them up initially that way. I'm guessing the DT has been updated since as it now has a launch script.

-Coley.

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2014, 03:23:00 pm »
Ok. so its not me ;-).

I filed a ticket: http://trac.linuxmce.org/trac/ticket/2108

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
    • View Profile
Re: Where to debug squeezeslave not starting?
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2014, 09:56:48 pm »
phenigma explained that this is by design. Currently you need to add the template as a child device of the Core or a MD (instead of adding it via the Wizard | A/V Equipment because then it will be a child of Slim Streaming Server and wont get started) and then set the configuration (output device, MAC) and after a quick reload router it works.