Author Topic: Zone2 implementation of receiver  (Read 867 times)

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
Zone2 implementation of receiver
« on: March 19, 2014, 04:34:00 pm »
Is there a preferred way of implementing a zone2 on a receiver when that is used for squeezelite/squeezeslave? I would like to be able to control the volume and turn the amp on and off for squeezelite.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5527
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 05:06:18 pm »
You will need to study the Yamaha RX-Vx000 (RS232) template, as it has two zones in it.

What you want, is possible, but I don't have that knowledge swapped into my brain at the moment, and I forgot the process and issues on setting that up.

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3441
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2014, 08:31:39 pm »
iirc you add another Denon to your tree and make it controlled by the main denon receiver. see if that helps.
Currently on my way in the North Eastern United States - If I helped you, feel free to buy me a coffee: https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=2VKASZLTJH7ES

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1105
    • View Profile
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2014, 04:40:47 am »
Hi,

What is the make and model of your receiver?

Cheers.

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #4 on: March 20, 2014, 07:38:41 am »
this is a denon avr 2807. I also have a marantz

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 907
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #5 on: March 20, 2014, 08:28:17 pm »
Hi,

I'm using Marantz with two zones, but I'm on Dianemo. I'm not sure, but I remember using two zones on Marantz also under LMCE... If I remember right, I've extended existing Audio Zone device a bit, and then added 2 of them along with FM receiver to Marantz receiver - of course I had to write program in Ruby also....

Maybe there is implementation in LMCE somewhere - I remember that two templates existed for Marantz - one with one zone and mine with two....

I've wrote description of setup here, but probably it's outdated....
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Marantz_SR5600


HTH,
Bulek.

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
Multizone audio and pipes
« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2014, 08:14:14 am »
Anyone can explain me how zone2's on an amp have to be configured pipe wise?.
I added an AMP device with 2 childs (Zone Main & Zone 2). Then I set the AUDIO pipe of Zone Main to the AMP/DVD in room 'living' and set AUDIO pipe of Zone 2 to AMP/VDP in room 'kitchen'. The hybrid has its AUDIO pipe to AMP/DVD and I set the squeezeslave in the kitchen to AMP/VDP.

This is probably wrong because when I do this and play music on squeezeslave the kitchen then I get sound in the living and cmd.devidto_ gives me the device of the AMP and not the Zone 2. This seems logical cause after all I connected the kitchen squeezeslave to the AMP. I would have expected to be able to connect it to the zone somehow but apparently it works differently and I cannot figure out how.

How does lmce know which zone on the amp to use and how to configure that?

Esperanto

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
Re: Multizone audio and pipes
« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2014, 02:41:31 pm »
It keeps getting weirder. It now displays that squeezekitchen is connected to Zone2 VDP (and seems to control it) but when I press edit pipes I cannot select it. See attachments.

uplink

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 192
  • Linux and LinuxMCE witchdoctor
    • View Profile
Re: Zone2 implementation of receiver
« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2014, 02:54:58 am »
So, pretty much this: http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac/ticket/2100. I did one part of it. The code is not DRY, so there's at least another part (operations/myDevices/editDeviceParams.php) that needs a similar change.