Author Topic: Small LMCE screen size (Resolved on Mar. 25 48288 load).  (Read 403 times)

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Small LMCE screen size (Resolved on Mar. 25 48288 load).
« on: March 15, 2014, 09:24:15 pm »
Hi,

In 12.04 with CRT and VGA screen I had this issue...

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=13459.0  see reply #6

...(CRT/VGA/8400GS) and I managed to get around it.

Now I am using completely different hardware (HDTV monitor (1680x1050 max), DVI/8500GS) and adding a modeline and modes either kicks me out to command prompt - no X window and I am provided with a small LMCE window.

I have tried AVWizard in various configuration 1080, 720, etc. but no luck.

I have tried various xorg.conf setups.

When I go to KDE desktop (via LMCE menu) the KDE screen is properly rendered.  Only LMCE screen is small.

Cheers.
« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 03:04:50 pm by pigdog »

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size.
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 09:35:43 pm »
Hi,

After a reload from scratch/restart my display is a mess - just weird video artifacts.

After less than 5 minutes the system reboots into the GNU GRUB menu.  I choose Ubuntu, with Linux 3.2.0-60-generic and system goes through setup process.

Don't forget to check your network config.

cheers.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size.
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 12:46:50 am »
Hi,

After initial setup if I restart the system my screen goes wonkers but my LMCE setup screens eventually appear.

The messed up screen is the Kubuntu 12.04 load screen.

Cheers

bushtech

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size.
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 07:20:08 am »
I am also getting that weird screen. Had me worried until it booted through it.
Core:Asus P8H77-V, Intel core i3-3240 LGA155, Inno 3D Nvidia 240 GT (DVI+VGA+HDMI), 4Gb ram, 125Gb SSD
MD: Zotax Zbox ID41

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size.
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2014, 01:08:14 pm »
Hi,

Does your screen come up the proper size and what did you pick as a size during AVWizard?

Thanks.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size.
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2014, 03:11:01 pm »
If there is no xorg.conf, the first screen of avwiz is sized small on some displays. Once you hit OK and select an appropriate size, it should be fixed.
I never quit... I just ping out.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Small LMCE screen size (Resolved on Mar. 25 48288 load).
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2014, 03:06:30 pm »
Hi,

Did the Mar. 25 48288 release.

Went through AVWizard, chose my screen size and everything came up fine on new (to me) hardware.

Thanks.