Author Topic: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore  (Read 447 times)

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« on: December 30, 2013, 10:37:54 am »
Hi,

After doing a upgrade with the lastest pluto-boot-script and mce-diskless-tool (lmce 1004), audio over hdmi does not work anymore on 2 of my MDs (Ion and Ion2 motherboard).
I have try AVWizard to resolve those but have no success.

I also used the asound.conf.pbackup (it specifies the device in addition to the card, ex:plughw:0,3) on the MD but it does not solve anything.

Brief for the moment I do not understand what is happening.
Assistance would be welcome ;-)

Greetings
Philippe









CentralMedia

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 10:45:18 am »
Hi Philippe

What does aplay -l or aplay -L show you?

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2013, 10:55:13 am »
Hi,
aplay -l give me:

Ion motherboard
Code: [Select]

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC662 rev1 Analog [ALC662 rev1 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 1: ALC662 rev1 Digital [ALC662 rev1 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


Ion2 motherboard:
Code: [Select]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: NVIDIA HDMI [NVIDIA HDMI]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2013, 10:15:11 pm »
Hello. I changed everything. However everything should work now much better... not expecting things to NOT work. Esp going through AVWizard.

cat /etc/asound.conf 
Paste here please.

Dropping into IRC would probably be very helpful, and a lot faster.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2013, 10:46:02 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

pga57

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2013, 08:51:18 am »
Hi,

I have no doubt that the changes needed to improve the system but for now it does not work for me. ;-)

Here the asound.conf for the 2 MDs:

Ion:
Code: [Select]
root@moon90:~# cat /etc/asound.conf
</etc/pluto/alsa/virtual_cards.conf>

pcm_slave.hdmi_convert48k {
        pcm "plughw:0"
        rate 48000
}

pcm.hdmi_playback {
        type plug
        slave hdmi_convert48k
}

pcm.asym_hdmi {
        type asym
        playback.pcm "hdmi_playback"
        capture.pcm "plughw:0"
}

pcm.!default asym_hdmi


Ion2:
Code: [Select]
root@moon20:~# cat /etc/asound.conf
</etc/pluto/alsa/virtual_cards.conf>

pcm_slave.hdmi_convert48k {
        pcm "plughw:"
        rate 48000
}

pcm.hdmi_playback {
        type plug
        slave hdmi_convert48k
}

pcm.asym_hdmi {
        type asym
        playback.pcm "hdmi_playback"
        capture.pcm "plughw:"
}

pcm.!default asym_hdmi

I've join the irc linuxmce channel (pga57)

Thank's for your help.

Philippe

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2013, 05:56:57 pm »
I missed you.

I am here now. Something is going pretty wrong there.

Found it. Change line 284 from
if [[ "$AlternateSC" -ne "2" && "$AudioSetting" -ne "S" ]]; then
to
if [[ "$AlternateSC" -ne "2" && "$AudioSetting" != "S" ]]; then


Cannot do math with letters. DERP!

Your moon is weird... please make the change and take it through AVWiz again.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2013, 06:02:40 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Audio over HDMI does not work anymore
« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2013, 11:02:33 pm »
This is now solved. More things have been fixed. Everything should be happy happy happy. Repo will be updated in the next day or so.

Sorry for the breakage.
I never quit... I just ping out.