Author Topic: gc100 and rs232 control  (Read 2847 times)

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #45 on: December 11, 2013, 10:56:40 pm »
Looks like you need to go into advanced on each of the AV devices, and make sure the correct Entertainment Area is checked.

-Thom

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #46 on: December 11, 2013, 11:35:29 pm »
I've done that.  For every AV device I have them set to Manually Configure EA, I have the correct EA checked and I have them placed in the correct room...

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #47 on: December 11, 2013, 11:47:23 pm »
I only have a single EA that I set up myself as a non-pluto TV EA

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #48 on: December 11, 2013, 11:48:27 pm »
Very strange, it's failing because it can't find pipes for your scenario.

-Thom

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #49 on: December 11, 2013, 11:52:58 pm »
so is there anywhere I can go from here?  Should I try to get my hands on a MD?  I was hoping not to have to use one... I mostly just want to be able to control my AV equipment, I don't have the need for the multimedia features an MD provides.

CentralMedia

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #50 on: December 12, 2013, 12:02:42 am »
I did not have to keep on the MD (the pc), its back working as my sons pc, all went as expected when created the MD though, now when I click the scenario that was pre-configured before the MD, it switch the tv as expected and a sound bar I also have and puts on the cable box

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #51 on: December 12, 2013, 03:47:12 am »
This is where remote assistance would come in handy, unfortunately, we've disabled it because it's not very secure, and nobody has come up with a replacement yet...

Is there a way I can remotely connect to your web admin, so I can see what's going on ?

-Thom

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #52 on: December 12, 2013, 08:04:18 am »
yeah I can get you in remotely, I'll let you use ssh and port forwarding to see the webmin.  Let me know when a good time for you is and I'll do my best to be available...

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #53 on: December 12, 2013, 08:06:57 am »
if you send me your email I will email you the credentials to get in, I just don't want to post the credentials in the forum for the whole world to see

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #54 on: December 12, 2013, 02:05:24 pm »

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #55 on: January 28, 2014, 09:58:21 pm »
well I've started all over again with a fresh install of the latest 12.04 dvd image and now I have an extra PC to use as a media director in the room I am trying to control the AV equipment in.

A scenario now appears for my cable box on the orbiter screen so that is progress.  I am guessing that is because I now have a dedicated media director in the room.  Clicking on it just turns my orbiter screen black on my tv and the cable box input is not selected on my receiver as hoped.

I believe I have identified the problem though

after launching the scenario I see this

cat /var/log/pluto/socat_ttyS_48_0.log
2014/01/28 15:38:07.227962  length=8 from=586 to=593
.30110F.> 2014/01/28 15:38:07.427839  length=8 from=594 to=601
.301210.> 2014/01/28 15:38:16.232581  length=8 from=602 to=609
.30110E.> 2014/01/28 15:38:16.465356  length=8 from=610 to=617
.30120F.< 2014/01/28 15:41:20.038248  length=21 from=24 to=44
x02x00x37x38x37x45x03< 2014/01/28 15:41:27.066101  length=21 from=45 to=65
x02x00x37x38x44x30x03< 2014/01/28 15:41:29.079447  length=21 from=66 to=86
x02x00x37x38x37x45x03< 2014/01/28 15:41:36.098627  length=21 from=87 to=107
x02x00x37x38x32x41x03


My scenario is the output from 15:41...

It appears I am doing something wrong with the ruby commands.  Earlier in the output you can see the results of sending commands with /usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort and you can see they look much different.

I am attempting to use ruby snippets like the following in the device template for my receiver:
conn_.Send("x02x00x37x38x37x45x03")

And as you can see they are not producing well formed output.  Can anyone help me with the ruby?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #56 on: January 28, 2014, 10:25:59 pm »
you need to do \xXX\xXX\xXX ... note the backslash.

-Thom

mikeybs

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 57
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #57 on: June 13, 2014, 10:36:39 pm »
I had this working for months and now all of a sudden it has stopped working...

I am able to send the receiver commands with success if I use /usr/pluto/bin/TestSerialPort

but the commands no longer work if I use MessageSend

I'm not sure what could have happened.  The COM port on device is still defined correctly.  The setup appears to be unchanged from what I can tell...

Here is the output in the DCERouter log when I attempt to turn off the receiver using MessageSend


08   06/13/14 16:31:01.131      Received Message from 0 (unknown / ) to 52 (YSP5100 / Home Theater), type 1 id 193 Command:Off, retry none, parameters: <0x70176b40>
08   06/13/14 16:31:01.131        Parameter 97(PK_Pipe): -1 <0x70176b40>
05   06/13/14 16:31:01.181      Socket::ReceiveData 0xb4cca670 failed, bytes left 0 start: 5410000 1: 0 1b: 0 2: 0 2b: 0 m_Socket: 163 Incoming_Conn Socket 163 ::ffff:192.168.60.222 <0x70176b40>
05   06/13/14 16:31:01.181      Socket::ReceiveString2 ReceiveData failed m_Socket: -1 Incoming_Conn Socket 163 ::ffff:192.168.60.222 <0x70176b40>
05   06/13/14 16:31:01.181      TCPIP: Closing connection to -1003 (Router Dev #0) 0xb4cca670 m_Socket: -1 <0x70176b40>
05   06/13/14 16:31:01.181      Router::RemoveAndDeleteSocket 0xb4cca670 -1003 <0x70176b40>

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5496
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: gc100 and rs232 control
« Reply #58 on: June 14, 2014, 05:44:32 pm »
The PK_Pipe=-1 is suspicious... do any of your commands in the scenarios fill in the pk_pipe command parameter?

-Thom