Author Topic: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius  (Read 244 times)

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« on: November 06, 2014, 10:03:40 pm »
Recently I bought a CT100 thermostat and it have it configured and responding via ZWave

The device is detected as a "Standard Thermostat" device template.

When I try to set heating/cooling setpoint temp it seems to interpret values as Fahrenheit even though in webadmin it says setpoint values are Celcius. How can I modify the behavior to allow Celcius values to be sent?

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 01:22:10 pm »
Anyone?  Is this a case of needing to make a non - generic template specifically for this thermostat?

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 448
    • View Profile
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 08:50:35 am »
There is nothing in the template that decides what unit the temperature is interpreted as. All my devices works as expected (I also use Celsius) and I don't recall having to do anything special.  But I do think some devices has a configuration setting to toggle the unit it interprets values as - you should read the manual for your device.

br,
sambuca

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2014, 10:15:33 am »
I checked the install manual for the device, and it only talks about Fahrenheit. You might want to check with the manufacturer if and how to change between Fahrenheit and Celsius.

acald

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2014, 12:12:16 am »
There is nothing in the template that decides what unit the temperature is interpreted as. All my devices works as expected (I also use Celsius) and I don't recall having to do anything special.  But I do think some devices has a configuration setting to toggle the unit it interprets values as - you should read the manual for your device.

br,
sambuca
http://www.connectctc.com/CTC_Support/documents/smart-home/Smart-Thermostat-User-Guide.pdf

See page 5

As far as I can tell from the documentation, the device allows you to switch display units but not the units it expects as input via ZWave.

Given this, I assume I'm out of luck until/unless some conversion code gets implemented somewhere in LMCE.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2014, 12:19:48 am »
Did you check with the manufacturer?

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
Re: CT100 ZWave Thermostat Fahrenheit vs Celcius
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2014, 03:13:28 am »
Did you check with the manufacturer?

Emailed a while ago, waiting to hear back.