Author Topic: Who can I help with the Mythtv 'install' package  (Read 9803 times)

ardirtbiker

• Guru
    • View Profile
Who can I help with the Mythtv 'install' package
« on: September 12, 2016, 02:12:01 am »
Hey guys,
I am not a programmer, but I am a problem solver.   The recent update messed up my 'tweak' on the mythtv files on my MD...   I can fix them in a few minutes, but I want to provide some feedback/input into getting it set to work correctly.

here is what I have figured out:
On the CORE, everything works great..   the /etc/mythtv/config.xml file and the /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt work great.
On the MD:  there are several things Ive noticed:
     1.    the user mythtv needs to have the same uid and gid as the CORE's mythtv user (because the home folder is a nfs mount from the core)
     2.    Each MD gets a unique <Password> in the /etc/mythtv/config.xml (by default on mythtv install i am assuming)  This <Password> can stay
            what it is, but also needs to be the same as the DBPassword in the /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt file,   AND it needs to be the same password for
            the mysql user mythtv@192.168.1.xx (MD iP address).
     3.    On any MD, the <Host> in /etc/mythtv/config.xml  and DBHostname in /etc/mythtv/mysql.txt NEEDS to be dcerouter

Note:  if the default password in /etc/mythtv/config.xml is used, it wont need to be changed in Mythtv Setup.

I can provide my files if anyone wants/needs to see them.

Hope this helps.

Dennis

ardirtbiker

• Guru
    • View Profile
Re: Who can I help with the Mythtv 'install' package
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 03:05:25 pm »
Forgot something.  Once mythtv user uid and gid are changed, file ownerships will need to be fixed (in /etc/mythtv)...   maybe the mythtv user should be created ahead of the install of mythbackend

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

phenigma

• LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 09:21:23 pm »