Author Topic: Geforce GT610  (Read 3832 times)

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2013, 02:31:58 pm »
Hi maverick0815,

Did you try to upgrade your kernel as ardirtbiker suggested?


Cheers

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2013, 05:52:46 pm »
I'm afraid not..I only got upgrades via apt-get...so I'm afraid my expertise and my confidence currently don't reach that far. I went to the irc last night and hope that l3mce can shed some light on the situation.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2013, 08:27:59 pm »
Hi,

If there is a newer kernel you may need to use dist-upgrade.


Cheers

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 249
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2013, 01:52:48 am »
If you do an 'apt-cache search linux-image-2.6.38' you should get a list...   I installed both the linux-image and linux headers for 2.6.38-16-generic.. which then allowed me to use my hdmi audio.   The upgrade will install grub-common, grub-pc and another package (all three can be removed).   After installing the new kernel you will need to fix the permissions on the files in /boot and you will need to fix the links in /boot for vmlinuz and initrd.img to point to the new files.  Nvidia-current may neet to be re-installed

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2013, 10:10:00 am »
okay...I did a dist-upgrade after installing the dcerouter...I'm not quite sure what kernel is installed there now, but I can check when I come home.
The other thing is, if  I still need the kernel-upgrade...how exactly do I fix the permissions and links?

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 249
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2013, 12:29:33 am »
On the permissions:   I had the new kernel image (vmlinuz-2.6.38-xx-generic) and the initrd.img (initrd.img-2.6.38-xx-generic) having permissions of
-rw--------- (chmod 600) but should be -rw--r---r-- (chmod 644)...  running ls -l in the \boot directory will show the file permission.   Running chmod 644 * will set all permissions to what is needed.

On the links:   run ls -l again in the \boot directory.  Note the current vmlinuz > /usr/pluto/diskless/ (blah blah) and the initrd.img > /usr/pluto/diskless/ (blah blah).   You will also see the newer kernel and initrd.img file (with the new version info at the end)   run the command

ln -sf /usr/pluto/diskless/MM/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38-vv-generic vmlinuz   (where MM is your Media Director number and vv is whatever number you have in the file name.)

do the same for initrd.img:   ln -sf /usr/pluto/diskless/MM/boot/initrd.img-2.6.38-vv-generic initrd.img


I am not 100% certain the two links need to be set because on the CORE/HYBRID in the /tftpboot/MM directory the links actually point to the initrd.img and vmlinuz files in the root directory on the media director (/usr/pluto/diskless/MM/initrd.img and /usr/pluto/diskless/MM/vmlinuz).  So, on the media director, you need to do a ln -sf for both the initrd.img and vmlinuz files   (make sure you're in the root directory on the MD):

ln -sf boot/initrd.img-2.6.38-vv-generic initrd.img
ln -sf boot/vmlinuz-2.6.38-vv-generic vmlinuz

Here is what I have in the root directory of my MD (number is 83)
Code: [Select]
root@moon83:/# ls -l
total 80
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Feb  3 09:17 bin
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  4096 Apr  9 19:32 boot
drwxr-xr-x  18 root root  4960 Apr 29 16:34 dev
drwxr-xr-x 144 root root 12288 Apr 29 16:34 etc
drwxr-xr-x  27 root root  4096 Feb  2 07:40 home
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    36 Apr  9 17:51 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    36 Mar 30 08:41 initrd.img.old -> boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
drwxr-xr-x  21 root root 16384 Apr  9 18:33 lib
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Nov 26 21:08 media
drwxr-xr-x   4 root root  4096 Feb  2 07:40 mnt
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  4096 Apr 27 16:33 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 225 root root     0 Apr 29 16:34 proc
drwx------  23 root root  4096 May  3 17:25 root
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Apr  9 17:36 sbin
drwxr-xr-x   2 root root  4096 Dec  5  2009 selinux
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root  4096 Feb  2 18:43 srv
drwxr-xr-x  13 root root     0 Apr 29 16:34 sys
drwxrwxrwt   6 root root  4096 May  3 17:24 tmp
drwxr-xr-x  14 root root  4096 Mar 30 09:04 usr
drwxr-xr-x  15 root root  4096 Nov 26 20:52 var
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    33 Apr  9 17:51 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    33 Mar 30 08:41 vmlinuz.old -> boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-30-generic-pae

and in the boot directory (note that I am actually running a 3.0.0-30 version kernel --- i experiment alot):
Code: [Select]
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2127326 Jan  7 11:12 System.map-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  2128459 Mar 22 13:49 System.map-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   774843 Jan  7 11:12 abi-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   774951 Mar 22 13:49 abi-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   142100 Jan  7 11:12 config-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   142100 Mar 22 13:49 config-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root     4096 Mar 30 08:46 grub
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       59 Apr  9 18:50 initrd.img -> /usr/pluto/diskless/83/boot/initrd.img-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 14000371 Feb  3 17:50 initrd.img-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 13993859 Apr  9 19:31 initrd.img-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root     1215 Jan  7 11:13 vmcoreinfo-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root     1215 Mar 22 13:50 vmcoreinfo-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       56 Apr  9 18:49 vmlinuz -> /usr/pluto/diskless/83/boot/vmlinuz-3.0.0-32-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  4788528 Jan  7 11:12 vmlinuz-3.0.0-30-generic-pae
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root  4788400 Mar 22 13:49 vmlinuz-3.0.0-32-generic-pae

Im thinking some of the MASTER LMCE gurus may be gasping... :)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2013, 01:42:17 pm »
So far doing the core- thats where the geforce card is being used- worked okay. I got hdmi sound now.
On the other hand...do I need to do the same procedure on the md, or do I just need to fix the links? I though just running Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh and create a new MD might do, but it seems that it is still creating an image for 2.6.32-46

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 249
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2013, 01:52:38 pm »
I dont know if the Diskless_CreateTBZ script will actually include the newer kernel.   I have only needed to upgrade my MD.

Denns

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #23 on: May 04, 2013, 01:56:01 pm »
okay...so I will do it manually on the md, no problem...I think.
But thank you very much for your help...hdmi sound is now working :-)

ardirtbiker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 249
    • View Profile
Re: Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #24 on: May 04, 2013, 03:13:01 pm »
Awesome!  Great work..

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #25 on: May 04, 2013, 07:19:59 pm »
it seems that I missed something along the lines by uprading the kernel on my md...right now it says "could not find kernel image: 39vmlinuz"

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3059
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2013, 07:36:34 pm »
make sure the rights are set correct.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2013, 07:39:28 pm »
I will just try again...rebuilding the image now.
The other thing I just checked again, AVWizard gave me sound on hdmi...but so far nothing else...so I will take the soundblaster card out now and try again. I think that should do it. The only thing is the kernelupgrade takes like forever on an atom...better it was an ariel atom instead ;-D

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2013, 10:33:40 am »
Everything is A-OK now :-) Thanks for the help, guys.

Sergdill

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Geforce GT610
« Reply #29 on: May 07, 2013, 03:22:07 pm »
Everything is A-OK now :-) Thanks for the help, guys.
maverick0815, so what was the problem .