Author Topic: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)  (Read 1147 times)

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« on: April 01, 2013, 10:15:59 am »
Hi everyone,
I am setting up additional rooms with audio and have been attempting to setup new Squeezeslaves following the directions on the Dianemo S wiki page using some usb sound cards similar to the startac 7.1. I have previously been able to setup an iPad running iPeng and also easily setup a headless softsqueeze player on a windows pc both work very nicely. However, I cannot get the squeezeslaves to be recognised on LMS, and therefore play. I think it is a mac addressing issue (from looking at the errors in the log for the slim server streamer), but as far as I can tell this shouldn't be the case. Each new slave has a mac that is unique and the squeezeslave and player have the same details. I have a single Slim Server streamer which is working for the iPad and the soft squeeze.

Any help in the right direction would be appreciated.

Thanks

Garath

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 11:46:14 am »
what is the output of
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep squeezeslave on your core when you have the squeezeslaves set up?

-Coley.

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2013, 09:44:28 am »
Hi Coley,
Output below:

dianemo@dcerouter:~$ ps aux | grep squeezeslave
dianemo  24520  0.0  0.0   4392   832 pts/35   S+   17:42   0:00 grep --color=au                   
to squeezeslave
dianemo@dcerouter:~$

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2013, 10:02:46 am »
That shows you have no squeezeslaves running on your core. In my setup I have two zones set up and as a result have two slaves running. Here is the output on my system:
Code: [Select]
coley@dcerouter:~$ ps aux | grep squeezeslave
root      9637  0.0  0.2  60248  6336 ?        Ssl  Mar22   8:03 /usr/bin/squeezeslave -o0 -m 00:04:20:16:4c:6c -r5 -M/var/log/squeezeslave_0.log
root     18807  1.2  0.1  51432  6160 ?        Ssl  Mar23 189:59 /usr/bin/squeezeslave -o1 -m 00:04:20:16:4c:6b -r5 -M/var/log/squeezeslave_1.log
coley    20414  0.0  0.0   3344   904 pts/0    S+   08:56   0:00 grep --color=auto squeezeslave
Can you double check the steps you took match the wiki?
what is the output of
Code: [Select]
aplay -l on your core?

-Coley.

Garbui

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2013, 10:14:43 am »
Hi Coley,
Thanks for the help with that, starting to make much more sense.
I used the Dianemo S wiki page [http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_S#Adding_SqueezeSlave_Devices] i just reviewed the Linuxmce Squeezelave page and there are many more steps than what i have taken following the Dianemo page.  Particularly in relation to editing /etc/rc.local Without knowing the differences between Dianemo and Linuxmce in this instance, is it necessary to modify rc.local?

aplay -l returned no sound cards found

Thanks

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
    • View Profile
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2013, 02:13:21 pm »
Oh, try the aplay command again, but this time with sudo
Code: [Select]
sudo aplay -lmight get a bit more info :)
I use linuxmce so don't know the finer differences between Dianemo and lmce here.

-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4392
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2013, 12:40:37 pm »
Hi Coley,
Thanks for the help with that, starting to make much more sense.
I used the Dianemo S wiki page [http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_S#Adding_SqueezeSlave_Devices] i just reviewed the Linuxmce Squeezelave page and there are many more steps than what i have taken following the Dianemo page.  Particularly in relation to editing /etc/rc.local Without knowing the differences between Dianemo and Linuxmce in this instance, is it necessary to modify rc.local?

aplay -l returned no sound cards found

Thanks

We've automated much more of the process so thats why setup of Squeezeslaves is simpler in Dianemo. Sounds like you've missed a step out somewhere. After adding the Squeezeslave devices and filling in the device data did you do a reload and then run;

Code: [Select]
sudo /usr/pluto/bin/Start_SqueezeBox_Slaves.sh
If your still stuck...PM or email me with your installation ID and I will use Remote Assistance to take a quick look at your system.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4392
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2013, 02:47:57 pm »
Your Sound cards are detected and listed ok and everything looks to be configured ok too. aplay -l outputs;

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_31437:~# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Set [USB Headphone Set], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 2: Set_1 [USB Headphone Set], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 3: Set_2 [USB Headphone Set], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

But as soon as a squeezeslave starts up it dies. Which makes me think Squeezeslave is not happy with your USB sound card. Have you had these sound cards working before? Do you have a different card to use as a test of that theory?

All the best

Andrew
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 02:55:07 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4392
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Squeezeslaves on Core (Dianemo S)
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2013, 03:23:11 pm »
I think I know what the problem is;

You did not virtualise your sound card before using it. I'll virtualise one of your cards for you and re-test it...

Right I've virtualised one of your USB soundcards (see your Web admin for my changes that follow the Dianemo wiki section on virtualising soundcards). OK now tested and now your Squeezeslave does not die and looks to be working in LMS.

All the best

Andrew
« Last Edit: April 05, 2013, 03:43:42 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk