Author Topic: 8400gs resolution  (Read 765 times)

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
8400gs resolution
« on: March 27, 2013, 10:19:36 pm »
I got myself a new projector -optoma hd300x- and hooked it up to my core via HDMI-cable. Right now my problem is, that I cannot get a higher resolution than 1024x768. Any higher than that and it will always revert.
So I was wondering, how I can get this to comply. Does anyone have an idea?

On a side note, I have a audigy 2 zs in my core too, which I have trouble with spdif coax sound. in alsamixer, i only see spdif optical and if I turn it off, I get sound on coax, but trying dts for example gives me nasty hissing sounds. I know l3mce said he is working on it ( god knows, he is working on a lot of stuff).
« Last Edit: March 27, 2013, 10:24:28 pm by maverick0815 »

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: 8400gs resolution
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 01:38:06 am »
Hi,

Did you re-run AVWizard and R U 10.04?

Thanks.

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: 8400gs resolution
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 06:26:57 am »
Thats an affirmative to both. When I run the avwizard, the picture  doesn't fit to the screen.

pigdog

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1008
    • View Profile
Re: 8400gs resolution
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2013, 01:35:18 pm »
Hi,

Have you tried deleting the xorg.conf?

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: 8400gs resolution
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2013, 02:23:58 pm »
Not yet..

maverick0815

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: 8400gs resolution
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2013, 12:41:15 am »
okay...I got it. I had quite a day so far. I downloaded the final release of 10.04 and wanted to use the opportunity to get rid of my old mainboard (939dualvsta) and install something newer..some intel board with a core2duo. As it turns out, this one had already uefi boot...and neither enabled or disabled could get me to boot the installed harddrive. So with a heavy heart I reinstalled my old mainboard. With a little trickery I got the proper resolution running.

Now my only remaining problem ist getting some sound..the audigy won't do, so I'll try a different one, with the hope that lmce will be able to use it.