Author Topic: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i  (Read 825 times)

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« on: March 02, 2013, 10:12:29 am »
Hi All,
I know I am trouble for combining multiple issues in the one thread though I thought it all relates to the same thing 1004

As per tschak909 Tom's suggestion in one my previous posts to move to 1004 I bit the bullet and downloaded 1004 final and installed it on a standalone network with internet so it did not upset my existing 810 setup and below are the results and I am interested in any feedback or suggestions


 1 . After installing 1004 successfully (Great work from everyone much slicker) I moved my QNAP TS-869 over to the test environment and 1004 found it straight away so I added all the shares and made them public as they were discovered though when I click on any of them in an orbiter no files are present despite doing a resync in the media browser.

2. My AXIS IP M1011 cameras that worked under motion wrapper perfectly in 810 now do not work in 1004 despite being set up exactly the same s in 810. I even tried the Advanced IP device template though both the motion wrapper and the advanced IP gave the same result of no image

3. I had limited success with the Atom n330i as a MD whilst it now does not have the kernel panic issue it take ages to boot up. In one of the reboots it did an update of nVidia graphics by itself and now when it finally boots up as a MD it has strange coloured blocks across the screen...........it was working until it did that update during one of the reboots

4. I need to use the QNAP for the future though before I move all my data off the 810 software RAID I want to make sure the QNAP works in 1004 and I have the right structure before I move the 5TB of content over to the QNAP so any help here would be much appreciated.

5. Finally if anybody can suggest how to make 810 find my QNAP as I changed it to DHCP as recommended and plugged it back into my 810 network and LMCE has yet to find it after 2 days

Regards
Beeker


posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2846
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 09:53:14 pm »
Re Motion wrapper: It is no longer really needed. Thanks to sambuca's advanced IP camera template, we no longer need the crouch motion.

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1080
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 01:14:01 am »
re nvidia

please give me the output of:
lspci -nn | grep VGA
dpkg-query -l  nvidia* | grep ^ii


QNAP never queried you? Unplug and plug it in again. Also check the ethernet cable going to the MD... make sure moving it to another location doesn't make it fast.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2013, 01:16:09 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 920
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2013, 11:43:04 pm »
5. Finally if anybody can suggest how to make 810 find my QNAP as I changed it to DHCP as recommended and plugged it back into my 810 network and LMCE has yet to find it after 2 days

Check in webadmin->Advanced->Configuration->Unknown Devices.  If you see the MAC address of the QNAP in that list then it will be ignored.  You can 'Unlock' it and then force a dhcp request on the qnap.

J.

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2013, 06:30:06 am »
Apologies to all that replied I am traveling at the moment so I will respond to all the posts this weekend, though I did manage to get the Qnap to be recognised by 810 after finding a previous post of how to get it to rescan 

jamo

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
    • View Profile
    • LMCE user Page
Re: 1004 - QNAP NAS - AXIS CAMERA - ATOM n330i
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2013, 08:39:29 am »
Re Motion wrapper: It is no longer really needed. Thanks to sambuca's advanced IP camera template, we no longer need the crouch motion.

Personally, I think I'd like to see zoneminder neatly integrated into LMCE. I've been experimenting a little with it and it looks really solid, powerful and extensible. If I could just clone myself (with a few enhancements ;-) I could spend some time on it. So many projects.