Author Topic: Why only vesa?  (Read 10157 times)

SciFi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #30 on: April 10, 2007, 02:15:15 pm »
Hi again

The problem is i cant install the drivers on either the core or media director. The drivers needs to be compiled and you cant install the compiled modules on the core because it does not have an nvidia card. And on the md a dont have the headers files + compiler for building the drivers. trying to install the restricted modules does not seem to work either.

I might try to copile the drivers on the core than manualy copy the modules to the md.

/Staffan

SciFi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #31 on: April 10, 2007, 07:46:31 pm »

Update

I managed to get the nvidia binary driver working by compiling it on the core then manually copy the modules + files to the media director :)

Now the big problem, getting mythtv to work

/Staffan

thynk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #32 on: April 19, 2007, 10:57:55 am »
I've got the same problem, hacking the Cards file didn't help.  I have a very generic GeForce 6500 256 that lshwd doesn't see as a valid card.  I've already manually installed the drivers before hand (with Envy) , edited the xorg.conf.pluto file but it kills it every time I edit it.  AVWizardDone = 1 is set in pluto.conf

Is there a way to hack the $%T$@$@SSS#@ Xconfigure script to force it to the nvidia driver? or not make changes to the .conf file (as I'm writing this, I am trying it out with exit; in the Xconfigure script  seems to be working so far, but it would be nice if it would play just a little bit nicer with unknown cards :-)

edit:after killing off the Xconfigure.sh script to keep it from editing the xorg.conf.pluto file I get the following errors...
Code: [Select]
1       04/19/07 04:35:46       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      Starting X server (client: /usr/bin/xfwm4; parms: --conpositor=off)
1       04/19/07 04:35:47       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      X server: backround; AlphaBlending: 1
1       04/19/07 04:35:48       Xconfigure (server)     Display Driver: nvidia
1       04/19/07 04:35:50       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      Starting X server (client: /usr/bin/xfwm4; parms: --conpositor=off)
1       04/19/07 04:35:51       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      X server: backround; AlphaBlending: 1
3       04/19/07 04:35:52       LaunchOrbiter (server)  xfwm4 failed to start
1       04/19/07 04:35:53       Xconfigure (server)     Display Driver: nvidia
1       04/19/07 04:35:56       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      Starting X server (client: /usr/bin/xfwm4; parms: --conpositor=off)
1       04/19/07 04:35:57       /usr/pluto/bin/Start_X.sh (server)      X server: backround; AlphaBlending: 1
3       04/19/07 04:35:58       19 (spawning-device)    Device died... count=33/50 dev=19
1       04/19/07 04:36:08       19 (spawning-device)    Starting... 34
1       04/19/07 04:36:08       19 (spawning-device)    Found ./LaunchOrbiter.sh

Here is the output from lshwd -id
Code: [Select]
dcerouter_13640:~# lshwd -id
00:00.0 10de:03ea:1849:03ea RAM memory: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:01.0 10de:03e0:1849:03e0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 LPC Bridge (unknown)
00:01.1 10de:03eb:1849:03eb SMBus: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 SMBus (unknown)
00:01.2 10de:03f5:1849:03eb RAM memory: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:02.0 10de:03f1:1849:03f1 USB Controller|OHCI: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 USB Controller (unknown)
00:02.1 10de:03f2:1849:03f2 USB Controller|EHCI: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 USB Controller (unknown)
00:04.0 10de:03f3:0000:0000 PCI bridge|Subtractive decode:  (unknown)
00:05.0 10de:03f0:1849:0862 Non-VGA unclassified device: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 High Definition Audio (unknown)
00:06.0 10de:03ec:1849:03ec IDE interface: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 IDE (amd74xx)
00:07.0 10de:03ef:1849:03ef Bridge: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 Ethernet (unknown)
00:08.0 10de:03f6:1849:03f6 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation|MCP61 SATA Controller (sata_nv)
00:09.0 10de:03e8:0000:0000 PCI bridge:  (unknown)
00:0b.0 10de:03e9:0000:0000 PCI bridge:  (unknown)
00:0c.0 10de:03e9:0000:0000 PCI bridge:  (unknown)
00:0d.0 10de:03d1:1849:03d1 VGA compatible controller:  (vesa)
00:18.0 1022:1100:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration (unknown)
00:18.1 1022:1101:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map (unknown)
00:18.2 1022:1102:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller (unknown)
00:18.3 1022:1103:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control (amd64-agp)
01:08.0 10ec:8139:10bd:0320 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor|EP-320X-R (8139too)
02:00.0 10de:0160:0000:0000 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp.|Unknown (generic) (vesa)
---:--- 0000:0000:0000:0000 Mouse: Generic PS/2 Wheel Mouse [/dev/psaux] (msintellips/2)
« Last Edit: April 19, 2007, 09:39:24 pm by thynk »

k84

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #33 on: April 19, 2007, 02:22:49 pm »
Hi there,

I guess the first time you laucned the lshwd -id it stated that it would use driver NV for your "VGA compatible card" as you can read in my walkthrough i had same issue, and now it's trying to use the VESA driver since it can not find the NVIDIA drivers to use,

Have you tried installing them now?
www.nvidia.com


Best Regards
K84


thynk

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #34 on: May 06, 2007, 03:48:34 am »
I guess the first time you laucned the lshwd -id it stated that it would use driver NV for your "VGA compatible card" as you can read in my walkthrough i had same issue, and now it's trying to use the VESA driver since it can not find the NVIDIA drivers to use,

The issue turned that lshwd -id wasn't picking the right diver for this card because it always came back as unknown.  I fixed this by tracing down where in the code it was selecting the driver and hacked a few lines in /usr/pluto/bin/Utils.sh to read

     
Code: [Select]
   local VideoDriver=$(lshwd | grep ' VGA ' | head -1 | sed 's/^.*(\([^()]*\)).*$/\1/')
        case "$VideoDriver" in
                nv|vesa) PackageIsInstalled nvidia-glx && VideoDriver="nvidia" ;;
                radeon|ati) PackageIsInstalled fglrx-driver && VideoDriver="fglrx" ;;
                "") VideoDriver="nvidia" ;; # just-in-case default
        esac

Another issue was trying to install while using the PCI-E card, I had to do a fresh install of 6.10 and install LMCE, hack the script, reinstall the drivers (only worked when installed with Envy), switch the system over to the 6500 and manually edit my xorg.conf file (for some reason the nvidia-settings didn't configure the 6500, so I had to look up what the pci-e slot was and change it there).

Lots of hassle, I'd like to see the next revision be a little smarter and check for already installed video drivers instead of forcing it's own on the system.

HTH someone else!

Stu



siberian

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #35 on: May 22, 2007, 09:47:02 am »
This worked great in getting my nVidia card up and running and actually accepting the 720P, thanks Kurt!!

Now I just have the infamous 'nVidia wont output Component video' problem to debug. Back to google..

John-

I GOT IT WORKING!
IT\s pretty easy but NOT plug and play.

...

HAVE A NICE DAY,


BEST REGARDS
Kurt.

spartacus13b

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #36 on: June 02, 2007, 03:41:26 am »
I have a Dell XPS system that had Windows Vista on it until 2 days ago. Vista crashed on me so I decided to install linuxmce instead.

I am running into the following problem, I install everything on my systems and then once I am done with the wizard the screen gos black and shows some distorted images on it.

I have an Intel 945 graphics adaptter built into my machine. And it seems to recognise it just fine.

however when I do lshwd it tells me it is using vesa as the driver.

How can I fix this


Please keep in mind that I am brand new to this so I only know a few commands......
« Last Edit: June 02, 2007, 03:47:32 am by spartacus13b »

dale3h

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #37 on: June 16, 2007, 02:26:03 am »
I haven't had any success with the nvidia drivers to use UI2. The first time I installed LinuxMCE, I already had the Automatix2 nVidia drivers installed, and it looked great, dual monitors working with max resolution, but I wanted UI2 with alpha blending. So I set out on a journey to get it working!

I'm on my 9th install of Kubuntu/LinuxMCE. Each time I install LinuxMCE, I start with a fresh copy of Kubuntu. I might want to ghost this partition soon if this is going to be many more times before I get it working.

Anywho, I took the necessary steps that Kurt suggested, installing the latest Nvidia drivers from their website. When I reboot, it just sits at a black window with a flashing cursor. So I hit Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get to another console, and I restore my xorg.conf, startx, and voila, I'm back in.

Then I did some comparing of the xorg.conf that failed and the xorg.conf that was good. The only difference was:

Non-Working xorg.conf: Did not contain DRI; used nvidia driver; did not specify BusID under "Device" heading
Working xorg.conf: Contained DRI; used vesa driver; specified a BusID under the "Device" heading: BusID      "PCI:1:0:0"

Click here to view working [vesa driver] xorg.conf
Click here to view non-working [nvidia driver] xorg.conf

Now when I try to modify just that driver line to say "nvidia", then I type "startx" it results in:
Click here to view non-working [nvidia driver] startx log

When I change it back to "vesa" and then type "startx" it results in:
Click here to view working [vesa driver] startx log

And finally, my lshwd -id output:
Code: [Select]
00:00.0 1106:3189:1106:3189 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT8377 CPU to PCI Bridge (via-agp)
00:01.0 1106:b168:0000:0000 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|PCI-to-PCI Bridge (AGP) (unknown)
00:0e.0 13f6:0111:10fd:a715 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc.|CM8738 (snd-cmipci)
00:0f.0 1103:0004:1103:0001 RAID bus controller: Triones|HPT366 (hptraid)
00:10.0 1106:3038:1106:3038 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.1 1106:3038:1106:3038 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.2 1106:3038:1106:3038 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.3 1106:3104:1106:3104 USB Controller|EHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT8235 USB Enhanced Controller (ehci-hcd)
00:11.0 1106:3177:1106:3177 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT8233A PCI to ISA Bridge (via-ircc)
00:11.1 1106:0571:1106:0571 IDE interface: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586 IDE [Apollo] (via82cxxx)
00:12.0 1106:3065:1106:0102 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT6102 [Rhine II 10/100] [߷] (via-rhine)
01:00.0 10de:00f6:1682:217e VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp.|GeForce 6600 GS (nvidia)
---:--- 0000:0000:0000:0000 Mouse: Generic PS/2 Wheel Mouse [/dev/psaux] (msintellips/2)

Most people would give up after 3 bad installs...but not me. I went out and bought a 42" 1080p LCD just so I could have a decent TV for LinuxMCE. It wasn't until the 4th of 5th install that I actually got to see the LinuxMCE interface running.

Any advice/help is very much appreciated.