Author Topic: Why only vesa?  (Read 10562 times)

bawbag31

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Why only vesa?
« on: March 27, 2007, 06:53:43 pm »
Why does the avwizard use vesa as it's graphics driver?  I have tried with the latest driver from the nvidia web site installed, but the linuxmce setup changes it to vesa.  I thought maybe linuxmce needs the driver to be installed from the repositories, so I tried that.  No good.  I actually saw the script UN-install the drivers then fall back to vesa.  What gives?  I have a GForce 6800GT card that should shine through with linuxmce (from what I can gather) but with vesa drivers I can't even use my native resolution (1440x900) never mind the OpenGL and Alpha stuff.

arbrandes

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2007, 07:52:13 pm »
I can confirm this weird behavior, except with a 6600GT.  The A/V Wizard does not seem to be able to select the correct video driver.

asgard

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2007, 10:43:27 pm »
Could you paste the output of 'lshwd -id' here? Probably there are some vendorid:productid combination that is unknown/misinterpreted by lswhd, lshwd being the application who is uses to detect the video card used in xorg.conf.pluto.

webpaul1

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2007, 10:53:50 pm »
yeah, nvidia 6xxx/7xxx with nvidia's proprietary driver is the 'officially sanctioned' combo that *should* always work, and when it detects that combo, the /usr/pluto/bin/XConfigure.sh should force the driver to nvidia and install the proprietary driver.

bawbag31

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2007, 11:17:28 pm »
Thanks for the replies!

Here is the output of lshwd -id

00:00.0 1106:0282:147b:1415 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (amd64-agp)
00:00.1 1106:1282:0000:0000 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:00.2 1106:2282:0000:0000 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:00.3 1106:3282:0000:0000 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:00.4 1106:4282:0000:0000 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:00.7 1106:7282:0000:0000 Host bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|K8T880Pro CPU to PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:01.0 1106:b188:0000:0000 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|PCI-to-PCI Bridge (AGP 2.0/3.0) (amd64-agp)
00:07.0 1106:3044:1106:3044 FireWire (IEEE 1394)|OHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller (ohci1394)
00:0a.0 1102:0005:1102:1003 Multimedia audio controller: (unknown)
00:0b.0 1814:0201:1814:2560 Network controller: RaLink|Ralink RT2500 802.11 Cardbus Reference Card (rt2500)
00:0e.0 1106:3119:147b:1415 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT3119 Gigabit Ethernet Controller (via-velocity)
00:0f.0 1106:3149:147b:1415 IDE interface: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (sata_via)
00:0f.1 1106:0571:147b:1415 IDE interface: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586 IDE (via82cxxx)
00:10.0 1106:3038:147b:1415 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.1 1106:3038:147b:1415 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.2 1106:3038:147b:1415 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.3 1106:3038:147b:1415 USB Controller|UHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT82C586B USB (uhci_hcd)
00:10.4 1106:3104:147b:1415 USB Controller|EHCI: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT8235 USB Enhanced Controller (ehci-hcd)
00:11.0 1106:3227:147b:1415 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies Inc.|VT8237 PCI-to-ISA Bridge (i2c-viapro)
00:11.5 1106:3059:147b:1415 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies Inc.|L7VTA v1.0 Motherboard (KT400-8235) (snd-via82xx)
00:18.0 1022:1100:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 HyperTransport Technology Configuration (unknown)
00:18.1 1022:1101:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 Address Map (unknown)
00:18.2 1022:1102:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 DRAM Controller (unknown)
00:18.3 1022:1103:0000:0000 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices|K8 Miscellaneous Control (amd64-agp)
01:00.0 10de:0045:0000:0000 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp.|NV40 [GeForce 6800 GT] (nv)
---:--- 0000:0000:0000:0000 Mouse: Generic PS/2 Wheel Mouse (msintellips/2)

I hope it helps.

k84

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2007, 06:32:03 pm »
Hi, Can report i have exactly the same issues with my Pci Express nvidia 6600gt board *Gainward.
Can paste the id\s later if it is needed/helpfull to track the problem.

Edit:

00:00.0 8086:2580:1028:0181 Host bridge: Intel Corp.|Memory Controller Hub (intel-agp)
00:01.0 8086:2581:0000:0000 PCI bridge: Intel Corp.|Memory Controller Hub PCI Express Port (unknown)
00:1c.0 8086:2660:0000:0000 PCI bridge: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub PCI Express Port 0 (unknown)
00:1d.0 8086:2658:1028:0181 USB Controller|UHCI: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub USB (unknown)
00:1d.1 8086:2659:1028:0181 USB Controller|UHCI: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub USB (unknown)
00:1d.2 8086:265a:1028:0181 USB Controller|UHCI: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub USB (unknown)
00:1d.3 8086:265b:1028:0181 USB Controller|UHCI: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub USB (unknown)
00:1d.7 8086:265c:1028:0181 USB Controller|EHCI: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub USB2 (unknown)
00:1e.0 8086:244e:0000:0000 PCI bridge|Subtractive decode: Intel Corp.|82820 815e (Camino 2) Chipset PCI (hw_random)
00:1f.0 8086:2640:0000:0000 ISA bridge: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub LPC (i810-tco)
00:1f.1 8086:266f:1028:0181 IDE interface: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub PATA (piix)
00:1f.2 8086:2651:1028:0181 IDE interface: Intel Corp.|82801FB/FW (ICH6/ICH6W) SATA Controller (ata_piix)
00:1f.3 8086:266a:1028:0181 SMBus: Intel Corp.|I/O Controller Hub SMBus (i2c-i801)
01:00.0 10de:0140:10b0:0403 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp.|GeForce 6600 GT (nv)
03:08.0 8086:1064:1028:0181 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp.|Ethernet Controller (e100)

There it is :D
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 12:52:45 am by k84 »

asgard

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2007, 12:01:26 am »
Hi, Can report i have exactly the same issues with my Pci Express nvidia 6600gt board *Gainward.
Can paste the id\s later if it is needed/helpfull to track the problem.

Yes, please

fdawg4l

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2007, 09:18:23 am »
Same issue for me and my 6200 AGP. 


'''
00:00.0 10de:01e0:0000:0000 Host bridge: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 AGP Controller (nvidia-agp)
00:00.1 10de:01eb:10de:0c17 RAM memory: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:00.2 10de:01ee:10de:0c17 RAM memory: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:00.3 10de:01ed:10de:0c17 RAM memory: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:00.4 10de:01ec:10de:0c17 RAM memory: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:00.5 10de:01ef:10de:0c17 RAM memory: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 Memory Controller (unknown)
00:01.0 10de:0080:10de:0c11 ISA bridge: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A ISA bridge (unknown)
00:01.1 10de:0084:10de:0c11 SMBus: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A SMBus (i2c-nforce2)
00:02.0 10de:0087:10de:0c11 USB Controller|OHCI: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A USB Controller (unknown)
00:02.1 10de:0087:10de:0c11 USB Controller|OHCI: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A USB Controller (unknown)
00:02.2 10de:0088:10de:0c11 USB Controller|EHCI: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A USB Controller (unknown)
00:08.0 10de:008b:0000:0000 PCI bridge: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A PCI Bridge (unknown)
00:09.0 10de:0085:10de:0c11 IDE interface: nVidia Corp.|MCP2A IDE (amd74xx)
00:1e.0 10de:01e8:0000:0000 PCI bridge: nVidia Corp.|nForce2 AGP Host to PCI Bridge (agpgart)
01:07.0 1011:0024:0000:0000 PCI bridge: Digital Equipment Corp.|DECchip 21152 (unknown)
01:08.0 13f6:0111:13f6:0111 Multimedia audio controller: C-Media Electronics Inc.|CM8738 (snd-cmipci)
01:0b.0 10ec:8139:10ec:8139 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor|RT8139 (8139too)
02:04.0 1131:7146:11bd:000f Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors|DV500 Overlay (dpc7146)
02:08.0 123f:8120:123f:8120 Multimedia controller: C-Cube Microsystems|E4? (unknown)
02:0c.0 104c:8020:11bd:000f FireWire (IEEE 1394)|OHCI: Texas Instruments|TSB12LV26 OHCI-Lynx PCI IEEE 1394 Host Controller (ohci1394)
03:00.0 10de:0221:196e:02ba VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corp.|GeForce 6200 (nv)
'''

k84

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2007, 01:23:50 am »
I GOT IT WORKING!
IT\s pretty easy but NOT plug and play.

What\s taken me about 2full days, was actually pretty easy and is now working smoothley.

This is not a walkthrough but a explanation of what i did, and how YOU can get it working..

This is just based on what i think, and my own sucess story:
First this probably only works if you know that the linux nvidia drivers work for you.

1) issue this command lshwd -id
if you get as most of us did VGA COMPATIBLE card........ (nv) <-- the important part, notice it uses the nv driver not the nvidia which it should.
2) so i did an strace and checked what lshwd opens, it opens a file called Cards found in /usr/share/hwdata/Cards
3) This is nasty, but this is what i did, changed all values saying nv to nvidia
e.g DRIVER nv
to
DRIVER nvidia

about 4 entries.

4) next what i now noticed is that the lshwd command says to use vesa driver on my card, WHAT?
doing another strace says that it seems to look for the nvidia driver which is not found, then it probably fallsback to vesa which mostly is a safe driver.

5) last step, go to www.nvidia.com download the latest linux drivers install them
6) Run /usr/pluto/bin/AVWizard_Run.sh and setup your nvidia card with FULL ALPHA BLENDING

HAVE A NICE DAY,

i got it working 5min ago and i am pretty over excited, so i\ve probably missed something, please feel free to contact me :)
if you dont get it working, i\ll try to help.


BEST REGARDS
Kurt.

fdawg4l

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2007, 05:01:53 am »
That's a no go for me.  I tried doing the changes you suggested (editing the hwdata file), ensured that the nvidia kernel drivers were installed for my kernel, and still every time I reboot, it uses the vesa driver.

Is there some way to skip the autodetection and set the driver options manually?  All I need is the driver set to nvidia and the option "TVStandard" set to "HD1080i".

I don't understand why this is so difficult.  I've reinstalled ubuntu twice followed by MCE and still it refuses to budge past vesa at 640x480.

k84

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2007, 05:29:49 am »
Hi,

If you issue this command and send me the file, i can try to take a look at it.
if you take a look at the file afterwards (the output.txt) does it state that for instance nvidia_drv is not found?
If so, that would explain why it falls back to vesa.

strace lshwd -id 2> output.txt

What output do you now have?
lshwd -id

If you\ve done everything correct, and everything is working for you  it should say (nvidia) After VGA compatbile card.

Tell me how it goes.
Best regards
kurt.

 

mking

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2007, 01:04:59 am »
How do you modify the cards file? I don't have the right permissions. I'm a Linux newbe...and I'm trying to get my Geforce 6600 Gt driver to work.

k84

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #12 on: April 02, 2007, 01:31:40 am »
before you modify you have to become root user
to do this:

type: sudo su
then enter the password for your user.

You should now have become root user, and have permission to edit the file.


efiniti

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #13 on: April 03, 2007, 06:13:45 am »
thanks k84!  it worked for me.  :)

well not at first, but I did a reinstall and right before I restarted the ubuntu box after installing linuxmce I made sure to edit that file.  once i rebooted i ran through the wizard and I successfully choose UI2. 

wolfbite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Why only vesa?
« Reply #14 on: April 03, 2007, 10:28:53 am »
sudo su
password
nano -w /etc/X11/xorg.conf
page dn to bottom then come up looking for "vesa"
change to "nvidia"

press f2 then y then enter
done