Author Topic: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939  (Read 3087 times)

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« on: December 19, 2012, 05:44:17 pm »
Hi,
I just tried the latest 1004-20121215102626939 the install went ok(very well compared to 8.1 :)
Went right away to installing a web orbiter and noticed it doesnt work
Firewall rules are disabled and the orbiter full gen web ok(reboot and reinstall the proxy orbiter didnt help)
On earlier versions of 1004 it loaded the web orbiter ok.

Few repository early versions(few version earlier of 10.04) had small bug related to the movie player
The issue is when for example you start a movie -> close it -> open new movie will bring a black screen and the movie wont start
Playing arround wont help ither but reboot or quick gen will fix it for another single movie then it stack again
Im new to linuxMCE but tried version 8 for few days and its great(the video issue wasnt there) it could be hardware/kernel related
but version 8 worked great, iv also tried to swap two video cards(intel / nvidia) to see if its fixing the video issue(on 1004 but it was the same)
Other issue was that nvidia gforce 620 didnt work on version 8, the os installed ok with the nvidia driver but linuxMCE installer
didnt find it then couldnt load the startX on next startup(with error related to starting graphic card)
Iv noticed that the default root MySQL password is empty i think its best to put something else there :)

I realy like this project.

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1095
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2012, 06:11:23 pm »
Thanks for your insights. Ill be sure to bring this up to the other developers. Is there any more information you have on the problems you mentioned?

-Langstonius
Official Releases
http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.apk latest Qt4 android apk  http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiterQt5-release.apk for the Qt5 Android version http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.dmg for the MacOSX version

Unstable Nightlies
http://langstonball.com/downloads

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2012, 06:38:19 pm »
Tnx,
Well, i didnt dig in too much yet but following apache logs show

[Wed Dec 19 19:34:11 2012] [error] [client 192.168.1.105] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: userlang in /var/www/lmce-admin/inc
lude/utils.inc.php on line 66, referer: 192.168.1.102/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php?installation=1033078&device_id=35
[Wed Dec 19 19:34:11 2012] [error] [client 192.168.1.105] PHP Notice:  Undefined index: userlang in /var/www/lmce-admin/inc
lude/utils.inc.php on line 66, referer: 192.168.1.102/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php?installation=1033078&device_id=35

0_web_orbiter.log shows

Attempting to create socket on host 192.168.80.1 port 3461 ... OK.
socket_connect() failed.
Reason: (110) Connection timed out
Closing socket ... OK.

when the orbiter moves from authentication to loading the main gui

It tries to connect to the wronge IP(80.x) The main nic is 192.168.1.102 so it binds to eth0
the install proccess looks for eth1 but fail cause eth1 doesnt exists.
A fast workarround i found is to change eth1 to eth0:0 and that solves the issue.

« Last Edit: December 19, 2012, 10:40:54 pm by ranpow »

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2012, 08:54:52 pm »
Hi ranpow

May I ask what your using as an orbiter?

What is your core hardware setup?

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 09:07:36 pm »
Hi sbcc,
Just to update on the web orbiter issue, looks like the install is taking into account that there are two nics
so it configure the internal ip 192.168.80.1 as eth1 insted of eth0:0
Changing it will fix the issue.

Regarding the video freeze on version 10.04, im ussing Gigabyte motherbourd i dont have the exact part no. but ill be happy to post it later
My setup is core/hybrid

Thanks,

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2012, 10:59:10 pm »
ranpow

LinuxMCE (lmce) wants to use 2 nics. It sets up an internal network on the 2nd nic under eth1 with a network address of 192.168.80.1. Most orbiters and MDs (media directors) are located on this internal network. So your orbiters... say your iPad will get an address of say 192.168.80.131 from lmce. You would connect the orbiters running on the iPad to lmce at 192.168.80.1 at port #3461.

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2012, 03:55:55 pm »
SBBS, so i guess the second nic would have to be wireless or nornal connected to a router, but then my iPAD :) will get his IP from the router.
So my first questune would be, in a setup where the 2th nic is wireless How do you configure the extra wifi varbs is it thru the admin panel or directly on host(aka SSH)? then asuming its configured does it acts as DHCP on that wireless LAN as well?
So if i disabled the routers DHCP then connect from iPAD via the wifi router will it still get the IP from linuxMCE.

In any case, as iv noticed befor, 1 nic and 1 virtual IP is ok too cuase wehn it sends the connect to DCE router it looks for 80.1 and finds it even if its virtual(it doesnt leave the host)

So in other words, the orbiter connects to apache on port 80 then start to communictae with DCE with sockets to the orbiter specific port etc..
The orbiter can connect to any of the apache IPs and it will be ok as long as 80.1 is configured somehow.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, 04:03:34 pm by ranpow »

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2012, 04:18:54 pm »
Hi ranpow,

This appears to be an installation question. Take a look at http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Setup. This will show you a typical layout. Feel free to browse the wiki. There is a wealth of information there.

To answer your questions;
Any switch or router (wifi or not) installed on eth1 should just pass through. So the dhcp server on that switch should be turned off. If you have a ipad on the network connected to eth1 (192.168.80.1) you should enter the server address 192.168.80.1 and the port into the orbiter config and connect. You may need to setup the orbiter 1st. Follow these directions http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0 which are mostly still relevant. http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Orbiters has some more information.

You can setup an orbiter outside the internal network. You would need to forward the port used by the orbiter in the web admin page and your outside firewall if needed.

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2012, 09:14:59 pm »
Thanks sbcc, nice wiki's.
you guys are great, this looks realy nice so far. Lots of bugs but im trying to work it out on the hardware i have.

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2012, 09:57:35 pm »
there is an example of how to set up a router as a switch at http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Linksys_WRT54G if you need it

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2012, 09:22:36 am »
Thanks techstyle that was exactly what i was looking for.

Ps does anyone have the video issue i mentioned above?
version 1004 not able to play dvd's after first dvd was played?

PlatypusPedersen

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Hugs?
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2012, 01:04:47 am »
Ps does anyone have the video issue i mentioned above?
version 1004 not able to play dvd's after first dvd was played?

Try to drop to a terminal and run:
sudo apt-get install libdvdcss2

Since you say you could play a DVD once, I have no clue what's up, but it is worth a shot.

ranpow

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2012, 03:32:07 am »
I allready installed libdvdcss2(its not that)
Maybee its a hardware issue but i tried with two sound cards one is nvidia.
Strange, nobody has issues with movie playing on version 1004?
 

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #13 on: December 22, 2012, 06:55:12 am »
No... that would be a blocker.

Something is hanging in Xine it sounds like.

Please reboot, then play a dvd... stop it... and play another, then post /var/log/pluto/XX_Xine_Player.log   where XX is the MD number.
I expect it will be pretty big. Might pastebin it.
I never quit... I just ping out.

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Orbiter generating bug on LMCE-1004-20121215102626939
« Reply #14 on: December 22, 2012, 05:28:33 pm »
Are you sure it was a DVD? I had an issue like this with an mp4 file. Nothing would play until I killed xine.