Author Topic: Sound Problems 1004 beta  (Read 2644 times)

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2012, 03:50:02 am »
Quote
Please edit /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh
under DRIVER_260_SUPPORTED=
add 10c3
Should this be done in the moon or on the core? I'm back to having the MD1 machine as a MD.

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #16 on: October 22, 2012, 03:55:39 am »
Did it on both. On the moon seems to make most sense right now.

See what she does..

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #17 on: October 22, 2012, 04:43:17 am »
Worked like a charm!

You are a saint.

You work tirelessly at this and if there is anything I can do to help you pm me.

I will convert back over to the development setup tomorrow and get you the aplay info. I'm UTC - 5 right now. So around UTC 15:00

Thanks again!

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #18 on: October 22, 2012, 07:36:57 am »
Ok... the upgraded alsa stuff is now available from update/upgrade.

SBCC thank you for bringing this to my attention, I found a total of 4 chipsets that were missing from the list. They have been added, and as of 26592+ will be all good. I also added some stuff to try and recover from glitches in the nvidia install process, fix itself, and reinstall.

http://linuxmce.iptp.org/snapshots/
LMCE-1004-20121022071526592.iso   is there now, with the final audio stuff and the changes to nvidia-install.sh.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2012, 07:51:58 pm by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #19 on: October 23, 2012, 02:43:29 am »
Hi L3mce,

Output of sudo aplay -l before latest upgrade
Code: [Select]
jim@dcerouter:~$ sudo aplay -l
[sudo] password for jim:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Static through analog stereo

After upgrade
sudo aplay -l
Code: [Select]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Still sound staticy on analog stereo but clear on spdif optical. I think sound was fine on the analog before but I'd like to test to see if it is a hardware issue before saying there is an issue.

I would like to also try this again as a fresh install. I had run my alsa driver upgrade script on this before the last upgrade. I should have that done by this time tomorrow.

Also video plays fine.

Once again thanks for your efforts!

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #20 on: October 23, 2012, 11:12:33 pm »
Ok here's what I have

Installed fresh 26592.

AVWizard started fine (this usually does not happen until I update alsa driver)
No sound device shown in wizard.
Selected stereo analog. No sound at test
Wizard finished fine.

Setup wizard started fine.
No Sarah video (this usually happens when I have some sound issue)
That wizard finished fine.

Ran AVWizard again
Selected SPDIF Optical
Still no sound

Loaded some video media onto hard drive. Tried to play but would not play. Interesting though is that the remote came up. Also no sound.

Did
Code: [Select]
jim@dcerouter:~$ sudo aplay -l
[sudo] password for jim:
aplay: device_list:223: no soundcards found...
jim@dcerouter:~$

Plugged in that MD I was having that "Failed To Setup X" from other post.

Installed perfectly

AVWizard started fine
Sound devices showed up. Interesting to note 2 devices showed Generic and Nvidia. Audio over HDMI? Nice surprise if so.
Selected stereo analog (all I have here and what I'm planning on using)

Setup wizard started fine with the Sarah video and sound.
That finished fine.
Played same video loaded onto core from above and plays fine with audio.
This MD is good to go with much thanks to L3mce. I will update that thread to reflect that when able

I usually run a script that gets my WinTV HVR-2500 going and upgrades the asla driver to the 1.0.25 version and that gets my audio going. I had previously upgraded to 26592 after running that script and had static at the stereo analog as well as whatever sound was playing. SPDIF Optical was perfect.

I converted back to my "Production" setup which is running 26373 with the asla driver upgraded to test the stereo analog.
I ran the AVWizard
The audio device was shown.
I chose stereo analog.
No sound at the test.
Wizard finished fine.
Tried to play video and did not play (no remote this time) also no sound.

I have one more test I can run. I have an USB audio device that I have not yet used. I am planning on using this for whole house audio of which I am just starting to look at.
I would like to see how that performs under 26592.
Should I check this?

Anything else that might be help full?

Take care

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #21 on: October 23, 2012, 11:42:03 pm »
Ok... here is the deal... I have no idea which machine is which.

The first one you described that you said that you usually need to install alsa stuff... I do all that now automatically so I need to know which pciid this is. I am assuming it is 10c3
lspci -nn | grep VGA | grep -wo ....\:....

I want you to replace the following files with those in the links. *Be sure to make sure that you chmod +r the first two if you just overwrite them.
/usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh
http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/export/26604/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/BootScripts/nvidia-install.sh

/usr/pluto/bin/SetupAudioVideo.sh
http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/export/26604/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/BootScripts/SetupAudioVideo.sh

/usr/pluto/templates/asound.conf
http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/export/26604/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/BootScripts/templates/asound.conf

/usr/pluto/templates/asound.conf.backup
http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/export/26604/branches/LinuxMCE-1004/src/BootScripts/templates/asound.conf.backup

then rm /etc/X11/xorg.con*  and reboot
This is the new stuff I am doing. I believe it will just pick up and make that machine work.

Please confirm that that is the right pciid. If not, add it to nvidia-install.sh under Backports_Required and please tell me. Thanks. Could really use the test here, sorry it is four files.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2012, 01:37:28 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #22 on: October 24, 2012, 02:08:33 am »
Sorry my last post got lost... my fault

Yes I understand the confusion.

I have an MD that was giving me the "Failed To Setup X" issue. That is now running perfect after
[quote ]Please edit /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh
under DRIVER_260_SUPPORTED=
add 10c3
[/quote]

And is also running perfect with the core running 26592. So that issue is closed with much thanks!

I have now my hybrid/core that has always had sound issues with 10.04. I have been fixing this by updating the alsa driver to 1.0.25. I do this all outside lmce at initial install. I swap this machine between a "Production" system and development so that I keep the same hardware. I do this by swapping hard drives. I also do clonezilla but not today. It is currently set up with a fresh install of 26592 from USB iso. It does not play video or sound.
Hopefully that helps a little

Ok so for
Code: [Select]
lspci -nn | grep VGA | grep -wo ....\:....
10de:0614

I renamed the files you mentioned.
Got the new ones with wget.
Changed nvidia-install.sh and added 10de under Backports_Required
removed xorg and restarted
AVWizard started fine.
No sound device shown
No sound

Also
Code: [Select]
aplay -l
aplay: device_list:223: no soundcards found...

Let me know if I can do anything more. And thanks for your time.




l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #23 on: October 24, 2012, 03:34:03 am »
You now need to add 0614 to: Backports_Required in /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh
10de = nvidia
0614 = pciid

Try again please.
I never quit... I just ping out.

SBCC

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
    • View Profile
Re: Sound Problems 1004 beta
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2012, 11:33:36 pm »
Ok added both to Backports_Required in /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh.

rm xorg
rebooted
AVWizard started fine
No sound device shown
No sound
Wizard finished fine
Tried to play video
Does not play and no sound. Looks like remote is starting though.

Rebooted
Looks like it attempted to install backports after restart.
Looks like it ran into trouble.
Saw something like;
Code: [Select]
Setting up linux-backports...blah
update-initramfs: Generating /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-44-generic

Usage: modprobe [-v] [-V] [-C config-file] ...blah
modprobe -r [-n] [-i] <modulename> ...
modprobe -l -t <dirname> ...blah

Then hung there for a while.

Rebooted
Now at startup screen says "Alsa backport modules already loaded"
Lmce starts fine
Does not play video
No sound

Removed the files you mentioned above again.
Added both to Backports_Required in /usr/pluto/bin/nvidia-install.sh again
Removed xorg.conf
Rebooted
AVWizard started fine
No sound device
No sound
Wizard hangs at blinking curser after completing
Forced reboot
Startup screen says "Alsa backport modules already loaded"
Lmce starts fine
Does not play video
No sound

Anything I can do let me know

Thanks
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 01:19:21 am by SBCC »