Author Topic: Linux MCE beating as the heart of whole house automation  (Read 50119 times)

mcefan

• Veteran
    • View Profile
Linux MCE beating as the heart of whole house automation
« on: September 17, 2012, 08:35:58 am »
After quite a bit of reading, I am resolving to posting in hope that I will get a resolution for Linux MCE beating as the heart of my whole house automation.

I am completely new to HA. I consider myself a bit of a "tech", and do not mind getting my hands dirty. I am currently in the process of whole house renovation and have decided on LMCE as the choice for automation.
The house is currently gutted out and all floors/walls are directly accessible for wiring/cabling. I have now reached the point where I need to make some decisions and purchase the necessary equipment to accomplish the following:

• lighting control
  • whole house music
  • whole house A/V
  • temperature control
  • tts/voice recognition
  • proximity detection
  • door locks
  • alarm
  • video surveillance
  • automated garden sprinkler
  • small appliances control
  • ... any other interesting stuff you I am missing (please suggest)

Since my the house is small, I am hoping to be able to fully automate it at a reasonable cost (I am on a budget, and need to complete the walls and everything else).

At this point, I need some help deciding on both protocols and equipment. I am trying to avoid making a costly mistake that I will not be able to recover from, since I will not have the finances to "correct" it. My funds are limited, and I need to do this right the first time. If I end up with things that don't work I'll pretty much be fried.

Please share your experience about what you have that works well, and advise me on what direction I should take.
(FYI, I live in the US.)
« Last Edit: September 17, 2012, 08:38:26 am by mcefan »

JaseP

• Addicted
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Linux MCE beating as the heart of whole house automation