Author Topic: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk  (Read 8836 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog
[SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« on: August 26, 2012, 09:58:49 am »
Hey,

I'm trying to add an extra hard drive to my system. But LinuxMCE won't get it...
My first disk is a SSD 60GB for the system (working perfectly), my second one is a SATA 1TB.
I have followed http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Add_an_additional_hard_drive. I just needed to add xfs in the procedure?

  • Insert the disk (no format, partitions....)
  • sudo fdisk /dev/sdb
  • Options n - 1 (defaults)
  • sudo apt-get install xfsprogs xfsdump  (since by default mkfs.xfs isn't possible)
  • sudo mkfs.xfs /dev/sdb1
  • rebooted
  • Waited for about 10 minutes


Some additional information:

sudo fdisk -l
Code: [Select]
Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60022480896 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7297 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000a16a7

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        6994    56174592   83  Linux
/dev/sda2            6994        7298     2438145    5  Extended
/dev/sda5            6994        7298     2438144   82  Linux swap / Solaris

Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0009cadb

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1               1      121601   976760001   83  Linux

sudo df -h
Code: [Select]
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 53G   26G   25G  51% /
none                  1.5G  372K  1.5G   1% /dev
/dev/disk/by-uuid/8beeb5ef-c123-4095-a54f-d9119e9dbeeb
                       53G   26G   25G  51% /
none                  1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /dev/shm
none                  1.5G  384K  1.5G   1% /var/run
none                  1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /var/lock
none                  1.5G     0  1.5G   0% /lib/init/rw

Can i do something to force it to pick up the hard disk?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2012, 11:54:56 am by brononius »
Version: linuxMCE 1404, running virtual on ESXi

Orbiters: ASUS eeePAD, Nexus 5, Huwai, web
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7912-7940-7960
Camera's: Foscam POE

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 10:11:01 am »
Did LinuxMCE prompt you for the HDD when you inserted it the first time?

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog
Re: Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2012, 10:17:51 am »
When i inserted? No..

  • I've shutdown the server
  • connected the drive
  • Booted up (no messages)
  • Did the things above (first with mkfs without options)
  • Rebooted and waited for an orbiter (refresh-refresh...)
  • Removed the partition and started over (now with mkfs.xfs)
  • Rebooted, and still waiting  ;)
Version: linuxMCE 1404, running virtual on ESXi

Orbiters: ASUS eeePAD, Nexus 5, Huwai, web
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7912-7940-7960
Camera's: Foscam POE

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 248
    • View Profile
Re: Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2012, 11:33:11 am »
why don t you just format it on another pc and then insert it to the core like everybody else is doing it? 

maverick0815

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 858
    • View Profile
Re: Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2012, 11:50:37 am »
okay, I'm just a spoiled gui-brat, but when I put in a second disk, I just went to the kde-desktop and formatted it there. From then on it didn't take long for the system to detect it and ask what to do with it

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog
Re: Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2012, 11:54:21 am »
Quote
why don t you just format it on another pc and then insert it to the core like everybody else is doing it? 
Because i believe that LinuxMCE should be capable to do what all other pc's can do? And even more...  :-\


In the meantime, don't ask me why, but i needed to look at the orbiter on my core machine.
In there, i've got the message that a new disk has been found.
When i double check this on my client computer (=weborbiter), it doesn't show up. On the side, this weborbiter is working fine?

Not sure why this is happening, but when i add the disk through the 'core orbiter', it seems to work perfect?

sudo df -h
Code: [Select]
/dev/sdb2             932G  4.3M  932G   1% /mnt/device/350
Version: linuxMCE 1404, running virtual on ESXi

Orbiters: ASUS eeePAD, Nexus 5, Huwai, web
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7912-7940-7960
Camera's: Foscam POE

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2012, 06:58:35 pm »
Sounds correct.

The weborbiter does not always update with messages.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2012, 07:35:27 pm »
This would be a good dev exercise.

I would love for someone to write a "blank disk radar" and to send a detected message to the router. If sent, the configure_1790.sh script could be amended to partition and format the disk. (use XFS as the filesystem)

-Thom

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1084
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2012, 03:22:10 am »
Do we want lmce formatting?
I never quit... I just ping out.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2012, 03:31:47 am »
I would say it's a risk for LinuxMCE to be formatting. A drive can be partitioned and formatted with other machines. But if LinuxMCE detection routines mess up, it could lead to destruction of data... And, people would be tossing blame around.

Passing a message to the user that they need to partition/format the drive is another thing.
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5549
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2012, 07:22:51 am »
hmm. Come on, think this through fellas, seriously, before you start spouting crap.

(1) it would be a BLANK DISK RADAR. IF THERE ARE NO PARTITIONS, THEN FIRE A DEVICE DETECTED EVENT.
(2) the DEVICE DETECTED EVENT WOULD HAVE THE CORRECT PATH OF THE DISK THAT WOULD BE PASSED TO THE CONFIGURE SCRIPT, WHICH WOULD:

(a) ADD A PARTITION TO STORE THE DATA
(b) FORMAT SAID PARTITION WITH XFS.

THIS IS A NO-BRAINER, FELLAS. COME ON!

-Thom

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog
Re: [SOLVED] Add a new Hard Disk
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2012, 08:03:33 am »
It's an even big risk on another computer to format/create partitions. Data can be (and is already) lost that way, no? Once you start working with computers, it's a risk.  :o

I've done these steps in LinuxMCE. Ok, with fdisk/mkfs in a console, but nevertheless it was on my 'linuxMCE machine'. If for a dark reason sdb was replace with sda, is linuxMCE responsible? At the most, it was Murphy's law... ;) And like Thom said, enough failproof things can be build in.

It would be a nice addon for linuxMCE. You add physical your new disk, and you're on your way. No worries about partitions, filesystems, formats... Another step closer for a dummy userfriendly linuxMCE?


For those who have doubts?
Code: [Select]
Are you Sure?
This could destroy any existing data.
A remote backup would be advisable...

Click YES for linuxMCE to prepare you disk:
YES / NO
Version: linuxMCE 1404, running virtual on ESXi

Orbiters: ASUS eeePAD, Nexus 5, Huwai, web
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7912-7940-7960
Camera's: Foscam POE