Author Topic: Wiring Project [Updated Photos]  (Read 12085 times)

Armor Gnome

• Guru
    • View Profile
Re: Requesting Help (small wiring project)
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2012, 10:37:54 pm »
On the original cradle the four outer pins are raised to 'make' the gnd connection before the +'ve, as you have suggested AG should do.

Perhaps the pin floats on a convex bubble above its' contact, kind of like joystick D-pad or old keyboard?  If that is the case then it is achieving gnd first AND normally open functionality like I plan to do on the circuit, all at the pin level.  That is an great idea for me to add into my build.

My android phone *does* charge if I simply connect gnd and +5v.

I am no electronics expert by a long shot but I read a really good article on the way power to USB is handled.  There is a minimal amount of voltage available on the line (sorry I forget the exacts) until the device requests more power from the bus.  So the host does not power the USB port fully unless there is some logic at the connected device level to request it.  This is why when stealing power off a USB port you wire two pin feeds together (again forgot the specific colors but I believe its white and green) this gives you a closed connection which tells the bus something is attached and provides level 2 of its available 3 power levels to the 5v line.  I am guessing here because I don't have the article infront of me but it was something like: +1.5v constant, +3.5v when something contacts all pins, +5v when the device requests all available power.  This understanding was helpful when understanding how USB hubs function, because some devices ask for the power they need and others request full power as soon as attached.   
I made a wiki!  Click here to check out my system.

phenigma

• LinuxMCE God
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2012, 11:24:05 pm »