Author Topic: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems - SOLVED!  (Read 4691 times)

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #30 on: July 05, 2012, 03:41:13 am »
Can you try undoing those changes to the template, and in web admin, under media directors, try changing HDMI-0   to HDMI-0,7  and report back? A reload will likely be in order.

Hi, L3mce
No sound, here is the what have I done

linux-backports-modules-alsa-`uname -r`    This enabled card detection by alsa

Everything else is left as defaults, no asound changes.

No sound trying
Code: [Select]
speaker-test -D hdmi -c2  nor kde desktop

Once I run
Code: [Select]
speaker-test -c 2 -l 1 -t sine -D hw:0,7
Everything else works, even using speaker-test -D hdmi -c2 or KDE, lmce etc until reboot

I have to note that asound @ etc says

pcm.asym_hdmi {
        type asym
        playback.pcm "hdmi_playback"
        capture.pcm "plughw:0"
}

It does not says 0,7

Any hints?

T


bushtech

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #31 on: July 10, 2012, 08:05:57 am »
Mine's the same. Sound started working a couple of weeks ago with L3's guidance, but after some reboots no more sound. Currently on mine the soundtest on 0,7 works but no sound when trying to play something on my media drive.Doing a lot of scratching around to try and find how it all fits together. Doing the change in webadmin didn't help but not sure that I have undone all the changes.
Core:Asus P8H77-V, Intel core i3-3240 LGA155, Inno 3D Nvidia 240 GT (DVI+VGA+HDMI), 4Gb ram, 125Gb SSD
MD: Zotax Zbox ID41

bushtech

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #32 on: July 13, 2012, 09:37:08 pm »
Thanks to L3 my sound is working again.!

Some notes to get it working:

Add these 2 lines to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=0 index=-2
hash one out and do the following:
reboot, and  run sudo aplay -l
Check that your nvidia is at card 0, then test with speakertest
If no sound go back to alsa-base.conf. remove hash from line and hash out the other line.
reboot, and  run sudo aplay -l, recheck and speakertest

You should have sound now. ;D

L3, please correct me if I've got it wrong.
Core:Asus P8H77-V, Intel core i3-3240 LGA155, Inno 3D Nvidia 240 GT (DVI+VGA+HDMI), 4Gb ram, 125Gb SSD
MD: Zotax Zbox ID41

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #33 on: July 19, 2012, 03:26:39 am »
Hi Bushtech,

I disable the intel HDA at the bios so I always get card 0 without doing the alsa-base.conf trick.
I always get sound using speakertest.  Right now I get sound using plughw:0,7.
I even run
Code: [Select]
speaker-test -c8 -r 48000 -D plughw:0,7 this is pink noise 8 channels so I can test my DENON 7.1ch setup without problems. 
I believe my problem is at the asound.conf, it always adds
Quote
pcm. !default asym_hdmi
at the end of the file and I don't know where it comes from
since the device "asym_hdmi" is not working I get no sound. 

If I modify the asound template and change "plughw:0,7" like this:

pcm.asym_hdmi {
        type asym
        playback.pcm "hdmi_playback"
        capture.pcm "plughw:0,7"
}
 
Nothing!

The only way to get audio in kdesktop an xine is by putting this at the end of asound

pcm.!default {



}

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #34 on: July 19, 2012, 03:33:46 am »
Ups! I pressed Post by mistake

This is what I use to get sound

Quote
pcm.!default {
     type plug
     slave {
         pcm "plughw:0,7"
    }
}

Adding this at the end of the file makes it work.  The only problem is that I Can't get any of my videos to be multichanel, they are all forced to 2ch, I don't know why, and also It won't stick.

Everytime I reboot, it will add

Quote
pcm. !default asym_hdmi
and mess things up!


l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #35 on: July 19, 2012, 05:13:37 am »
See /usr/pluto/templates/asound.conf tompin2.
I never quit... I just ping out.

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #36 on: July 19, 2012, 06:52:20 am »
See /usr/pluto/templates/asound.conf tompin2.

Hi L3mce, apologies for my ignorance but, what do you want me to see?, my ignorance is making me blind  :-\

 I have checked the asound.conf template and I know that it will be used every time you reboot but
Quote
pcm. !default asym_hdmi
is not in that template, who adds it to the asound.conf @ /etc ?
Can you help me on getting the surround working.  It seems that it is not following the pass-through check at the lmce web admin.

Im really thinking on opening a new post only dedicated to ID41's hdmi sound issues, the title of this post is missleading for all the good information it is in here.

Thanks for all your help

tompin2

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems
« Reply #37 on: July 19, 2012, 07:06:54 am »
Dear all,

Post created dedicated to sound issues.

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php/topic,12696.0.html

I will continue there.

Thanks for your help

T

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: 1004 zotac MAG and ZBOX video playback problems - SOLVED!
« Reply #38 on: August 06, 2012, 03:25:07 am »
RayBe and I have created a wiki that I believe adresses these things in their totality.
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/NVidia_HDMI_Audio_on_LinuxMCE_1004

I would appreciate it if people would try it out and let me know how it works for them. I am specifically curious about whether or not the change is necessary to the template file, I don't think it is. I am also very curious if the last addition to the /usr/pluto/bin/LaunchOrbiter.sh script works to persist through reboots.

If it does not work, try:
aplay -Dplughw:0,7 /usr/share/sounds/pop.wav
where 7 is your device #

You might hear a small cartoonish pop when orbiter loads lol... but the test is to play a file and see that you have audio.

Thanks as always.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2012, 04:56:48 am by l3mce »
I never quit... I just ping out.