Author Topic: Setup a media director  (Read 451 times)

devauda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Setup a media director
« on: August 01, 2012, 04:19:07 pm »
Hi,

I'm trying to add a media director and i have a question.

On the wiki page to setup a media director (wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Generic_PC#Setup_of_the_Media_Director), on section "Setup a media director, i don't understand the next sentence:

"Go to the Orbiter with the 'Add Media Director' screen displayed and you will see a screen asking if you would like to add your PC as a Media Director."

I have a core Linux MCE and a web orbiter, when my media director boot over the network for the first time i got the yellow message saying that it is annonced to the core. But on the web orbiter i don't have any message to "Add Media Director". Where is this message?

Sorry for this basic question, but i try to setup my media director properly (see my previous post "   
Problem with MD on 10.04 connexion lost").

Hope somebody will be able to help.

Rgds,
Alex
 

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: Setup a media director
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2012, 05:27:13 pm »
I don't think that screen exists anymore. just wait until you get the screen that the MD has been added and you need to do a quick reload on your core.

IF

devauda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Setup a media director
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2012, 04:48:32 pm »
ok, thanks for the feedback.
I confirm that this screen doesn't exist.

JaseP

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 526
    • View Profile
    • JaseP's LinuxMCE Wiki User page
Re: Setup a media director
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2012, 08:34:22 pm »
What should happen is that when your Media Director is announced to the Core, it should first boot to the configuration wizard,... the "Sarah," wizard... If the Core has diskless boot images created and ready.

First, make sure that PXE boot is working... that the machine is getting a DHCP IP address assignment from the Core... You'll see text messages about no image being present... and the machine might time out and boot its native OS...

Before you boot into LinuxMCE on the MD, first you might need to run the script to generate a MD instance on the Core...

I think it's;
sudo /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_CreateTBZ.sh

... from a terminal on the Core... if memory serves,...

Reboot the MD, again with PXE boot...

Once done,... the Core will serve up a copy of a generic diskless boot image that will take you to the Wizard... From there it should be relatively easy to get a working system, barring hardware issues (video resolution, sound, etc.).

PS: make sure the create script runs through completely before rebooting the media director.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 08:48:23 pm by JaseP »
See my User page on the LinuxMCE Wiki for a description of my system configuration (click the little globe under my profile pic).