Author Topic: [SOLVED] IP Camera in 1004  (Read 12365 times)

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
[SOLVED] IP Camera in 1004
« on: July 25, 2012, 09:34:30 am »
Hey,

I've got some IPCAM02 running, and i want them to add in LinuxMCE.
But don't succeed to it. :$

I've tried adding them 'surveillance camera' as a 'generic motion ip camera - 1916' and as an 'advanced IP camera'. But couldn't get a image running.
Does anybody has an example what i need to add?
Fe i'm adding the IP, the MAC, the username (admin) and password.

Next to it, i found in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Monitor_surveillance_cameras that you also could motion wrapper.
But couldn't find this in 1004.
Is it still in there, another location...?


ps a manual for the IPCAM is located here: http://download.chinavasion.com/download/CVLM-I122.pdf

Thanks!!!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2012, 08:23:03 am by brononius »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

mardibloke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2012, 12:12:01 pm »
Add as Motion Wrapper,  the wiki covers it very well:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Monitor_surveillance_cameras#Adding_IP_Cameras_under_Motion_Wrapper

What I do not see in the manual for you IPCAM, is a link for a static image from your camera.

For example, my Axis cameras the link is : /axis-cgi/jpg/image.cgi   or my other cameras : /mjpg/video.mjpg

You need to figure that out for your camera.

- --
Rod,  UK
| 12.04 32bit | Dianemo S | Dianemo Core | ASUS EeeBox PC B202 | AsRock 330 ION BR | WebDT362 | ZWave | AXIS Cameras |

Armor Gnome

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2012, 12:47:39 pm »
For finding an IP camera's image location I used firefox, much in the way you can use it to DL images from sites that go out of their way to block the "right-click and save" methods.

Example from external network would be: 192.168.1.7/image.jpg

From your browser on the camera's browser page, right click on the static image picture.  For D-Link interfaces this is the image itself when using images as the live view method.  Select view image source or view source.  This gives you a url for each of the elements that it is displaying graffically including the logos, etc.  You will find a string normally that looks like <IP address>/images.jpg/image.cgi=436478326234.  Open another tab in your browser and retype the address of your camera's browser plus the first part of the red text above.  The image in the new browser tab will be a frameless image of your camera's feed if you got it correct.

The additional (/instruction) is what the device data is looking for since you allready provided the first part of the full url when you gave it the IP address.

Things to avoid that would "not" be still images would be /image.cgi (this is useful as it constantly refreshes however)  /anything.mpg, /anything.mpeg etc.
I made a wiki!  Click here to check out my system.

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2012, 01:01:23 pm »
OK, i've got the motion wrapper in it (thought it was by default there)...

Following link gives me directly the video output.
   192.168.0.100/videostream.cgi
   192.168.0.100/video.cgi

And this link a image
   192.168.0.100/snapshot.cgi

What i've done:
  • Template 1916 (controlled by 'motion wrapper'
  • Data:   /videostream.cgi
  • user:   admin
  • password:   admin
  • TCP port:   80
  • protocol: http
  • IP:      192.168.0.100
  • MAC:  00:0d:c5:d0:47:e1


ps maybe one strange thing? When i click in the orbiter on the cameraname, he opens a new window. And i see here (where the videostream should be) very flue the name of a room on top of it. This in white font...
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2012, 01:04:50 pm »
I've also tried with: /videostream.cgi?user=admin&pwd=admin in the panasonic template. But no luck...  :-[
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2012, 01:25:07 pm »
OK, i've got the motion wrapper in it (thought it was by default there)...

ps maybe one strange thing? When i click in the orbiter on the cameraname, he opens a new window. And i see here (where the videostream should be) very flue the name of a room on top of it. This in white font...

I think i found something...
I've tried to restart the service motion, and received a message that the daemon was disabled.
After setting the no in /etc/default/motion to yes, it started.
And now i've got a more nicer grey picture with the message that it couldn't connect... Also time, name...

so sudo /etc/init.d/motion start is a first step in the right direction?
« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 03:45:31 pm by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2012, 01:33:39 pm »
OK, i've got the motion wrapper in it (thought it was by default there)...

Following link gives me directly the video output.
   192.168.0.100/videostream.cgi
   192.168.0.100/video.cgi

And this link a image
   192.168.0.100/snapshot.cgi

What i've done:
  • Template 1916 (controlled by 'motion wrapper'
  • Data:   /videostream.cgi
  • user:   admin
  • password:   admin
  • TCP port:   80
  • protocol: http
  • IP:      192.168.0.100
  • MAC:  00:0d:c5:d0:47:e1


ps maybe one strange thing? When i click in the orbiter on the cameraname, he opens a new window. And i see here (where the videostream should be) very flue the name of a room on top of it. This in white font...

You have 2nics in your server? 192.168.0.# is your external network?
That might be your problem......

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2012, 01:58:41 pm »
192.168.0.x is my internal side...

In the meantime, i managed to have a view! Yiepie.
I can't move the (motion)camera with an orbiter. But babysteps...

After starting the 'motion' service, it starts to give me output. And in the folder /home/cameras/, it's creating images...
  • So when i add an IP camera that is controlled by motion, it works.
  • But when it's controlled by the CORE, it doesn't...
    When i check lmce-admin > Security > View Camera's, i've got an image/link towards lmce-admin/security_images/131.jpg?
    But i don't have any images in this folder?

I've noticed also that i need to restart motion each time i reload the server.

I'm guessing 'motion' is a kind of service that pulls down images from the camera's? And this is generating the images under security?
When i don't use motion, is there another process that must be running?

« Last Edit: July 25, 2012, 03:46:50 pm by brononi »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2012, 12:47:30 pm »
3 days later, a lot of stress, a lot of recreating/regen/reloading the devcies, one camera already died because a bad firmware upgrade...

But i think that if i could manage to insert a Foscam camera, it should work.
I found the wiki on http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Foscam_FI8908W
And i believe that the IPCAM works 99% the same as this Foscam model.
But i can't figure out how i can create/duplicate and change the commands for a template.

Is there somewhere an easy way to just download the template for the camera?  :(
wget the file, move it to the proper place and done? ;)
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2012, 02:31:34 pm »
I figured out that following options allowed me to control/view the camera. This all works when i'm using a normal webbrowser.

View video:

View image:

Control the camera:



I've now tried to put this in the template (motion camera template 1916). But i could only get the view to work.
I can't seem to be able to control the camera by an orbiter. What i've added in the template:
  • path: /videostream.cgi?user=USER&pwd=PASSWORD&rate=1
  • configuration: panUpCmd=/decoder_control.cgi?command=0&onestep=1&user=USER&pwd=PASSWORD
    panDownCmd=/decoder_control.cgi?command=2&onestep=1&user=USER&pwd=PASSWORD
    panRightCmd=/decoder_control.cgi?command=4&onestep=1&user=USER&pwd=PASSWORD
    panLeftCmd=/decoder_control.cgi?command=6&onestep=1&user=USER&pwd=PASSWORD
  • Port: 80
  • Protocol: http
  • Advanced IP: 10.10.10.10

When i enter path, will he not put this in front of my movement comment? Or is path only for getting the image?

I'm not sure what the difference is between a 'normal IP camera (core)' and a 'motion ip camera (motion)'.
Can this be the problem for the movemen?
I've try to get a core ip camera to work, but here i'm even not getting the image.




ps i'm trying to contact the person who works on the template of 'Advanced IP Camera' on the wiki page. But can't figure out how i can reach him. Any idea?
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

bri_jac

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2012, 02:55:51 pm »
To my understanding the difference between 'normal IP camera (core)' and a 'motion ip camera (motion)' is that:

Normal ip camera: You can control the movements of the IP cam via your orbiter, but the images are not being actively monitored, unless this is done by your ip cam.

Motion: Motion is monitoring your images from your ip cam and LinuxMCE can then catch an action/event and do something about it. BUT it's NOT possible via Motion to get acces to adjust position/rotate the camera viewing angle. Then instead you must login to the IP cam's own webserver and via this interface adjust the movement.


Motion wrapper:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Motion

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2012, 02:59:55 pm »
Thanks,

Then i'll need to leave the motion path, and trying to get the Advanced_IP_Camera to work?
If i could only figure out how to start the capturing of the images...

The folder lmce-admin/security_images isn't filled by images... :$
« Last Edit: August 02, 2012, 03:11:13 pm by brononius »
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

mardibloke

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #12 on: August 02, 2012, 06:18:31 pm »
I figured out that following options allowed me to control/view the camera. This all works when i'm using a normal webbrowser.

Try :

http://10.10.10.10/kmotion

I add my cameras in there and use it as the interface for monitoring, and setting it to record when there is motion. Then reviewing archive footage.  It supports my Axis PTZ cameras and moving.
- --
Rod,  UK
| 12.04 32bit | Dianemo S | Dianemo Core | ASUS EeeBox PC B202 | AsRock 330 ION BR | WebDT362 | ZWave | AXIS Cameras |

brononius

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Trying to keep it simple and centralized...
    • View Profile
    • OnIrIa - linuxMCE blog (runs on ... linuxmce server)
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2012, 06:28:25 pm »
http://10.10.10.10/kmotion

I suppose this is something 'camera/brand' based?
I don't have this on 'linuxmce', nor on the camera itself...
Version: linuxMCE 1004 (v 2012-07-01)
Extra's: Cacti, webmin, phpmyadmin, joomla

Server: MSI MS-7519 / E7400 2,8GB / 4GB / SSD 60GB / Radeon HD4350 / RTL8111 - 3C905C-TX
Orbiters: HTC Desire Z, HP PocketPC, Samsung Galaxy S, iPAD, ASUS eeePAD
Automation: EIB technology, KNX IP ROUTER 750
Phones: Cisco 7940, Cisco 7960
Camera's: IPCAM02

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: IP Camera in 1004
« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2012, 08:15:28 pm »
I am the developer of the Advanced IP Camera.

From the URLs you posted you should be able to create a template using the Advanced IP Camera in 5-10 minutes. The wiki article describes this process (well, I hope). The Pan and Zoom function was created just a few days ago, so I'm not sure if the update has been built yet.

The Motion Camera template #1916 does not use the same parameters as the Advanced IP Camera, so that is why you cannot control the camera from any orbiter.

Just ask if you have any questions.

br,
sambuca