Author Topic: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes  (Read 2566 times)

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2012, 03:27:20 pm »
like sambuca said

i found this  on ubuntu forum

"Quote:
Originally Posted by froller 
Same problem here after upgrade. I turned my bluetooth services back on:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1136720

System -> Administration -> Services

and it cleared the problem up. Turn them back on and they return. Config bug with bluetooth?

I am on an aspire 7520 amd64 build in gnome.
THANK YOU SO MUCH! The error is gone.

But, still, when I type "espeak Hello" I hear "Hehl-" and it cuts out before he can finish saying "Hello." It's not quite fixed."


cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #16 on: June 16, 2012, 03:37:03 pm »
or you can try  to remove  bluetooth-alsa

with
apt-get purge bluez-alsa


purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1384
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2012, 09:33:35 pm »
Thanks for the replies guys, sorry for the delay is getting back.

aplay -l gives...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC889 Analog [ALC889 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC889 Digital [ALC889 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: default [C-Media USB Audio Device   ], device 0: USB Audio [USB Audio]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

...which looks fine to me.

I have also removed the bluez-alsa, and when I run the command I now get...


Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# /usr/bin/squeezeslave -o3 -m00:00:00:00:00:01 -r5 -M/var/log/squeezeslave.log
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
PortAudio error7: No output devices found.

...which doesn't look good.

Alsa version is 1.0.22 if that gives any clues.

It is also a somewhat old 10.04 installation, never been updated, perhaps I should just try it again when I get round to using a later version.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2012, 09:38:27 pm »
can you  play any file  from aplay to usb sound card ?

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1384
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #19 on: June 27, 2012, 12:34:45 am »
Still no luck, I am not able to play anything from aplay using the USB sound card. It looks fine, but there is just no sound coming out!

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay /home/public/data/audio/Windows\ Share-Volume_1\ \[63\]/Matt/Loose/Aerosmith_Dude\ Looks\ Like\ A\ Lady.mp3
Playing raw data '/home/public/data/audio/Windows Share-Volume_1 [63]/Matt/Loose/Aerosmith_Dude Looks Like A Lady.mp3' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono

After that I did... (different from "aplay -l" I noticed)

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay -L                                                   null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
 5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
front:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=default,DEV=0
 C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output

...I then tried...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay --device=iec958 /home/public/data/audio/Windows\ Share-Volume_1\ \[63\]/Matt/Loose/Aerosmith_Dude\ Looks\ Like\ A\ Lady.mp3
Playing raw data '/home/public/data/audio/Windows Share-Volume_1 [63]/Matt/Loose/Aerosmith_Dude Looks Like A Lady.mp3' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:990: Sample format not available
Available formats:
- S16_LE
- S32_LE

...which again looks fine to me, but still no sound.

Am I doing the right thing here? Am I "choosing" the sound card correctly?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #20 on: June 27, 2012, 01:44:12 am »
on my i can do

aplay -L
default:CARD=CK804
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=CK804,DEV=0                 # hw:0,0
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=CK804,DEV=0            # hw:0,1
    NVidia CK804, NVidia CK804
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers


a play with

aplay -D front:CARD=CK804,DEV=0 somefile.wav

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #21 on: June 27, 2012, 08:44:28 am »
Quote
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415

I see this every time I start squeezeslave, so I wouldn't worry about that...

Just a basic thought that occured to me; have you checked the volume of the sound card using alsamixer?

br,
sambuca

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1384
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #22 on: June 30, 2012, 05:28:19 pm »
"aplay -L" gives...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay -L
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
front:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Analog
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=SB,DEV=0
    HDA ATI SB, ALC889 Digital
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output
front:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    Front speakers
surround40:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    4.0 Surround output to Front and Rear speakers
surround41:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    4.1 Surround output to Front, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround50:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    5.0 Surround output to Front, Center and Rear speakers
surround51:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    5.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Rear and Subwoofer speakers
surround71:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    7.1 Surround output to Front, Center, Side, Rear and Woofer speakers
iec958:CARD=default,DEV=0
    C-Media USB Audio Device   , USB Audio
    IEC958 (S/PDIF) Digital Audio Output

And to play something I tried...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay -D front:CARD=default,DEV=0 /home/public/data/audio/Windows\ Share-Volume_1\ \[63\]/Matt/Loose/Fats\ Domino_Shake\,\ Rattle\ And\ Roll.mp3
aplay: main:608: audio open error: Device or resource busy

...and...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# aplay -D iec958:CARD=default,DEV=0 /home/public/data/audio/Windows\ Share-Volume_1\ \[63\]/Matt/Loose/Fats\ Domino_Shake\,\ Rattle\ And\ Roll.mp3
aplay: main:608: audio open error: Device or resource busy

...which gives me this error.

I have made sure the volume is up, in both alsamixer and on the device. Although I am getting an error in both the orbiter and on the command line, so I doubt it is a problem like that.

Cheers,
Matt.

UPDATE: This is now working! I followed the wiki and this time it functions as it should. I don't understand what the problem was before. Maybe it was the alsa version.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2013, 01:44:41 am by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps