Author Topic: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes  (Read 2444 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« on: June 02, 2012, 06:42:03 pm »
I have followed these instructions to the letter (core only, adapter is plugged into the core) http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core

The only "extra" thing that I did (in that it's not spelt out to you to do it) was to put the MAC address in under the device in web admin on the A/V Equipment page. I assumed this was necessary.

Everything seemed to work perfectly; the adapter is showing under "lsusb", squeezeslave is definitely running. "squeezeslave -L" showed the adapter (but now that I have restarted, it is no longer there, is that normal?)

Anyway I get this message in the orbiter when I try to play a track...

"I cannot play this media. Perhaps there is not a valid device in this entertainment area capable of playing it."

And this was in /var/log/squeezeslave.log

Code: [Select]
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Retry in 5 seconds.
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415

Any ideas please?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 03:54:29 pm »
I have followed these instructions to the letter (core only, adapter is plugged into the core) http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core

The only "extra" thing that I did (in that it's not spelt out to you to do it) was to put the MAC address in under the device in web admin on the A/V Equipment page. I assumed this was necessary.

Everything seemed to work perfectly; the adapter is showing under "lsusb", squeezeslave is definitely running. "squeezeslave -L" showed the adapter (but now that I have restarted, it is no longer there, is that normal?)

Anyway I get this message in the orbiter when I try to play a track...

"I cannot play this media. Perhaps there is not a valid device in this entertainment area capable of playing it."

And this was in /var/log/squeezeslave.log

Code: [Select]
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Retry in 5 seconds.
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415

Any ideas please?

Cheers,
Matt.

Your usb audio card had probably come up on reboot with a different device id. Check that .

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2012, 09:59:25 pm »
 when you added  the squeezeslave  you put then on room that no have a MD ?

this message  occurs on my instalation when i put squeezeslave on same room that a MD .

Carlos


totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2012, 02:18:04 pm »
when you added  the squeezeslave  you put then on room that no have a MD ?

this message  occurs on my instalation when i put squeezeslave on same room that a MD .

Carlos


Actually I agree with you... re reading the error message i think that's likely

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2012, 11:36:58 am »
Thanks for the replies chaps.

That is exactly what I did - added the squeezeslave to a room with no MD. I have clearly misunderstood how this works. I created a new room specifically for the squeezeslave, in fact.

Am I supposed to create an MD first? If so, how do I do that without MD hardware?

Or am I supposed to be adding it to an existing MD i.e. the core MD in this case? If so, how do I tell LMCE to play audio to the squeezeslave, and not the MD (using the orbiter)?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4361
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2012, 11:50:02 am »
Thanks for the replies chaps.

That is exactly what I did - added the squeezeslave to a room with no MD. I have clearly misunderstood how this works. I created a new room specifically for the squeezeslave, in fact.

Am I supposed to create an MD first? If so, how do I do that without MD hardware?

Or am I supposed to be adding it to an existing MD i.e. the core MD in this case? If so, how do I tell LMCE to play audio to the squeezeslave, and not the MD (using the orbiter)?

Cheers,
Matt.

The Squeezeslave itself and the sound card its associated with can be running/attached to either your Core or an MD. But the Squeezeslave and its associated Squeezebox player must be either in its own 'Room' or in a separate 'Entertainment Area' (you can't have more than one media playback device in a Room or Entertainment area)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #6 on: June 14, 2012, 12:29:40 pm »
Hmmm I don't see what I am doing wrong.

I created a new room called "Guitar Amp". My USB sound card is physically on the core, and the core is in the room "Cupboard". There is no MD in "Guitar Amp".

In web admin, under A/V devices, on the Squeezeslave, I have chosen "Cupboard" for the room, and then in advanced selected "Guitar Amp" under Entertain Areas. The setting does not seem to stick. The Entertain Areas just goes back to the default of "Cupboard" being ticked.

Is this what I am supposed to be doing? Under the Rooms settings, I see there is an option to tick "manually configure EA", but when I tick it, nothing happens! And if I refresh, the tick dissapears.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #7 on: June 14, 2012, 12:40:25 pm »
Matt.

on squeezeslave  you need to chose "Guitar Amp" for the room   and not "cupboard".


purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #8 on: June 14, 2012, 04:07:40 pm »
Carlos,

But the room "Guitar Amp" does not have an MD!

I thought your first post says to not put it in a room without an MD?

The USB sound card is physically installed on the core/hybrid in "Cupboard".

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #9 on: June 14, 2012, 04:16:48 pm »
sorry for my English,

 I must have expressed myself bad.

the squezeslave must be in a room without MD.


purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #10 on: June 14, 2012, 05:05:42 pm »
Haha tranquilo.

Well that is exactly how I had it set up in the first place. I created a new room called "Guitar Amp", and assigned the squeezeslave to that. So back to my very first post :-)

Cheers,
Matt.

1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2012, 05:12:48 pm »
ok
which the output of

squeezeslave -L



purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1375
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2012, 10:11:48 pm »
Thanks for sticking with me!

With everything set up, before running squeezeslave, "squeezeslave -L" is as follows...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# squeezeslave -L
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Output devices:
  0: (ALSA) HDA ATI SB: ALC889 Analog (hw:0,0) (11/46)
  1: (ALSA) HDA ATI SB: ALC889 Digital (hw:0,1) (11/46)
  3: (ALSA) C-Media USB Audio Device   : USB Audio (hw:1,0) (11/46)
  4: (ALSA) front (11/46)
  5: (ALSA) surround40 (11/46)
  6: (ALSA) surround41 (11/46)
  7: (ALSA) surround50 (11/46)
  8: (ALSA) surround51 (11/46)
  9: (ALSA) surround71 (11/46)
 10: (ALSA) iec958 (11/46)
 11: (ALSA) spdif (11/46)
 13: (ALSA) asym_analog (42/46)
 14: (ALSA) dmix (42/42)
*15: (ALSA) default (42/46)
 16: (OSS) /dev/dsp (11/46)
 17: (OSS) /dev/dsp1 (11/46)

Then I run "/usr/bin/squeezeslave -o3 -m00:00:00:00:00:01 -r5 -M/var/log/squeezeslave.log" which gives...

Code: [Select]
dcerouter_1023729:~# /usr/bin/squeezeslave -o3 -m00:00:00:00:00:01 -r5 -M/var/log/squeezeslave.log
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415

And then if I do "squeezeslave -L" again I get...

Code: [Select]
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
bt_audio_service_open: connect() failed: Connection refused (111)
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Expression 'snd_pcm_hw_params_set_buffer_size_near( pcm, hwParams, &lowLatency )' failed in 'src/hostapi/alsa/pa_linux_alsa.c', line: 415
Output devices:
  0: (ALSA) HDA ATI SB: ALC889 Analog (hw:0,0) (11/46)
  1: (ALSA) HDA ATI SB: ALC889 Digital (hw:0,1) (11/46)
  4: (ALSA) front (11/46)
  5: (ALSA) surround40 (11/46)
  6: (ALSA) surround41 (11/46)
  7: (ALSA) surround50 (11/46)
  8: (ALSA) surround51 (11/46)
  9: (ALSA) surround71 (11/46)
 10: (ALSA) iec958 (11/46)
 11: (ALSA) spdif (11/46)
 13: (ALSA) asym_analog (42/46)
 14: (ALSA) dmix (42/42)
*15: (ALSA) default (42/46)
 16: (OSS) /dev/dsp (11/46)

...note the lack of C-Media USB audio device. Is that normal behaviour?

Cheers,
Matt.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2012, 10:56:02 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2012, 07:33:37 am »
It is normal that the output you select will disappear from the -L list. In some cases, it will remove several entries from the list, if the same hardware device is used for several of the listed output devices.

I think the bt_audio_service_open is a bluetooth related error. Are you sure that it actually is relevant in your case?

Setting this up can sometimes be tricky. What I find useful, is to use the squeezeserver web-admin to check if the slave has registered, and try to play something to it from there. This will test the non-LMCE part of the setup. When that works, go on to set up the LMCE part. As others have said, the correct room must be selected for the slave.

br,
sambuca

cfernandes

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
    • my company web site
Re: 10.04 + squeezeslave + Startech ICUSBAUD107 woes
« Reply #14 on: June 16, 2012, 03:17:24 pm »
other question

on aplay -l   you can see and play on usb sound card ?